Subject Guide: Physics and Astronomy Information Resources | Mansfield Library | The University of Montana-Missoula

The University of Montana Libraries—Missoula

Mansfield Library Subject Guides

Physics and Astronomy Information Resources

Prepared by: Barry Brown, Science Librarian, (406) 243-6188
Aug 2000

Thank you for reporting invalid addresses or suggesting new additions to this list.


I a) Primary Indexes & Abstracts to the Literature

Academic Index Electronic Resources
1980 - present; General Periodical Index; Some Full Text Articles
Applied Science & Technology Index Electronic Resources
1983 - present; Some Full Text Articles
Astronomy & Astrophysics Abstracts 520 X A859 Lv.5
1969 - present; Astronomy Literature
Ingenta Gateway Electronic Resources;
1989 - present; Indexes over 20,000 journals - all subject disciplines
MathSciNet Electronic Resources
or http://www.ams.org/mathscinet/
Comprehensive Mathematics
Physics Abstracts 530 X S416 - Lv.3-Reference
1967 - present; Comprehensive Index for Physics Literature
Worldcat Electronic Resources
Books, Government Documents & Media & Journal Holdings from U.S. & International Libraries

Index
or
Database
article
citation
======>
Check Journal List
======> Journal in
 stacks or
E-Journal

Return to Top

I b) Other Indexes & Abstracts to the Literature

AJP/TPT Database http://www.phy.nau.edu/~danmac/
AAPTDB/index.html
Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstract Service http://adsabs.harvard.edu/
abstract_service.html
Astrophysics Data System -- NASA
Dissertation, Proquest Digital Electronic Resources
or 378.2 X D613 - Lv.3-Reference
Comprehensive Dissertation index
DOE PrePrint Network http://www.osti.gov/preprint/
E-Print Archive - LANL http://xxx.lanl.gov/
Government Documents Index Electronic Resources
Publications from all Government Agencies
The Lund/LBNL Nuclear Data Search http://nucleardata.nuclear.lu.se/
nucleardata/toi/
NASA Technical Reports http://techreports.larc.nasa.gov/
ltrs/ltrs.html
Newsbank Electronic Resources
500 Newspapers; Full Text
NTIS - National Technical Information Service Electronic Resources
1964 - present; U.S. Government Technical Reports, etc.
Physics and Geophysics Abstract Service http://adsabs.harvard.edu/
physics_service.html
Physics, Preprints, Abstracts, Reports http://www.csc.fi/physics/
Preprints.html
PubScience http://pubsci.osti.gov/
Science Citation Index 500 S4162 - Lv.3-Reference
Allows "cycling forward" in time from a previous paper
SPIRES - HEP - High Energy Physics http://www-spires.slac.stanford/
edu/spires/hep/
Theoretical Physics Preprints - ICTP http://www.ictp.trieste.it/~pub_off/

Return to Top

II) Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

The Astronomy & Astrophysics Encyclopedia 520.3 A859 - Lv.3-Reference
Atomic Line List http://www.pa.uky.edu/~peter/atomic/
Concise Dictionary of Physics 530.03 D554 - Lv.3-Reference
Constellations http://www.seds.org/Maps/
Const/constS.html
Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics http://www.physics.ucla.edu/~cwp/
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics 541.9 H236 - Lv.3-Reference
Databases & On-line Data in Astronomy 025.0652 D232 - Lv.3-Reference
Dictionary of Astronomy 520.3 I36d - Lv.3-Reference
Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Physics 530.3 E56 - Lv.3-Reference
Encyclopedia of the Solar System 523.203 E5632 - Lv.3-Reference
Extrasolar Planets Encyclopaedia http://www.obspm.fr/encycl/
encycl.html
Famous Physicists http://dir.yahoo.com/Science/
Physics/Physicists/
Gazetteer of Planetary Nomenclature http://wwwflag.wr.usgs.gov/USGS
Flag/Space/nomen/nomen.html
Handbook of Nanostructured Materials and Nanotechnology 620.5 N173h - Lv.3-Reference
History of Astronomy: an Encyclopedia 520.3 H673 - Lv.3-Reference
History of Space Exploration http://www.solarviews.com/
eng/history.htm
Index to Physical, Chemical...Data http://www.asu.edu/lib/noble/
chem/property.htm
Information Sources in Physics 530 X I43 - Lv.3-Reference
Materials Information Resource http://www.matweb.com/
McGraw Hill Mutimedia Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Electronic Resources
Messier Deep-Sky Catalog http://www.seds.org/messier/
Millenium Star Atlas 523.80222 S61796m - Lv.3-Reference
NASA Atlas of the Solar System 523.20223 G794 - Lv.3-Reference
NGC 2000.0:...Catalogue and Index...of Nebulae and Star Clusters 523.80212 D778n - Lv.3-Reference
NGC Catalog Online, Interactive http://www.seds.org/~spider/
ngc/ngc.html
Nobel Laureates in Physics http://www.slac.stanford.edu/
library/nobel.html
Physical Reference Data http://physics.nist.gov/
PhysRefData/contents.html
Physics Departments http://marvin.physik.uni-oldenburg.
de/EPS/PhysNet/
Physics Organizations http://www.hep.net/
The Physics Quick Reference Guide 530 C678p - Lv.3-Reference
Planetary Image Atlas http://www-pdsimage.jpl.nasa.gov/
PDS/public/Atlas/Atlas.html
Q is for quantum: an Encyclopedia of Particle Physics 539.7203 G846q - Lv.3-Reference
Starworlds: Directory of Astronomy Associations, etc. http://cdsweb.u-strasbg.fr/
~heck/sfworlds.htm
Sun/Moon/Eclipse Data http://aa.usno.navy.mil/AA/data/
Timeline: a Century of Physics http://timeline.aps.org/APS/
index.html
USA in Space 387.80973 U11 - Lv.3-Reference
The Virtual Physics Center http://www-sci.lib.uci.edu/
~martindale/GradPhysics.html

Return to Top

III a) Astronomy - Comprehensive Internet Directories

The Astronomer Online http://www.demon.co.uk/astronomer/
Astronomical Data Center (NASA) http://adc.gsfc.nasa.gov/
Astronomy (SLA - PAM) http://pantheon.yale.edu/~dstern/
astro.html
Astronomy Education Resources (UH) http://www.ifa.hawaii.edu/tops/
resources.html
AstroWeb: Astronomy & Astrophysics http://webhead.com/WWWVL/
Astronomy/
Comets and Meteor Showers http://comets.amsmeteors.org/
Expanding Universe:...search tool http://www.tpl.toronto.on.ca/TRL/
astronomy/index.html
The Nine Planets: a multimedia tour... http://seds.lpl.arizona.edu/billa/tnp/
Planetary Science Web Sites http://cass.jsc.nasa.gov/library/
website.html
SkyView: the Internet's Virtual Telescope http://skyview.gsfc.nasa.gov/
Space Image Libraries http://www.okstate.edu/aesp/
image.html
Space Images Archive http://www.seds.org/images/
Space Science Education Resources (LPI) http://cass.jsc.nasa.gov/education/
education.html
Special Sky Events (Current News) http://www.skypub.com/sights/
skyevents/skyevents.html
Students for the Exploration and Development of Space http://seds.lpl.arizona.edu/
Universe Today http://www.universetoday.com/

Return to Top

III b) Physics - Comprehensive Internet Directories

CFD Online - Computational Fluid Dynamics http://www.cfd-online.com/
Entropy on the WWW http://www.math.washington.edu/
~hillman/entropy.html
General Relativity Around the World http://jean-luc.ncsa.uiuc.edu/
World/world.html
High Energy Physics Information Center http://www.hep.net/
The Official String Theory Web Site http://www.superstringtheory.com/
index.html
Optics.org (Laser, Optics, Photonics) http://optics.org/
Particle Physics Information (SLAC) http://www.slac.stanford.edu/
library/pdg/
Physics (Virtual Library) http://vlib.org/Physics.html
Physics (Yahoo!) http://dir.yahoo.com/Science/
Physics/
Physics Education http://bubl.ac.uk/link/p/
physicseducation.htm
Physics 2000 http://www.colorado.edu/physics/
2000/index.pl
PhysicsWeb: Physics Around the World http://physicsweb.org/resources/
PhysLink http://www.physlink.com/
PhysNet http://www.physik.uni-oldenburg.de/
EPS/PhysNet/
TIPTOP (the Internet Pilot to Physics) http://physicsweb.org/

Return to Top