Mansfield Library Subject Guides
Maps
Montana
United States
Native American
International
Map Data Sets
MONTANA Map Sites
- Official Montana Highway Map
- Montana Highway Map(PDF 2,861KB)
- Detail City Maps, Front/Back Cover (PDF 705KB)
- Montana Highway Map - Condensed(PDF 1,378KB)
- Montana Highway System Map (PDF 1,295KB)
- City Maps
- County Maps
- Floodplains Maps
- Urban Maps
- Mapping/GIS Division, Missoula County Office of Public Works
- Bicycle Map (PDF)
- Rail System Map
- Road Construction Map
- RWIS Map (Road Weather Information System)
- Winter Road Report Maps
Montana Natural Resource Information System (NRIS)
UNITED STATES Map Sites
American Factfinder, U.S. Census Bureau(click on the link Maps and Geography)
Two tools for creating, viewing, printing, and downloading maps:
- Reference Maps
Viewable boundaries of census geographies - counties, cities/towns, urban areas, congressional districts, census tracts, census blocks, and more. - Thematic
Maps
A tool to view census data in graphical format for all geographies - national to individual census blocks.
Available data - 2000 Census, 1990 Census, 1997 Economic Census, 2002 Population Estimates.
- Profile of the US
- Federal Judicial Districts
- Thematic maps
Categories breakdowns offered are:
- Cities and Towns
- Conservation and Environment
- Discovery and Exploration
- Cultural Landscapes
- Military Battles and Campaigns
- Transportation and Communication
- Geographic Location Index
- Subject Index
- Creator Index
- Title Index
- Keyword searchable
- Links to world maps and atlases
Interactive mapmaking - select, change, and display map layers of data collected by the Federal Government
- Views of scientific, societal, and historical information
- Ability to display, manipulate, and query National Atlas data to generate maps with information to them patron's specific research
- Includes links to current and real-time events and to other Federal producers of geospatial information
U.S. Census Bureau,
American Factfinder
(click on the link Maps and Geography)
Two tools for creating, viewing, printing, and downloading maps:
- Reference Maps
Viewable boundaries of census geographies - counties, cities/towns, urban areas, congressional districts, census tracts, census blocks, and more. - Thematic
Maps
A tool to view census data in graphical format for all geographies - national to individual census blocks.
Available data - 2000 Census, 1990 Census, 1997 Economic Census, 2002 Population Estimates.
Rumsey Historical Map Collection
- Focus: 18th and 19th century North and South America maps
- Historic maps: World, Europe, Asia and Africa
- Collection categories:
antique atlas ~ globe ~ school geography ~ maritime chart ~ state ~ county ~ city ~ pocket ~wall ~ childrens ~manuscript maps
- Over 250,000 maps with worldwide coverage
- Over 5,000 digitized maps
- USGS aerial imagery
- USGS topographic maps
NATIVE AMERICAN Map Sites
Indian Land Cessions- Covers formal establishment of the United States government -1894.
- Maps identify the treaties by number
- All maps copyright free
- Covers formal establishment of the United States government -1894
- 709 cession entries
- Links to related map/s
- Details included for each cession or reservation :
- - identified by number and location
- description of the tracts
- treaty date
- law or executive order covering the treaty
- name of the tribe/s affected - - identified by number and location
You scroll pass the advertisements and book categories to get to the Map List
INTERNATIONAL Map Sites
Online Maps of General Interest- The World
- Africa
- The Americas
- Asia
- Australia and the Pacific
- Europe
- The Middle East
- Polar Regions and Oceans
- Russia and the Former Soviet Republics
- The United States including National Parks and Monuments
- Historical Maps
- Maps on Other Web Sites
- Country and Regional Maps, City Maps, State Maps and Historical Maps
- Electronic Cartographic Reference Resources
Collection contains over 8000 maps
- Focus: 18th and 19th century North and South America maps
- Historic maps: World, Europe, Asia and Africa
- Collection categories:
antique atlas ~ globe ~ school geography ~ maritime chart ~ state ~ county ~ city ~ pocket ~ wall ~
childrens ~ manuscript maps
- General maps
- Deployment maps of peacekeeping missions
DATA SETS Map Sites
ESRI- Spatially integrates data and knowledge
- Layered stacks of information about a geographic area
- Layers of information controllable
(Maintained by ESRI, world leader in the geographic information system (GIS) industry)
- Focus is on business and industry data
- Dynamic maps
- Downloadable data
7 May 2004

