Mansfield Library Subject Guides
Biological Sciences Information Resources
Sept 2002
Thank you for reporting invalid addresses or suggesting new additions to this list.
PRIMARY INDEXES & ABSTRACTS TO THE LITERATURE
(note: "Electronic Resources" indicates databases available through:
http://weblib.lib.umt.edu/)
| Agricola |
Electronic Resources 1979 - |
Comprehensive agriculture, forestry (includes USFS research), grazing, resource management |
| Biological Abstracts |
Electronic Resources
1980 - Paper: 1926 - , 574 B615 Lv.3-Reference & Lv.5 |
Concept heading arrngmt. - biweekly; Indexes - 6 month cumulative; author, subject, biosystematic, generic Comprehensive biological research literature: Journal articles |
|
Biological Abstracts & RRM (Reviews, Reports, Meetings) |
Paper: 1967 - , 574 B161 Lv.5 |
Comprehensive Reports, Reviews, Conferences, U.S. Patents |
| Biological & Agricultural Index |
Electronic Resources
1983 - Paper: 1916 - 1992 630.5 B615 Lv.5 |
General Biology & Agriculture |
| CSA Science & Environmental Databases -- Biological Sciences Group | ||
|
Electronic Resources
1978 - |
Basic & applied research on marine, freshwater, & brackish-water organisms & environments |
|
Electronic Resources
1984 - |
Studies related to improving & augmenting aquatic yields |
|
Electronic Resources
1989 - |
Marine biotechnology, molecular biology, & molecular genetics applied to marine & aquatic organisms |
|
Electronic Resources
1993 - |
Biotechnological research techniques in the food industry, agriculture, & the environment |
|
Electronic Resources
1982 - |
Reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics & immunity in humans, animals, & plants |
|
Electronic Resources
1982 - |
Literature on neurophysiology, behavioral ecology, genetics, & applied ethology |
|
Electronic Resources
1982 - |
Medically-oriented literature on biochemistry; genetics in humans & animals |
|
Electronic Resources
1993 - |
Medical & biological applications of engineering knowledge; biochemical & microbial technology |
|
Electronic Resources
1982 - |
Vertebrate & invertebrate neuroscience research & neural diseases |
|
Electronic Resources
1982 - |
Role of calcium in all aspects of biology & medicine |
|
Electronic Resources
1982 - |
Studies relating to the neurobiology, chemistry, & physiology of taste, smell, internal chemoreception, & chemotaxis |
|
Electronic Resources
1982 - |
Relevant research on evolutionary biology, economics, & systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment |
|
Electronic Resources
1982 - |
Covers insects & insect-like species |
|
Electronic Resources
1982 - |
Focus on recombinant DNA technology |
|
Electronic Resources
1981 - |
Studies geared to identify, evaluate, & eliminate or control risks & hazards of environmental & occupational situations |
|
Electronic Resources
1982 - 1995 |
Molecular biology & genetics development & applications |
|
Electronic Resources
1982 - |
All aspects of the immune system in humans & animals, in normal functions & disease |
|
Electronic Resources
1982 - |
Findings & practical applications in agricultural, food & beverage, chemicals, & pharmaceutical industries |
|
Electronic Resources
1993 - |
Biotechnology, molecular biology, & genetics research as applied to medicine, pharmaceuticals, human health, or the diagnosis & treatment of disease |
|
Electronic Resources
1982 - |
Gene regulation & manipulation research |
|
Electronic Resources
1989 - |
Cancerous cell growth research into the molecular basis of malignant transformations |
|
Electronic Resources
1981 - |
Focus on new risks associated with chemicals, pharmaceuticals, & by-products |
|
Electronic Resources
1982 - |
Monthly updates on viral genetics in humans, animals, & plants |
| CSA Science & Environmental Databases -- Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Group | ||
|
Electronic Resources
1990 - |
Research & policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers & estuaries |
|
Electronic Resources
1985 - |
Abstracts of EIS projects, sections on positive impact & negative consequences, & legal mandates |
|
Electronic Resources
1990 - |
Technological & engineering aspects of air & water quality, environmental safety, & energy production |
|
Electronic Resources
1981 - |
Scientific research & government policies on atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on humans & animals, and responding environmental actions |
|
Electronic Resources
1990 - |
Abstracts on assessment & mangement of risk from industrial, technological, environmental, & other sources |
|
Electronic Resources
1967 - |
Characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use & management of water resources; technical & scientific literature |
| Plant Science | Electronic Resources : 1994 - | General Botany & Plant Science |
|
PubMed ( aka Medline, Internet Grateful Med) |
Electronic Resources
: 1966 - Paper: Lv.1-Gov Docs : "Index Medicus" 1960 - , HE 20.3612: "Current List of Medical Literature" 1945 - 1959, FS 2.208: "Quarterly Cumulative Index Medicus" 1927 - 1956, FS 2.208/1: |
Comprehensive medical & health literature (also molecular biology, parasitology) |
| Science Citation Index |
Paper: 1978 -1998 500 S4162 Lv.3-Reference |
Allows "cycling forward" bibliography Indexes : citation (previous article), source (current author), permuterm subject, corporate |
| TreeCD |
Electronic Resources
: 1939 - Paper: 1939 - , "Forestry Abstracts" 634.905 F7182 Lv.5 |
Comprehensive forestry literature; Indexes : author, subject |
| Wildlife Worldwide |
Electronic Resources
: 1935 - Paper: 1935 - , "Wildlife Abstracts" I 49.17/2 Lv.1-Gov. Docs. |
Comprehensive wildlife literature (includes USFWS research) Indexes : author, subject, geographic, systematic, generic Cumulative - "Wildlife Review" |
| Zoological Record |
Electronic Resources
: 1978 - Paper: 1864 - , 590 Z87 Lv.3-Reference |
Comprehensive taxonomic literature; selective zoological literature
All types of literature: journal articles, books, conferences,
dissertations Indexes : author, subject, geographic, paleontology, systematic Yearly - phylogenetic sections (protozoa, aves, etc.) |
| Index or Database |
article
citation ======> |
Check Journal
List |
======> | Journal
in stacks or E-Journal |
OTHER INDEXES & ABSTRACTS TO THE LITERATURE
| Academic Index |
Electronic Resources
- general magazine/ journal index (some full-text articles) |
|
Bibliography of Genetic Variation in Natural Populations |
Electronic Resources |
| Botany Subject Index |
580 U58 Lv.3-Reference ; older botanical literature (1903-1958) |
| Chemical Abstracts |
Paper : see Chemical Abstracts 540.5 C5171 - Lv.5 ; 1907 - Jan 2001
Electronic : see SciFinder Scholar
Frequency : weekly, 6 month and
Indexes: author, general subject, chemical Comprehensive Chemistry Literature |
| Conference Papers Index |
Electronic Resources
- papers, poster sessions at scientific meetings |
|
Current Contents on Diskette: Agriculture, Biology, & Environmental Sciences |
Biol. Dept. Office - Health Sciences Building; journal contents |
| Current...Bibliographies on Benthic Biology |
574.9205 X C976 Lv.5 ; http://www.benthos.org/Publications/ index.cfm |
| Dissertations, Proquest Digital |
Electronic Resources
378.2 C738 Lv.2 ; Comprehensive PhD index |
| Environmental Routenet |
Electronic Resources
; Current environmental news, information, legislation |
| Fire Effects Information System: plants & animals | http://www.fs.fed.us/database/feis/ |
| Funded Research - U.S. | http://www.cos.com/ |
| GeoRef |
Electronic Resources
Comprehensive geology, hydrology, paleontology |
| Government Documents Index | Electronic Resources |
| Health Reference Center |
Electronic Resources
; Consumer / popular health information |
| Index Kewensis |
CDRom 582 I38 @ Information Center Desk ; load on Specialized Resources computer; plant nomenclature |
| Ingenta Gateway |
Electronic
Resources Journal table of contents, general index, document delivery service |
| International Pharmaceutical Abstracts |
Electronic Resources
; Comprehensive pharmacy literature |
| Masters Abstracts |
378.2 M423 Lv.2 ; Selective index of Masters theses |
| Newsbank |
Electronic Resources
; Newspaper index, full text |
| NTIS |
Electronic Resources
; U.S. Government sponsored science & technology research |
| PsycInfo |
Electronic Resources
; Comprehensive psychology, brain research, primate research |
| Sport Discus |
Electronic Resources
; Sport physiology & medicine |
| Water Resources Routenet | Electronic Resources |
| WorldCat |
Electronic Resources
; Union catalog of library holdings (books, govt. documents, media, etc.) |
ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES
| Botanical Latin | 580.14 S799 Lv.3-Reference |
| Brain Encyclopedia | 612.8203 T939 Lv.3-Reference |
| Comprehensive Biological Catalysis | 572.7 C737 Lv.3-Reference |
| Concise Dictionary of Biology | 574.03 C744 Lv.3-Reference |
|
Concise Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology |
610.3 J95 Lv.3-Reference |
| The Concise Dictionary of Botany | 581.03 C744 Lv.3-Reference |
| The Concise Dictionary of Zoology | 591.03 C744 Lv.3-Reference |
| Concise Encyclopedia of Biochemistry | 574.192 B864 Lv.5 |
| Concise Encyclopedia Biology | 574.03 A111 Lv.3-Reference |
| A Dictionary of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics | 570.3 L738 Lv.3-Reference |
| Dictionary of Gene Technology | 574.873282 K12 Lv.3-Reference |
| A Dictionary of Genetics | 575.103 K54d Lv.3-Reference |
| Dictionary of Plant Toxins | 9615.952 D554 Lv.3-Reference |
| A Dictionary of Zoology | 590.3 L495d Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science | 630.3 E56 Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Biostatistics | 610.72 E56 Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology | 574.503 E56 Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Horticulture | 635.903 E93n Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Human Biology | 612.003 E56 Lv.5 |
| Encyclopedia of Immunology | 574.2903 E56 Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Medicinal Plants | 615.3203 C527 Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Microbiology | 576.03 E56 Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology | 574.8803 E56 Lv.3-Reference |
|
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology & Molecular Medicine |
572.8 E56 Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Neuroscience | 612.803 E56 Lv.3-Reference |
| Global Biodiversity: status .... | 333.9511 G562 Lv.2 |
|
Glossary of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Online |
http://db.portlandpress.com/db.htm |
| The Language of Biotechnology: a dictionary .... | 660.6 W181 Lv.5 |
| Life Science Dictionary |
http://biotech.icmb.utexas.edu/search /dict-search.html |
|
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Environmental Science |
304.203 M147 Lv.2 |
|
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology |
572.03 O983 Lv.3-Reference |
| Species Information |
Electronic Resources
Information on 7,200 North American Faunal species |
| Virology: Directory & Dictionary | 576.6403 H913 Lv.3-Reference |
|
Wiley Encyclopedia of Environmental Pollution & Cleanup |
628.5 M6138 Lv.3-Reference |
HANDBOOKS & GUIDES
|
Beacham's International Threatened, Endangered, & Extinct Species |
CDRom IM 088 Lv.3-Information Center Desk; load on Specialized Resources computer |
| Biodiversity & Conservation - hypertext book - college |
http://darwin.bio.uci.edu/~sustain/bio65/ Titlpage.htm |
|
CBE Style Manual: a Guide for Authors, ... in the Biological Sciences |
686.2252 C855 Latest edition Lv.3-Information Center Earlier editions Lv.5 |
| Endangered Species Home Page | http://endangered.fws.gov/ |
| Environment on File | Q 333.7 E614 Lv.2-Oversize Shelves |
| Finding People, Especially Life Scientists |
http://library.wustl.edu/subjects/life/ biopeople.html |
| Forestry Handbook | 634.9 F718 Lv.3-Reference |
| Global Biodiversity: Status ... | 333.9511 G562 Lv.2 |
| GRE Biology | 574.076 B561 Lv.3-Reference |
|
Guide to Information Sources in the Botanical Sciences |
581 D261g Lv.3-Reference |
| A Guide to the Zoological Literature | 591 B433 Lv.3-Reference |
| A Handbook of Biological Investigation | 574.01 A496h Lv.3-Reference |
| A History of Natural History: an annotated ... | 508 B852 Lv.3-Reference |
|
How to Use Biological Abstracts, Chemical Abstracts and ... |
025.0654 A425 Lv.4 |
| Information Sources in the Life Sciences | 570 I43 Lv.3-Reference |
| International Directory of Primatolgy | 599.80601 I61 Lv.3-Reference |
|
The Island Press Bibliography of Environmental Literature |
333.7 x I82 Lv.2 |
| Library Research Guide to Biology | 574.072 K59L Lv.3-Reference |
|
Notable Women in the Life Sciences: a Biographical Dictionary |
570.922 N899 Lv.3-Reference |
| Online Biology Book |
http://gened.emc.maricopa.edu/bio/bio181/ BIOBK/BioBookTOC.html Introductory biology |
| A Short Guide to Writing about Biology | 808.066574 P365s Lv.4 |
| Using the Biological Literature | 574.0724 D261 Lv.5 |
|
Virtual Bioscience & Biotech Center - Martindale's Reference |
http://www-sci.lib.uci.edu/HSG /GradBioscience.html |
| Women in the Biological Sciences | 570.922 W872 Lv.3-Reference |
| Writing and Editing - Links for Biology & Medicine |
http://members.home.net/jpmacke/
JM.BIO.html |
| Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences | 808.066574 M167 Lv.4 |
ORGANISMAL BIOLOGY & ECOLOGY -- Internet Directories
BIOCHEMICAL & MOLECULAR BIOLOGY-- Internet Directories
| Biochemistry & Molecular Biology | http://mcb.harvard.edu/BioLinks/biochem.html |
| Biological Sciences Resources - CSUBIOWEB | http://arnica.csustan.edu/ |
| BioMolecular Research Tools (Pedro's) |
http://www.biophys.uni-duesseldorf.de/BioNet/ Pedro/research_tools.html |
| Biotechnology - Virtual Library | http://www.cato.com/biotech/ |
| Cell Biology - Virtual Library | http://vlib.org/Science/Cell_Biology/index.shtml |
| Developmental Biology - Virtual Library |
http://sdb.bio.purdue.edu/Other
/VL_DB.html |
| Genetics -Virtual Library | http://compbio.ornl.gov/ |
| Immunology | http://mcb.harvard.edu/BioLinks/Immunology.html |
| Model Organisms - Virtual Library | http://ceolas.org/VL/mo/ |
| Molecular Biologist Toolkit (UW) |
http://healthlinks.washington.edu/basic _sciences/molbio/ |
| Neurobiology - Virtual Library | http://neuro.med.cornell.edu/VL/ |
| Physiology & Biophysics - Virtual Library |
http://physiology.med.cornell.edu/WWWVL /PhysioWeb.html |
| Virology on the WWW |
http://www.tulane.edu/~dmsander /garryfavweb.html |
EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES -- Internet Directories
| BioEd: Biology Education Resources |
http://newton.physics.wwu.edu:8082/ jstewart/scied/bioindex.html |
| Instructional Resources in Biology - Virtual Library | http://mcb.harvard.edu/BioLinks/EduRes.html |
| Learning Biology - Interactive Online Reources | http://www.biology.arizona.edu/ |
| Lesson Plans - K12 - Biology - AskEric | http://askeric.org/cgi-bin/lessons.cgi/Science |
| Life Science Gems - K12 Education | http://www.sciencegems.com/ |
| National Assn. of Biology Teachers - Online Resources | http://www.nabt.org/sup/resources/ |
| World Lecture Hall - Biology & Botany |
http://wnt.cc.utexas.edu/~ccdv543 /wlh/index1.html |
| World Lecture Hall - Microbiology |
http://wnt.cc.utexas.edu/~ccdv543 /wlh/index1.html |
| World Lecture Hall - Zoology |
http://wnt.cc.utexas.edu/~ccdv543 /wlh/index1.html |
ELECTRONIC JOURNALS & COMMUNICATION -- Internet Directories
| Bio / Chemical Journals |
http://www.public.iastate.edu/~pedro /rt_journals.html |
| Biology Full Text |
http://library.wustl.edu/subjects/life /ejournals.html |
| BioMoo - the Biologists' Virtual Meeting Place |
http://bioinformatics.weizmann.ac.il
/BioMoo/ |
| BioNet - Usenet Newsgroups | http://net.bio.net/archives.html |
| Biology - Electronic Journals |
http://mcb.harvard.edu/Admin_Res/Library/ ejbioart.htm |
| Biological Journals and Abbreviations | http://hsc.usf.edu/bja/ |

