Mansfield Library Subject Guides
Poetry Information Resources
Compiled by: Sue Samson, Humanities Librarian
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Bibliographies
- Criticism
- Biography
- Literary
Journals with Electronic Versions
DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Drury, John. The Poetry Dictionary. Cincinnati, OH: Story Press, 1995.
- REF
808.103 D796p
English Server, Carnegie-Mellon.
Haralson, Eric L. Encyclopedia of American Poetry. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1998.
- REF
811.309 E56
Preminger, Alex. The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics.NY: MHF Books, 1993.
- REF
808.103 N532
Hamilton, Ian. The Oxford Companion to Twentieth Century Poetry in English.NY: Oxford University Press, 1994.
- REF
821.9109 O98
BIBLIOGRAPHIESAubrey, Bryan. English Romantic Poetry: An Annotated Bibliography. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1991.
- 821.709
X A895e
The Columbia Granger's World of Poetry. Resources/Electronic Resources
Index of American Periodical Verse. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1971-present.
- REF
811.54 X I38
Katz, William A. The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies. NY: Columbia University Press, 1997.
- REF
808.81 X G758i 1997
Kline, Victoria. Last Lines: An Index to the Last Lines of Poetry. NY: Facts on File, 1991.
- REF
808.81 X K65L
LitFinder. Resources/Electronic Resources.
Marcan, Peter. Poetry Themes: A Bibliographical Index to subject anthologies and related criticisms in the English language, 1875-1975. 1977.
- 808.81
X M313p
CRITICISM
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL). Resources/Electronic Resources/LION.
Contemporary Literary Criticism. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Inc. 1973-present.
- 809.0405
C761
Critical Survey of Poetry: English Language Series. 8 Vols. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1992.
- REF
821.009 C934 1992
Proquest Digital Dissertations. Resources/Electronic Resources.
Humanities Full Text. Resources/Electronic Resources.
Literature Resource Center. Resources/Electronic Resources.
Literary Criticism Index. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Inc. 1994.
- REF
809 X W423L 1994
MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the ModernLanguages and Literatures. Resources/Electronic Resources.
Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Inc. 1981-present.
REF 809.034 N714
Poetry Criticism: Excerpts from criticism of the works of the most significant and widely studied poets of world literature. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Inc. 1991-present.
- 809.1005
P745
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Inc. 1981-present.
- 809.04
G152t
BIOGRAPHY
Dictionary of Literary Biography. Series. Detroit, MI: The Gale Group.
- 810.9
D554
Contemporary Authors. Detroit, MI: The Gale Group, 1975-present.
- REF
920.01 C7611 (permanent series)
- REF
920.01 C7612 (new revised series)
Riggs, Thomas. Contemporary Poets. 7th ed. NY: St. James Press, 2001. REF 821.9109 X C761 2001
Shelton, Pamela L. Contemporary Women Poets. Detroit, MI: St. James Press, 1997.
- REF
811.5099287 X C761
International Who's Who in Poetry and Poet's Encyclopedia. Cambridge: International Biographical Centre, 1993-present.
- REF
809.1 I61 1997
Literature Resource Center. Resources/Electronic Resources.
LITERARY JOURNALS WITH ELECTRONIC VERSIONS
The Atlantic Monthly
Missouri Review
Ploughshares
Poets and Writers
Prism International
Sewanee Review
Sycamore Review
Web Del Sol Jumpstation
Last Updated: 10 June 2003.

