Subject Guide: Geology and Earth Sciences Information Resources | Mansfield Library | The University of Montana-Missoula

The University of Montana Libraries—Missoula

Mansfield Library Subject Guides

Geology & Earth Sciences Information Resources

Prepared by: Barry Brown, Science Librarian (406) 243-6811
Aug.2002

Thank you for reporting invalid addresses or suggesting new additions to this list.



Associations & Organizations
Climatology & Meteorology Information

Directories, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks

Earthquake & Volcano Information

Government Documents & Other Publication Series

Hydrology & Freshwater Information
Internet Geology Information Resources
Maps & GIS/Imaging Information
Other Indexes & Abstracts to the Literature
Paleontology Information
Teaching/Educational Resources

Primary Indexes & Abstracts to the Literature



PRIMARY INDEXES & ABSTRACTS to the LITERATURE

Academic Index Electronic Resources ,1980-present General Periodical Index; Some Full Text Articles
Applied Science & Technology Index Electronic Resources ,1983-present Physical Sciences
GeoRef
  • GeoRef Online
Electronic Resources; 1785-present Comprehensive Geoscience Literature
  • Bibliography & Index of Geology
550 X G345b - Lv.5, 1933-1995

note : 1933-1968 - no North America coverage; for pre-1969 No. American
items, search "Bibliography of North
American Geology"

Indexes : Monthly, Yearly Cumulative; Author, Subject (subject index - e.g., Minerals - Phosphates - Apatite)
  • Bibliography of North American Geology
I 19.3/2 - Lv.1-Gov. Docs.,
1919-1970
Indexes : Yearly or Decenial; Subject - e.g., Mineral data - apatite
  • Geological Literature of North America
I 19.3/2 - Lv.1-Gov. Docs.
1785-1918

Indexes : Cumulative Set (2 volumes); Subject

Mineralogical Abstracts 549 X M664 - Lv.5
1923-present
Comprehensive Mineralogical Literature
Indexes : Author; Subject
Quarterly Index: Mineral Data /
Geochemistry Minerals;
Yearly Index: Apatite

Return to Top


OTHER INDEXES & ABSTRACTS to the LITERATURE

Canadian Geomorphology - Search Engine http://cgrg.geog.uvic.ca/cgi-bin/search.cgi
Chemical Abstracts Paper : see Chemical Abstracts
540.5 C5171 - Lv.5
1907-Jan 2001 ;

Electronic : see SciFinder Scholar
on the Library's Public Computers

Frequency : weekly, 6 month and
5 year cumulative indexes 
Indexes: author, general subject, chemical 
substance, formula, ring systems, patent 
Comprehensive Chemistry Literature

CSA Environmental Science & Pollution
Management
Electronic Resources ; 1981-present;
Pollution Literature
Dissertations, Proquest Digital Electronic Resources and
Paper : 378.2 X D613 - Lv.2,
1952-1994
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts http://nisee.berkeley.edu/
Geologic Field Trip Guidebooks of
North America
http://www.agiweb.org/pubs/unionlist
Government Documents Index Electronic Resources , 1976-present
U.S. Govt. Agencies & Research Literature
Ingenta Gateway Electronic Resources , 1989-present
Indexes over 20,000 journals - all subject
disciplines
MathSciNet Electronic Resources , 1940-present
Comprehensive Mathematical Literature
NTIS - National Technical Information Service Electronic Resources , 1964-present
U.S. Govt. Technical Reports, etc.
Newsbank Electronic Resources , 1991-present
Full Text Newspaper Articles
Quakeline Database http://mceer.buffalo.edu/utilities/quakeline.asp
Science Citation Index 500 X S4162 - Lv.5-Oversize,
1978-1997
Allows "cycling forward" to papers citing a
previous work
U.S. Bureau of Mines -
List of Publications & Articles
I 28.5 - Lv.1-Gov. Docs.,
1910-1994
U.S.G.S. - Publications http://usgs-georef.cos.com/
and I 19.14: - Lv.1-Gov.Docs.,
1879-present
Water Resources Abstracts Electronic Resources look in link
CSA Environmental Sciences & Pollution
Management

1967-present
Water Resources Routenet Electronic Resources
Selected internet resources - complements
Water Resource Abstracts
WorldCat Electronic Resources
All time periods
Books, Media, and Journal holdings from
US & Worldwide Libraries
Zoological Record Electronic Resources
1978-present,
Paleontology Literature

  Index
or
Database
article
citation
======>
Check Journal List
======> Journal in
 stacks or
E-Journal

Return to Top

DIRECTORIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, & HANDBOOKS

Alphabetical Mineral Reference http://www.geology.wisc.edu/~jill
/glossary2.html
Bibliography of Theses in Geology 550 C557b - Lv.3-Reference
Canadian Geographic Nameserver http://geonames.nrcan.gc.ca/english/Home.html
Careers in the Geosciences http://www.agiweb.org/agi/careers.html
The CRB Commodity Yearbook 338.0973 C7341 - Lv.3-Reference
Dana's New Mineralogy 549 D168s - Lv.5
Dictionary of Geological Terms 550.3 A512g 1984 - Lv.3-Reference
This Dynamic Earth - Story of Plate Tectonics http://pubs.usgs.gov/publications/text/dynamic.html
Earth Online: an Internet Guide for Earth Science 025.0655 R615e - Lv.4
The Earth Sciences: an annotated bibliography 550 X P847e - Lv.5
The Encyclopedia of Igneous & Metamorphic
Petrology
550.3 E56 v.5 - Lv.3-Reference
The Encyclopedia of Mineralogy 550.3 E56 v.4 pt.2 - Lv.3-Reference
Encyclopedia of Earth System Science 550.3 E566 - Lv.3-Reference
Encyclopedia of European & Asian Regional Geology 554 E5636 - Lv.3-Reference
Encyclopedia of Minerals 549.03 R648e - Lv.3-Reference
Gems & Precious Stones http://www.geology.wisc.edu/~jill/306.html
Geo Job Source http://www.geojobsource.com/homepage.htm
Geological Time Machine - Geologic Time Scales http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/help/timeform.html
Geologists & the History of Geology

550.9 X S245g v.1-5 - Lv.3-Reference
Glossary of Geology 550.3 G244g - Lv.3-Reference
Guide to USGS Geologic & Hydrologic Maps 557.3 X G946 - Lv.1-Maps Index Table
Handbook of Chemistry & Physics 541.9 H236 - Lv.3-Reference
Handbook of Physical Properties of Rocks 552.06 H236 v.1-3 - Lv.3-Reference
Illustrated Glossary of Geologic Terms http://www.ge-at.iastate.edu/courses/Geol_100/glossary.html
Information Sources in the Earth Sciences 550.7 X W874u 1989 - Lv.3-Reference
A Manual of New Mineral Names, 1892-1978 549.03 M294 - Lv.3-Reference
McGraw Hill Multimedia Encyclopedia of Science
& Technology
Electronic Resources
Mineralogy Database http://web.wt.net/~daba/Mineral/
Minerals Yearbook I 28.3 - Lv.1-Gov. Docs.
Randol Mining Directory 338.2 R1921 - Lv.2
Tide Predictor http://facs.scripps.edu/cgi-bin/tidegen.pl
U.S. Geographic Nameserver - Gazetteer http://geonames.usgs.gov/pls/gnis/web_query.gnis_web_query_form

> Return to Top


GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS & OTHER PUBLICATION SERIES

Geological Society of America - Publication Series
  • Abstracts
550.6 G345a - Lv.5
  • Bulletin

550.6 G345b - Lv.5

  • Memoir
550.6 G345mo - Lv.5
  • Special Papers
550.6 G345s - Lv.5
Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology - Publication Series

  • Annual Report

557.86 M8r - Lv.1-S Collection

  • Bulletin

557.86 M8b - Lv.1-S Collection

  • Memoir

557.86 M8m - Lv.1-S Collection

  • Publication Catalog

557.86 X M8p - Lv.1-S Collection

  • Special Publication
557.86 M8s - Lv.1-S Collection
U.S. Government Documents
( note : The Government Printing Office uses a different classification system, called the "Superintendent of Documents" or SuDocs system. Call numbers begin with a letter which corresponds to an agency, e.g. "I" for the Department of Interior, etc.)
Government Documents , 1976-present-
  • Monthly Catalog of Government Publications
Electronic Resources and
GP 3.8: - Lv.1-Gov. Docs.
1893-present
  • Cumulative Subject Index to
    the Monthly Catalog
015.73 X C9711 - Lv.3-Reference Table 3
1900-1971
  • Cumulative Title Index to
    U.S. Public Documents
015.73 X L642c - Lv.3-Reference Table 3
1789-1976
  • USGS Publications
Electronic Resources databaseGeoRef
U.S. Geological Survey - Publication Series
( note : check for paper and for microfiche copies )
  • Bulletin
I 19.3: plus the Report Number - Lv.1-Gov.Docs.
  • Circular
I 19.4/2: plus the Report Number - Lv.1-Gov.Docs.
  • Open-File Reports
I 19.76: plus the Report Number
  • Professional Papers
I 19.16: plus the Report Number; Lv.1-Gov.Docs.
  • Water-Resources Investigations Reports
I 19.42/4: plus the Report Number ;
Lv.1-Gov.Docs.
  • Water-Supply Papers
I 19.13: plus the Report Number; Lv.1-Gov.Docs.

Return to Top

ASSOCIATIONS & OTHER ORGANIZATIONS

American Geological Institute http://www.agiweb.org/
American Geophysical Union http://www.agu.org
Geological Society of America http://www.geosociety.org/
Guide to Geoscience Depts. - U.S. & Canada http://www.geosociety.org/
Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology http://mbmgsun.mtech.edu/
Montana Dept. of Natural Resources http://www.dnrc.state.mt.us/
United States Geological Survey http://www.usgs.gov/

Return to Top

CLIMATOLOGY & METEOROLOGY INFORMATION

Climate Data Online http://lwf.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/climatedata.html
Climatological Data. Montana Section. A 29.29/22: , 1905-1940 ;
C 30.18/22: , 1939-1968 ;
C 55.214/23: , 1969-present ;
all on Lv.1-Gov. Docs.
Global Change Master Directory http://gcmd.gsfc.nasa.gov/
Local Climatological Data - Missoula, Montana C 30.56/22x: , 1942-1970 ;
C 55.217: , 1976-1978 ;
C 55.287/28-8: , 1979-1983 ;
C 55.286/6-27: , 1984-present
all on Lv.1-Gov. Docs.
Meteorology - Virtual Library http://dao.gsfc.nasa.gov/DAO_people/towens/VLM//
Monthly Climatic Data for the World C 55.211: ; Lv.1-Gov. Docs.
Montana Climate Summaries http://www.wrcc.sage.dri.edu/summary/climsmmt.html

Montana Hourly Precipitation Data

C 30.59/211: , 1951-1966 ;
C 55.216/21: , 1967-present
all on Lv.1-Gov. Docs.

Montana Water & Climate Data http://nris.state.mt.us/wis/data.html
National Geophysical Data Center http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/
National Snow & Ice Data Center http://nsidc.org/index.html
Online Meteorology Guide http://ww2010.atmos.uiuc.edu/(GH)/guides/mtr/home.rxml
Planet Diary http://www.phschool.com/science/planetdiary/
Weather Conditions, 1994-present http://www.wunderground.com/

WorldClimate

http://www.worldclimate.com/

Return to Top

EARTHQUAKE & VOLCANO INFORMATION

Montana Earthquake Stats

http://mbmgsun.mtech.edu/eqstats.htm
Pacific Northwest Earthquake Information http://www.geophys.washington.edu/SEIS/PNSN/localeq.html
Seismicity of the Rockies (Univ. of Utah) http://www.seis.utah.edu
Surfing the Internet for Earthquake Data http://www.geophys.washington.edu/seismosurfing.html
USGS Earthquake Information http://quake.wr.usgs.gov/
Volcanoes Online http://library.thinkquest.org/17457/english.html
VolcanoWorld http://volcano.und.edu/

Return to Top

HYDROLOGY & FRESHWATER INFORMATION

Daily Streamflow Conditions - U.S. http://water.usgs.gov/waterwatch/
Groundwater Atlas of the U.S. http://capp.water.usgs.gov/gwa/
HydrologyWeb http://etd.pnl.gov:2080/hydroweb.html
Montana Water Center ( MUS ) http://water.montana.edu/
Montana Water Information Systems ( NRIS ) http://nris.state.mt.us/wis/wis1.html
Properties of Water http://www.ec.gc.ca/water/en/nature/prop/e_prop.htm
Universities Water Information Network http://www.uwin.siu.edu/
The Water Encyclopedia 553.7 T633w 1990 - Lv.3-Reference
Water Resources Data for Montana I 19.53/2: ; 1961-present ;
Lv.1-Gov. Docs.
Water Resources for Montana (Streamflow, etc.) http://montana.usgs.gov/

Water Resources of the U.S.

http://water.usgs.gov/

Return to Top

MAPS & GIS/IMAGING INFORMATION

Geological Maps on the Web http://geomaps.geo.ukans.edu/
GISLinx http://www.gislinx.com
Maps & GIS Resources (Infomine) http://infomine.ucr.edu/search/mapssearch.phtml
Montana Topographical Maps http://nris.state.mt.us/nsdi/drg.html
Remote Sensing - Virtual Library http://www.vtt.fi/aut/rs/virtual/
TerraServer.com (Aerial Imagery) http://www.terraserver.com/
Topographical Map Symbols http://mac.usgs.gov/mac/isb/pubs/booklets/symbols/
UCB Earth Sciences & Map Library http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/EART/index.html
USGS Central Region - Digital Information http://greenwood.cr.usgs.gov/
USGS Maps http://pubs.usgs.gov/products/maps/
USGS National Mapping Information http://geonames.usgs.gov/pls/gnis/web_query.gnis_web_query_form

Return to Top

PALEONTOLOGY INFORMATION

Bibliography of Fossil Vertebrates http://www.bfvol.org/
Dinosaurs & Fossils - Encyclopedia http://www.encyberpedia.com/dinos.htm
Dinosaurs in Cyberspace http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/diapsids/dinolinks.html
International Association of Paleobotany http://iop.biodiversity.org.uk/
Internet Sites with Fossils, Minerals, & Geol. http://www.fossilfinds.com/links.asp
Links for Paleobotanists http://www.uni-wuerzburg.de/mineralogie/palbot1.html
Paleonet http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/Paleonet/home.html
Paleontology (Yahoo) http://www.yahoo.com/Science/Earth_Sciences/Paleontology/
Paleontology (Zoological Record) http://www.biosis.org/zrdocs/zoolinfo/palaeont.htm

Return to Top

INTERNET GEOLOGY INFORMATION RESOURCES -- General/Comprehensive Sites

BIOME http://biome.ac.uk/
Earth/Geoscience Information on the WWW http://www.isgs.uiuc.edu/earthsci/es_links.htm
Earth Science - Virtual Library http://www.geo.ucalgary.ca/VL-EarthSciences.html
GeoGuide http://www.geo-guide.de/
GeoIndex (Search Engine) http://www.geoindex.com/geoindex/search.htm
Geology & Geophysics (Yahoo) http://dir.yahoo.com/Science/Earth-Sciences/Geology_and_Geophysics/
Geophysics - Virtual Library http://www-crewes.geo.ucalgary.ca/VL/html/gp-resources.html
Geophysics on the Internet http://www.uh.edu/~jbutler/geophysics/seg.html
GeoTechnical Engineering - Virtual Library http://geotech.civen.okstate.edu/wwwvl/
GeoWeb Index http://dns.uncor.edu/usr/mherrero/geocab/geoweb.htm
Links for Mineralogists http://www.uni-wuerzburg.de/mineralogie/links.html
Marine Geology & Geophysics

http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/mgg/othermarine/othermarine.html

Mineralogy (Athena)

http://un2sg4.unige.ch/athena/mineral/mineral.html

Mineralogy & Petrology Research http://homepages.udayton.edu/~koziol/resminpet.html
Natural Resources Canada

http://www.nrcan.gc.ca/inter/index.html

Oceanography on the NET http://scilib.ucsd.edu/sio/
Petroleum & Geosystems - Virtual Library http://www.pe.utexas.edu/Dept/Reading/w3evl.html
Soil Science http://www.nscss.org/soil.html
Structural Geology & Metamorphic Petrology http://craton.geol.BrockU.CA/guest/jurgen/struct.htm
Websurfer's Biweekly Earth Science Review http://www.mindspring.com/~michaelg2/

Return to Top

TEACHING / EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES

Ask an Earth Scientist http://www.soest.hawaii.edu/GG/ASK/askanerd.html
Earth ... Science for High School Students http://www.ismennt.is/vefir/earth/
Education K-12 http://www.isgs.uiuc.edu/earthsci/edulinks.htm
Geologylink http://college.hmco.com/geology/resources/geologylink/index.html
The Virtual Geosciences Professor http://www.uh.edu/~jbutler/anon/anonfield.html
World Lecture Hall (Geology) http://wnt.cc.utexas.edu/~ccdv543/wlh/#comments

Return to Top