Government Information Resources
| Statistics |
For reference assistance, contact: Jennie Burroughs, Government Documents Librarian, (406) 243-4548.
| National | State | International |
National
Agricultural Statistics
http://www.usda.gov/nass
- Census of Agriculture
http://www.nass.usda.gov/census
An excellent source of agricultural statistics. The most recent Agricultural Census was in 2002.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs
- Publications
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/pubalp2.htm
Bureau of Labor Statistics
http://www.bls.gov
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
http://www.bts.gov
- Data Library
http://www.transtats.bts.gov - National Transportation Statistics
http://www.bts.gov/publications/national_transportation_statistics
Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov
- American Community Survey
http://www.census.gov/acs/www - American FactFinder
http://factfinder.census.gov - CenStats
http://censtats.census.gov
Statistics databases. - Census 2000
http://www.census.gov/dmd/www/2khome.htm - County and City Data Book
http://www.census.gov/stat_abstract/ccdb.html - County Business Patterns
http://www.census.gov/epcd/cbp/view/cbpview.html - Demographic Profile Summaries
http://censtats.census.gov/pub/Profiles.shtml - Economic Census
http://www.census.gov/econ/census02/ - Historical Census Data
http://www.census.gov/population/www/censusdata/hiscendata.html
The Census has collected and digitized selected population and housing data from earlier censuses. - Native American Population
http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/race/indian.html - Population Estimates
http://www.census.gov/popest/estimates.php
Population estimates for the years between censuses. - State and County Quickfacts
http://quickfacts.census.gov - State Data Centers
http://www.census.gov/sdc/www/index.html - Montana Population Data Center
http://www.census.gov/sdc/www/mtsdc.html - Statistical Abstract of the United States
http://www.census.gov/statab/www
Note that the print edition is easier to use, but the electronic version is convenient when you can't make it into the library. - Guide to State Statistical Abstracts
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/stateabs.html
This is a bibliography of state statistical sources. It can be useful if you want to compare state-level data. - Subjects Index
http://www.census.gov/main/www/subjects.html
This A-Z section of the Census site can be very helpful when you need data on a particular topic. - Survey of Business Owners
http://help.econ.census.gov/BHS/SBO/index.html
Childstats
http://www.childstats.gov
Family & child statistics with "America's Children" well-being reports.
Economic Indicators
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/indicators/index.html
Information from 1995-present.
Federal Budget Information
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/usbudget
Federal Reserve Economic Data
http://research.stlouisfed.org/fred2
FedStats
http://www.fedstats.gov
Links to statistics and statistical agencies of the federal government.
- Montana MapStats
http://www.fedstats.gov/qf/states/30000.html
Geospatial and Statistical Data Center
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu
Created by the University of Virginia.
Historical Census Browser
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/census
1790-1960 browser for demographic, economic, and social data gathered by the U.S. Census. The UVA site allows you to search for historic data and map the results.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr
Current data and reports on diseases and deaths in the United States.
National Center for Health Statistics
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs
This site is an excellent place to start when searching for health and vital statistics.
- National Vital Statistics System
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/nvss.htm
Provides data on basic vital statistics--births, deaths, marriages, divorces.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
http://www.noaa.gov
- National Climatic Data Center
http://lwf.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/ncdc.html
An excellent source for weather and climate data by city or station. - U.S. Climate at a Glance
http://lwf.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/research/cag3/cag3.html
Long-term data by month for the nation, states, regions, and cities.
STAT-USA
STAT-USA provides access to State of the Nation and Globus & National Trade Data Bank (NTDB).
Note: This resource will ask for a UM remote access username and password.
Uniform Crime Reports
http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm
Annual statistical information on crime in the U.S. and other reports.
State
Census & Economic Information Center (CEIC)
http://ceic.commerce.state.mt.us
CEIC is part of the Montana Department of Commerce. They are the premier source in the state for statistical data relating to Montana.
- Census 2000
http://ceic.commerce.state.mt.us/Census2000.html - Demographics
http://ceic.commerce.state.mt.us/demographics.html - Montana Quickfacts
http://ceic.commerce.state.mt.us/stctyquickfacts.html
Statistical Analysis Center
http://bccdoj.doj.state.mt.us/sac/index.shtml
Provides various statistical reports on crime in Montana.
International
Handbook of International Economic Statistics
http://www.cia.gov/cia/di/products/hies
International Justice Statistics
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/ijs.htm#OCWS
A list of links to individual country statistical sites compiled by the Bureau of Justice Statistics.
OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
http://www.library.auckland.ac.nz/subjects/stats/offstats
An excellent resource from the University of Auckland Library. Provides statistics from official sources by country, region, or topic.
Statistics Canada
http://www.statcan.ca/start.html
United Kingdom Data
http://www.statistics.gov.uk
United Nations
http://www.un.org
- GlobStat
http://globstat.unctad.org/html/index.html
Development and globalization facts and figures. - UN Crime Statistics
http://www.uncjin.org/Statistics/statistics.html - UN Human Settlement Statistics
http://www.unhabitat.org/habrdd/statprog.htm - UN Statistics Division
http://unstats.un.org/unsd/default.htm - UN Statistics Programmes http://www.un.org/esa/stats.html
White House Statistics Briefing Rooms
http://www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr
- Demographic Statistics
http://www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/demography.html - Economic Statistics Briefing Room
http://www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/esbr.html - Social Statistics Briefing Room
http://www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/health.html

