Subject Guide: Classical Music Information Resources | Mansfield Library | The University of Montana-Missoula

The University of Montana Libraries—Missoula

Mansfield Library Subject Guides

CLASSICAL MUSIC INFORMATION RESOURCES

This guide identifies major reference sources for western classical music.
It is a selective list intended to provide a starting point for researching classical music topics.

Analysis | Band Music | Bibliographies | Biographical Information | Chamber Music | Chronicles | Dictionaries | Directories | Discographies | Encyclopedias | Guides | Indexes and Abstracts | Instrumental Music | Internet Resources | Music Festivals and Competitions | Music History | Musical Instruments | Opera | Thematic Catalogs | Vocal Music | Women in Music | Writing Guides

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of Music in Canada. 2nd ed. 1992
REF 780.97103 E56 1992

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG). In German.  2nd ed. (1994-)
REF 780.3 M987 1994; Two sections: Subject encyclopedia 8 v. and Biographical encyclopedia 12 v.

New Grove Dictionary of American Music. 4 v. 1986.
REF 781.7730321 N532

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 29 v. 2001.
REF 780.3 G883d 2001

ANALYSES

Analyses of Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Music: 1940-1985 / Arthur Wenk, comp.
REF 780.9034 X W475a

Analytical Concert Guide / Louis Biancolli, ed. 1951.
Analytical material from program notes of major symphony orchestras.
REF 785.11 B578a

Cambridge Music Handbooks.
Search library catalog for publications in this series.

Chamber Music: a Research and Information Guide / John H. Baron.
Includes an index to "Analyses of Specific Works" p. 158-406.
REF 785 X B265c

Great Composers and Their Works / Nicolas Slonimsky.  2 v.
REF 780.9 S634g

How to Listen To & Understand Great Music.  AT 04909
A series of 24 audio cassettes with lectures by Professor Robert Greenberg of The San Francisco Conservatory of Music.

Analyses: an Annotated Guide to the Literature / Harold J. Diamond. 1991.
REF 781 X D53

Musically Speaking. The Great Works Collection. CD1552-1561 and CD1988-1993.
A series of CDs of major works with spoken commentary and analysis by conductor Gerard Schwarz in addition to complete performances. For more specific information search the library catalog for this series.

Musician's Guide to Symphonic Music: Essays from the Eulenburg Scores.  1997.
M & M REF 784.2184 M987

Symphonies of Beethoven.  AT 05066
A series of 16 audio cassettes with lectures by Professor Robert Greenberg of The San Francisco Conservatory of Music.

Symphony and the Symphonic Poem: Analytical and Descriptive Charts of the Standard Symphonic Repertory / Earl V. Moore.
REF 784.2184 M821s 1974
 

BAND MUSIC

Band Music Guide: Alphabetical Listing of Titles and Composers of All Band Music. 10th ed. 1996.
REF 784.8 X B214 1996

Band Music Notes: Composer Information and Band Program Notes for Over 600 Band Favorites / Albert Stoutamire. Rev. ed. 1979.
REF 785.12015 S655b 1979

Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music: Composers and Their Music / William H. Rehrig.  3 v. 1991-1996.
REF 784.8 R345h

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Bibliography of Jewish Music / Alfred Sendrey. 1951.
REF 781.72924 X S474b 1969

Collected Editions, Historical Series & Sets & Monuments of Music: A Bibliography / George R. Hill, Norris L. Stephens. 1997.
REF 780 X H646

Music in Print Series.
REF 780.164 X M987

Historical Sets, Collected Editions and Monuments of Music : a Guide to their Contents / Anna Harriet Heyer. 1980.
REF 780 X H615h 1980

Information on Music : a Handbook of Reference Sources in European Languages / Guy Marco.  2 v. 1975-1984.
REF 780 X M321i

Music and Dance of the World's Religions: a Comprehensive Annotated Bibliography of Materials in the English Language / E. Gardner Rust.  1996.
REF 781.7 X R971m

Music Reference and Research Materials / Vincent Duckles. 5th ed.
REF 780 X D835m 1997.

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians.Centennial ed. /  Nicholas Slominsky, Laura Kuhn.  6 v.  2001.
REF 780.3 B168b 2001

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Classical Musicians / Nicolas Slonimsky. 1997.
REF 780.922 S634b

Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African Musicians / Eileen Southern. 1982.
REF 781.773 X S727b

Concise Biographical Dictionary of Singers from the Beginning of Recorded Sound to the Present. 1969.
REF 784.09 K97u.Eu

Contemporary Composers. 1992.
REF 781.309 C761

Dictionary of Musicians from the Earliest Times. 2 v. John Sainsbury, ed. 1966.
REF 780.3 S132d

Dictionary of Pianists / Lyle Wilson. 1985.
REF 786.109 L985d

Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music / Don Michael Randel, ed. 1996.
REF 780.922 H339

Index to Biographies of Contemporary Composers / Storm Bull. 3 v. 1964-1987.
REF 780 X B935i

Instrumental Virtuosi: A Bibliography of Biographical Materials / comp. by Robert H. Cowdon. 1989.
REF 780.922 X C874i

International Cyclopedia of Music and Musicians. 10th ed. Oscar Thompson, ed. 1975.
REF 780.3 T474i 1975

International Dictionary of Opera. 2 v. 1993.
REF 782.103 I61

International Who's Who in Music and Musicians' Directory.
REF 780.9 I612

Musicians Since 1900: Performers in Concert and Opera / David Ewen. 1976.
REF 780.9 E94m

New Grove Dictionary of American Music. 4 v.
REF 781.770321 N532

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 29 v.
REF 780.3 G883d 2001

New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments and Instrument Makers.
REF 781.9103 N532

Notable Twentieth-Century Pianists: a Bio-Critical Sourcebook / J. Gillespie. 2 v. 1995.
REF 786.2 G478n

Twentieth-Century Brass Soloists / Michael Meckna. 1994.
REF 788.9092 M487t

Twentieth-Century Composer Speaks: an Index of Interviews / M. Nishimura.
REF 780.92 N724t

21st-Century Violinists / Mary Van Clay, ed.
REF 787.20922 T9719

Violin Virtuosos From Paganini to the 21st Century / Henry Roth.
REF 787.20922 R845v

Who's Who in American Music.
REF 780.973 W628

World Biographical Index of Music: Composers, Conductors, Instrumentalists and Singers. 2 v.  1995.
REF 780.922 X I61

CHAMBER MUSIC

American Piano Trios: a Resource Guide / Arno Drucker.  1999.
REF 785.28193 D7941a

American Vocal Chamber Music, 1945-1980: an Annotated Bibliography / comp. by Patricia Leist. 1985.
REF 784.3 X L972a

Chamber Music: a Research and Information Guide / John H. Baron. 1987.
Includes an index to "Analysis of Specific Works" p. 158-406.
REF 785 X B265c

Chamber Music: an International Guide to Works and Their Instrumentation / Victor Rangel-Ribeiro and Robert Markel. 1993.
REF 785 X R196c

Chamber Music for Solo Voice and Instruments, 1960-1989: an Annotated Guide / Kenneth S. Klaus. 1994.
REF 783.2 X K63c

Chamber Music: Notes for Players / James Christensen. 1992.
REF 785 C554c

Cobbett's Cyclopedic Survey of Chamber Music. 2nd ed. 3 v. 1963.
REF 785.7003 C654c

Guide to Chamber Music: a Listener's Guide / Melvin Berger. 1985.
REF 785.009 B496g

Literature of Chamber Music / Arthur Cohn.  4 v. 1997.
REF 785 X C678L

CHRONICLES

Chronicle of American Music, 1700-1995 / Charles J. Hall.
REF 780.974 H174c

Chronicle of Opera / Michael Raeburn.
REF 782.109 R134c

Eighteenth-Century Musical Chronicle: Events 1750-1799 / Charles J. Hall.
REF 780.9033 H174e

Music Since 1900 / Nicolas Slonimsky. 5th ed.
REF 780.9 S634m 1994

Twentieth-Century Musical Chronicle: Events 1900-1988 / Charles J. Hall
REF 780.904 H174t

DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of Music Titles: the Origins of the Names and Titles of 3,500 Musical Compositions / Adeian Room.
REF 780.3 R7775d

Harvard Concise Dictionary of Music and Musicians.  1999.
REF 780.3 H3391

Music Translation Dictionary: English-Czech-Danish-Dutch-French-German-Hungarian-Italian- Polish-Portugese-Russian-Spanish-Swedish Vocabulary of Musical Terms / comp. by Carolyn Doub Grigg.
REF 780.3 G857m

Musician's Handbook of Foreign Terms: Containing the English Equivalents of Approximately 2700 Foreign Expression Marks and Directions Taken from French, German, Italian, Latin, Portugese and Spanish Scores.
REF 781.23 A518m

New Harvard Dictionary of Music. Rev. ed.
REF 780.3 A641h 1986

Random House Encyclopedic Dictionary of Classical Music / ed. by David Cumminngs.
REF 781.6803 R194

DIRECTORIES

Billboard International Buyer's Guide.
The worldwide reference source for record labels, home video companies, audio book publishers, music publishers, wholesalers, accessory manufacturers, raw materials, CD replicators, tape duplicators ... international sections."
REF 780.25 B596 2001

Directory of Music Faculties in Colleges and Universities.
REF 780 D598

International Directory of Music and Music Education Institutions.
REF 780.7 B289i 1996

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts.
Lists orchestras, opera companies, choral groups, dance companies, performing arts series, contests, festivals, music schools, music publishers, music magazines and newspapers, record companies, artists and agents.
REF 780.25 M987

DISCOGRAPHIES

Discographies are bibliographies of sound recordings. To find discographies of a particular individual, try a Subject Keyword search on GrizNet using the name of the person and the term discography, ex.: Gershwin discography.

All Music Guide: the Experts' Guide to the Best Recordings..
REF 780 X A416 1997

Basic Music Library: Essential Scores and Sound Recordings / comp. by the Music Library Association. 3rd ed.
REF 780.26 X B311 1997

Bibliography of Discographies. Vol. 1. Classical Music 1925-1975 /
REF 789.912 X B582 v.1

Lowry's International Trumpet Discography / Alvin Lowrey. 2 v. 1990. REF 788.92 X L291L

NPR Guide to Building a Classical CD Collection / Ted Libbey.
REF 780.266 X L694n
Penguin Guide to Compact Discs: the Guide to Excellence in RecordedClassical Music.
REF 780.266 X G812p 1999

Saxophone Recital Music: a Discography / Stanley Schleuter. 1993.
REF 788.7 X S343s

Schwann Opus: Reference Guide to Classical Music.
780.266 S3981

GUIDES

Music Business Handbook & Career Guide / D. Baskerville. 6th ed.
REF 780.2373 B315m 1995

Musician's Guide to Copyright and Publishing / Willis Wager. 1990.
REF 346.730482 W131m 1990

Well-Tempered Announcer: a Pronunciation Guide to Classical Music / Robert A. Fradkin. 1996.
REF 780.14 F799w

INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS

The electronic resource page for Music has a complete list.

INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC

Book of World-Famous Music: Classical, Popular and Folk / J. Fuld. 5th ed.
REF 780 X F962b 2000

Cello Music Since 1960: a Bibliography of Solo, Chamber and Orchestral Works for the Solo Cellist / Donald Homuth. 1994.
REF 787.4 X H768c

Classical Guitar Music in Print / Mijndert Jape. 1989.
REF 780.164 X M987 v.7

Dictionary of Musical Themes / Harold Barlow & Sam Morgenstern. 1948.
REF 780.216 X B258d

Flute Repertoire Catalogue: 10,000 Titles / Frans Vester. 1967.
REF 788.51 X V583f

Great Orchestral Music: a Treasury of Program Notes /
Julian Seaman, ed.
REF 785.015 S438g 1962

Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire / Maurice Hinson. 2nd ed.
REF 786.4 X H665g 1987

Index of Clarinet Music / Wayne Wilkins. 1975.
REF 788.62 X W685i

Musical Masterpieces / Jean-Jacques Soleil and Guy Lelong.
One page commentaries for each of 215 instrumental compositions.
REF 781.17 S685o.Eb

150 Years of Music for Saxophone: Bibliographical Index of Music and Educational Literature for the Saxophone: 1844-1994 / J. Londeix.
REF 788.7 X L847o

Percussion Ensemble and Solo Literature / Thomas Siwe. 1993.
REF 786.8 X S624p

Pianist's Bookshelf: a Practical Guide to Books, Videos, and Other Resources / Maurice Hinson.  1998.
REF 786.2 X H665pi

Piano Duet Repertoire: Music Originally Written for One Piano, Four Hands / Cameron McGraw. 1981.
REF 786.4956 X M147p

Saxophone Soloists and Their Music 1844-1985: an Annotated Bibliography / Harry R. Gee. 1986.
REF 788.7 X G297s

String Music in Print / Margaret K. Farish. 2nd ed. 1973.
REF 787.0152 X F288s 1973-1998 and Supplement REF 780.164 X M987 v.6t

Tuba Source Book / R. Winston Morris, Edward R. Goldstein. 1996.
REF 788.98 X T884

Vienna Urtext Guide to Piano Literature.  1995.
REF 786.2 V662

Wind Chamber Music: Winds With Piano and Woodwind Quintets: an Annotated Guide / Barbara Secrist-Schmedes. 1996.
REF 785.8 X S446w

INTERNET RESOURCES

Andante Magazine

DW3 Classical Music Resources.

International Database of Choral Repertoire

Jazz Review


MUSIC FESTIVALS AND COMPETITIONS

Complete Guide to Music Festivals in America / Carol Rabin. 4th ed.
REF 780.7973 R116m 1990

Directory of Summer Music Programs: National and International Programs for Youth and Adults of All Ability Levels.
REF 780.7 A615

Festival Fever: the Ultimate Guide to Musical Celebrations in the Northeast / James R. Campbell. 1995.
REF 780.7974 C188f

Guide to Competitions / Concert Artists Guild. Rev. ed. 1994.
REF 780.79 C744 1994

Music Festivals From Bach to Blues / Tom Clynes.
REF 780.7973 C649m

Music Lover's Guide to Europe: a Compendium of Festivals, Concerts and Opera. 1992.
REF 780.784 M987

Music Lover's Guide to Great Britain & Ireland: Guide to the Best Musical Venues, Festivals & Events / Anne Bianchi, Adrienne Gusoff. 1996.
REF 780.7841 B577m

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts.
REF 780.25 M987

MUSIC HISTORY

Companion to Baroque Music / Julie Anne Sadie. 1990.
REF 780.9032 C737

Heritage of Music. 4 v. Oxford University Press, 1989.
v. 1 Classical Music and Its Origins. v. 2 Romantic Era. v. 3 Nineteenth Century Legacy. v. 4 Music in the Twentieth Century.
REF 780.9 H546

History of Music of the Western World 1100-1980.  Series of 12 audio tapes.
AT 04562--AT 04573

History of Western Music / Donald J. Grout and Claude Palisca.
The standard one-volume text in music history.
780.9 G882h

Music in the Baroque Era / Manfred Bukofzer.
780.9 B932m

Music in the Middle Ages / Gustave Reese.
780.9 R239m 1968

Music in the Renaissance / Gustave Reese.
780.94 R329m

Music in Western Civilization / Paul Henry Lang.
780.9 L271m

New Oxford History of Music. 10 v. One of the most comprehensive music histories consisting of one volume for each major historical period.
780.9 N532

Norton Recorded Anthology of Western Music.  12 CDs to accompany Grout's History of Western Music, 5th ed.
CD 2133-2144

Our American Music: a Comprehensive History from 1620 to the Present / John Tasker Howard. 4th ed. 1965.
780.973 H849o 1965

Performer's Guide to Baroque Music / Robert Donington.
780.90322 D683p

Performer's Guide to Renaissance  Music / ed. by Jeffrey Kite-Powell.
781.43 P438

Romantic Music: a History of Musical Style in Nineteenth-Century Europe / Leon Plantinga. 1984.
780.9034 P714r

Scores representative of specific periods and styles. Search the library catalog for series for specific information:
Recent Researches in American Music M2 R2945
Recent Researches in the Music of the Baroque Era M2 R295 
Recent Researches in the Music of the Classical Era M2 R2952
Recent Researches in the Music of the Middle Ages and Early Renaissance M2 R2953
Recent Researches in the Music of the Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Centuries M2 R2955
Recent Researches in the Music of the Renaissance M2 R2954

MUSICAL INSTRUMENTS

Encyclopedia of Percussion / John H. Beck, ed. 1995.
REF 785.803 E56

Encyclopedia of Keyboard Instruments. v. 1. The Piano / Robert Palmieri. 1994.
REF 786.03 E56

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Musical Instruments / Robert Dearling, ed. 1996.
REF 784.1903 I29

Instruments of the Middle Ages and Renaissance.  2 phono discs with book.
PD 04261

Makers of the Piano / Martha Novak Clinkscale.  2 v.
REF 786.21923 C641m

Musical Instruments: a Comprehensive Dictionary / Sibyl Marcuse. 1964.
REF 781.9103 M322m

Musical Instruments of the World: an Illustrated Encyclopedia by the Diagram Group. 1976.
REF 781.9103 D536m

New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments and Instrument Makers. 3 v. 1984.
REF 781.9103 N532

New Langwill Index: a Dictionary of Musical Wind-Instrument Makers and Inventors / William Waterhouse. 1993.
REF 788.1923 W326n

OPERA

Cambridge Opera Handbooks.
Search library catalog for this series.

Career Guide for Singers / Opera America.
REF 782.1025 C271

Catalog of Contemporary American Operas / National Opera Association.
REF 782.10973 X N277c

Chronicle of Opera / Michael Raeburn.
REF 782.109 R134c

Concert and Opera Singers: a Bibliography of Biographical Materials / comp. by Robert H. Cowden. 1985.
REF 782.10922 X C874c

Definitive Kobbe's Opera Book.
REF 782.08 K75c 1987

How to Listen To and Understand Opera / Robert Greenberg.  (Great Courses on Tape)
AT 04899

International Dictionary of Opera. 2 v. St. James Pr., 1993.
REF 782.103 I61

Metropolitan Opera Guide to Opera on Video / Paul Gruber, ed. 1997.
REF 782.10267 X M594

Metropolitan Opera  Stories of the Great Operas / John Freeman. 2 v.
REF 782.1 M594

More Stories of the Great Operas / Milton Cross. 1971.
REF 782.08 C951m

New Encyclopedia of the Opera / David Ewen. 1971.
REF 782.103 E94e 1971

New Grove Dictionary of Opera. 4 v. 1992.
REF 782.103 N532

Opera: a Research and Information Guide / Guy A. Marco. 1984.
REF 782.1 X M321o

Opera Companies and Houses of the United States: a Comprehensive, Illustrated Reference / Karyl Lynn Zietz. 1995.
REF 782.106073 Z67o

Opera Handbook / John Lazarus. 1990.
REF 782.1 L4310

Opera Performances in Video Format: a Checklist of Commercially Released Recordings / Charles Croissant. 1991.
M & M REF 782.10267 X C942o

Opera Singers in Recital, Concert and Feature Film: a Mediagraphy / Sharon G. Almquist.  1999.
REF 782.10267 X A452o

Operas in English: a Dictionary / Margaret Ross Griffel.  1999.
REF 782.103 G849o

Oxford Dictionary of Opera / John Warrack. 1994.
REF 782.103 W286o 1994

THEMATIC CATALOGS

Antonin Dvorak: Thematicky Katalog = Thematic Catalogue .
REF 780.9437 D988Xb 1996

Chronologisch-thematisches Verzeichnis samtlicher Tonwerke Wolfgang Amade Mozarts /
von Dr. Ludwig Ritter von Kochel. 3. Aufl.
REF 780.943 M939Xk 1946

Frederic Chopin Thematisch-Bibliographisches Werkverzeichnis / von Krystyna Kobylanska.
REF 780.9438 C549Xk.G

Giovanni Gabrielli: a Thematic Catalogue of His Music With a Guide to the Source Materials and Translations of His Vocal Texts / by Richard Charteris.
REF 780.945 G118Xc

Joseph Haydn Thematisch-bibliographisches Werkverzeichnis / Anthony van Hoboken. 3 v.
REF 780.9436 H415Xh

Schubert: Thematic Catalogue of all his Works in Chronological Order / Otto Erich Deutsch. 1951.
REF 780.943 S384Zd 1951

Thematic Catalogues in Music: an Annotated Bibliography / Barry S. Brook and Richard Viano. 1997.
REF 780 X B871t 1997

Thematisch-systematisches Verzeichnis der musikalischen Werke von Johann Sebastian Bach: Bach-Werke-Verzeichnis (BWV) / hrsg. Wolfgang Schmieder. 2. ausg.
REF 780.943 B118Xs 1990

Das Werke Beethovens Thematisch-Bibliographisches Verzeichnis seiner Samtlichen Vollendeten Kompositionen / von Georg Kinsky.
REF 780.943 B415Xk

VOCAL MUSIC

Catalogue of Choral Music Arranged in Biblical Order  / James Laster. 1996.
REF 782.24 X L349c 1996

Catalogue of Vocal Solos and Duets Arranged in Biblical Order / James H. Laster. 1984.
REF 783.6 X L349c

Chamber Music for Solo Voice and Instruments: 1960-1989 / K. Klaus.
REF 783.2 X K63c

Choral Music by African-American Composers / Evelyn Davidson White.
REF 782.50973 X W583c 1996

Classical Vocal Music in Print. vols. 4, 4t, 4x
REF 780.164 X M987

Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works / Jonathan D. Green. 1994-2000.
REF 782.5 X G796c

Dictionary of Vocal Themes / Harold Barlow and Sam Morgenstern. 1950.
REF 780.216 X B258di

Early American Choral Music: an Annotated Guide / D. DeVenney. 1988.
REF 782.50973 X D489e

Guide to Choral Masterpieces: a Listener's Guide / Melvin Berger. 1993.
REF 782.5 B496g

Handbook to Bach's Sacred Cantata Texts: an Interlinear Translation With Reference Guide to Biblical Quotations and Allusions  / Melvin P. Unger.
REF 782.24 B118Zu

Index of Gregorian Chant / John R. Bryden and David Hughes. 2 v. 1969.
REF 783.5 X B916i

Music for Voice: a Descriptive List of Concert and Teaching Material / Sergius Kagen. Rev. ed. 1968.
REF 781.97 K11m 1968

New Vocal Repertory: an Introduction / Jane Manning. 1994.
REF 782.42168 X M283n 1994

Repertoire for the Solo Voice / Nona Espina. 2 v. 1977.
REF 784.3061 X E77r

Sacred Choral Music in Print. vols. 1a-1c, 1s-1u, 1x
REF 780.164 X M987

Secular Choral Music in Print. vols. 2a, 2b, 2c, 2s, 2t, 2x
REF 780.164 X M987

Singer's Guide to the American Art Song, 1870-1980 / Ethier Villamil. 1993.
REF 782.42168 X V715s

Song Index: an Index to more than 12,000 Songs ... / Minnie Sears.
REF 784 X S439s 1966

Word-by-Word Translations of Songs and Arias / Berton Coffin, et.al. 1966.
REF 781.96 C675w

WOMEN IN MUSIC

Contemporary Anthology of Music by Women / James Briscoe, ed.  (score)
M2 C761

Historical Anthology of Music by Women / ed. by James Briscoe. (score)
M2 H673 @ Listening and Viewing Area

International Encyclopedia of Women Composers / Aaron Cohen. 2nd ed. 1992.
REF 780.9 C678i 1987

Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers. 1995.
REF 780.92 N884

Women Composers, Conductors and Musicians of the Twentieth Century: Selected Biographies / Jane Weiner Lepage. 3 v. 1980-1988.
REF 780.92 L591w

Women Composers: Music Through the Ages / ed. by Martha Furman Schleifer and Sylvia Glickman. 1996-
Contains music scores, biographical information and extensive bibliographies.  12 v.
M2 W872

Women Composers Series. Music scores. Search library catalog for series.

Women in American Music: a Bibliography of Music and Literature / Adrienne Fried Block. 1979.
REF 780.973 X B651w

Women in Music: an Encyclopedia Biobibliography /
Don Hixon and Don Hennessee. 2nd ed. 2 v.
REF 780.92 X H676w 1993

WRITING GUIDES

Words and Music: Form and Procedure in Theses, Dissertations, Research Papers, Book Reports, Programs, Theses in Composition/ E. Eugene Helm and Albert T. Luper.
REF 780.72 H478w 1982

Writing About Music: a Style Sheet from the Editors of "19th Century Music" / D. Kern Holoman.
REF 808.06678 W956

Writing About Music: an Introductory Guide / Richard Wingell.
780.72 W769w

Writing About Music: a Style Book for Reports and Theses / D. Irvine.
REF 780.0149 I72w 1968