Subject Guide: Computer Science Information Resources | Mansfield Library | The University of Montana-Missoula

The University of Montana Libraries—Missoula

Mansfield Library Subject Guides

Computer Science Information Resources

Prepared by: Steve McCann, Digital Projects Librarian (406) 243-4564
January 2003

Thank you for reporting invalid addresses or suggesting new additions to this list.



Associations, Dictionaries, Directories,
Encyclopedias, & Handbooks
Comprehensive Internet Directories
Primary Indexes and Abstracts to the Literature
Related Indexes

PRIMARY INDEXES & ABSTRACTS TO THE LITERATURE

Academic Index  Electronic Resources
1980 - present
Magazines and Journals 
Some Full Text Articles 
ACM Digital Library Electronic Resources
1985 - present
Computer Science Literature
Contains Citations & Full Text Articles in ACM (Assn. for Computing Machinery) journals, magazines, and proceedings
Applied Science & Technology Index Electronic Resources
1983 - present
Some Full Text Articles
Computer Science Web http://www.compsciweb.com/compsciweb/show/Index.htt
Elsevier Journal Index
MathSciNet Electronic Resources
1940 - present
Comprehensive Math Literature
UM Ingenta Gateway Ingenta Gateway
1989-present
Indexes over 20,000 journals
- all subject disciplines
WorldCat  Electronic Resources
Books, Government Documents, Media, and Journal holdings from US and Intl. Libraries 

 

  Index
or
Database
article
citation
======>
Check Journal List
======> Journal in
 stacks or
E-Journal

Return to Top

RELATED INDEXES

Computer Graphics Bibliography Database http://www.siggraph.org/publications/bibliography/
Computer Science Bibliographic Database http://liinwww.ira.uka.de/bibliography/index.html
Computer Science Technical Reports Collection http://www.nzdl.org/
Full Text Digital Library
CoRR - The Computing Research Repository http://xxx.lanl.gov/archive/cs/intro.html
Dissertations, Proquest Digital Electronic Resources
also 378.2 C738
Comprehensive Dissertation index
Government Documents Index Electronic Resources
Publications from all Government Agencies
Human Computer Interaction ( HCI ) Bibliography http://www.hcibib.org/
NCSTRL, Networked Computer Science Technological
Reference Library
http://www.ncstrl.org/
NTIS - National Technical Information Service Electronic Resources
1964 - present
U.S. Government Technical Reports, etc.
ResearchIndex http://citeseer.nj.nec.com/cs/
indexes computer science articles
ReviewBooth http://www.reviewbooth.com/
Hardware and Software Reviews
Technical Reports Center http://www.lib.umd.edu/ENGIN/
TechReports/Virtual-TechReports.html

Return to Top

DICTIONARIES, DIRECTORIES, ENCYCLOPEDIA, & HANDBOOKS

AccessScience - the online McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Electronic Resources
ACM - Computing Classification System http://www.acm.org/class/1998/
BABEL: Complete Abbreviations & Acronyms http://www.geocities.com/ikind_babel/
babel/babel.html
BotSpot http://www.eevl.ac.uk/computing/index.htm
Computer Almanac http://www-cgi.cs.cmu.edu/afs/cs.cmu.edu
/user/bam/www/numbers.html
Computer Science - Scholarly Societies http://www.lib.uwaterloo.ca/society/
compsci_soc.html
Computers & Communications http://www-sci.lib.uci.edu/~martindale/Ref2.html
Dictionary of Algorithms, Data Structures & Problems http://www.nist.gov/dads/
Dictionary of Computer & Internet Terms 004.03 D7513d Lv.3-Reference
Dictionary of Multimedia & Internet Applications 004.678 B7516d Lv.3-Reference
Encyclopedia of Computer Science 0004.03 E5636 Lv.3-Reference
Encyclopedia of Cryptology 652.803 N562e Lv.2
Facts on File Dictionary of Computer Science 004 F1428 Lv.3-Reference
Free On-line Dictionary of Computing http://nightflight.com/foldoc/
Geektools http://whois.geektools.com/
Handbook of Applied Cryptology http://www.cacr.math.uwaterloo.ca/hac/
Handbook of Computing http://ei.cs.vt.edu/~history/
International Biographical Dictionary of
Computer Pioneers
004.0922 I61 Lv.3-Reference
PC Webopedia http://www.pcwebopaedia.com/
Tech Encyclopedia http://www.techweb.com/encyclopedia/
Whatis - includes "Every File Format in the World" http://www.whatis.com/

Return to Top

COMPREHENSIVE INTERNET DIRECTORIES

Amorphous Computing (MIT) http://www.swiss.ai.mit.edu/projects/
amorphous/index.html
Artificial Intelligence - Virtual Library http://www.afm.sbu.ac.uk/ai/
Complex Systems - Virtual Library http://life.csu.edu.au/complex/library/
Computer Science - Research Guide http://library.albany.edu/subject/csci.htm
Computer Science Journals http://www.informatik.uni-trier.de/~ley/db/journals
Computing - Virtual Library http://vlib.org/Computing.html
Computing & Electrical Engineering 6 http://www.hw.ac.uk/library/subjmain.html
EEVL Internet Guide http://eevl.ac.uk/computing/index.htm
Electrical Engineering - Virtual Library http://webdiee.cem.itesm.mx/wwwvlee/
Ethics in Computing http://Legacy.eos.ncsu.edu/eos/info/computer_ethics
The Genetics Algorithms Archive http://www.aic.nrl.navy.mil/galist/
Mathematics - Virtual Library http://euclid.math.fsu.edu/science/math.html
Neural Networks http://www.emsl.pnl.gov:2080/proj/neuron/
neural/neural.homepage.html
Open Source Development Network http://www.osdn.com/
Programmer's Heaven http://www.programmersheaven.com/
Resources in Computer Science (CMU) http://zeeb.library.cmu.edu/bySubject/CS+ECE/
Virtual Museum of Computing http://vmoc.museophile.com/
Web Developer's Virtual Library http://www.wdvl.com/

Return to Top