POLITICAL SCIENCE
For assistance contact: Samantha Hines
Social Sciences Librarian, 243-4558
samantha.hines@umontana.edu
For a printable PDF version of this guide, click here
Online Article Databases and Indexes
These and several others are available via the Mansfield Library’s homepage at http://www.lib.umt.edu. Click on “Find Articles” then “Political Science.” To access these resources away from campus, you must know your Remote Access information.
General indexes (no full text)—these provide powerful, focused searching:
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975-present): Citations, abstracts,
and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and
its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public
administration/policy.
Web of Knowledge (1995-present): Multidisciplinary index of over 8,000 journals covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities; with keyword, author, and cited reference search options.
Indexes including full text—less subject-specific but often include text
of articles:
Academic Index (1980-present): Multi-disciplinary full text database which indexes
nearly 8,050 journals, including more than 4,600 in full text. Over 75% of the
journals are scholarly peer-reviewed titles.
Academic Search Premier (1975-present): Covers academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
JSTOR (dates vary): A digital archive collection of core scholarly journals in the humanities, music, social sciences, business, mathematics and basic science, botany and ecology. Often starts with the first issues (many of which date from the 1800s)
Lexis-Nexis Academic (dates vary): Covers a variety of news resources; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research.
Lexis-Nexis Congressional (dates vary): Provides the tools for searching for current and past bills and laws, committee reports and hearings, and information on Congressional members. Also provides access to the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Congressional committee schedules.
Lexis-Nexis Government Periodicals (1988-present): Search for articles from the approximately 170 U.S. government agency-published periodicals and newsletters.
Project Muse (dates vary): Access literature from the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and other Reference Sources
These are all located in the reference area on the 3rd (main) floor. This is just a sampling of what’s available. Check out call numbers 320-330 in the Reference Area or on Level 2, or talk to a librarian.
Almanac of American Politics. Boston: Gambit, 2002.
Call #: REF 328.73 A445
Bealy, Frank. Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science. Oxford ; Malden, Mass.:
Blackwell Publishers, 1999.
Call #: REF 320.03 B3665b
Delury, George (ed.). World Encyclopedia Of Political Systems and Parties.
New York: Facts On File, c1999.
Call #: REF 324.2 W927 1999
Nolan, Cathal J. Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations. Westport,
CT: Greenwood Pub., 2002.
Call #: REF 327.03 N787 , v. 1-4
Political Handbook of the World. New York: McGraw-Hill Book Co., 2000-2002.
Call #: REF 329 P769
Political Risk Yearbook. East Syracuse, NY: PRS Group, 2001.
Call #: REF 320.9 P769 , v.1-8
Sheldon, Garret Ward (ed.). Encyclopedia of Political Thought. New York: Facts
on File, c2001.
Call #: REF 320.03 E5645
Journals
To find a list of journals available in print and online, go to the Library homepage and click on “Journals.” Go to the pull-down menu under “Browse Journals by Subject” and select “Social and Behavioral Sciences.” Click on the Search button. On the next screen, click on the “Political Science” link and browse through the list of over 300 journals.
Some key journals are:
American Political Science Review
online or at 320.05 A512, level 2
Annual Review of Political Science
online or at 320.05 A6157, level 2
Comparative Politics
online or at 320.505 C737, level 2
International Affairs
online or at 327.05 I61, level 2
Journal of Conflict Resolution
online or at 341.105 J86, level 2
Journal of Political Economy
online or at 330.05 J861, level 2
Journal of Politics
online or at 320.05 J865, level 2
Politics and Society
online or at 300.5 P7692, level 2
Policy Studies Journal
online or at 361.6105 P766, level 2
Political Science Quarterly
online or at 300.5 P7693, level 2
Public Opinion Quarterly
online or at 301.15405 P976, level 2
Review of Politics
online or at 320.05 R454, level 2
Government Documents
In the library, government documents can be found on Level 1. Records for these documents can be found in the library catalog, which is accessible via the Library website. Their call numbers begin with a letter identifying the agency that produced the document, and contain a mix of letters and numbers. Ask at the Information Center if you need help finding something in the Government Documents section of the library.
There is a separate subject guide available for finding government documents information online. In addition, Lexis-Nexis Government Publications and Lexis-Nexis Congressional (listed above under Indexes) can be good resources for finding government publications.
Revised Aug. 2005

