Government Information Resources
| Native American Information |
For reference assistance, contact: Jennie Burroughs, Government Documents Librarian, (406) 243-4548.
| National | State | International |
National
American Indian Environmental Office
http://www.epa.gov/indian
The Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/avalon.htm
- Statutes of the United States Concerning Native Americans: Chronological
http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/statutes/native/namenu.htm - Treaties Between the United States and Native Americans
http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/ntreaty/ntreaty.htm
Bureau of Indian Affairs
http://www.doi.gov/bureau-indian-affairs.html
Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov
- American Indian Data Tables
http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/race/indian.html
Data from the U.S. Census. - American Indian and Alaska Native Data and Links
http://factfinder.census.gov/home/aian/index.html
U.S. Census data. - Characteristics by Tribe and Language in the 2000 Census
http://www.census.gov/census2000/pubs/phc-5.html - Demographic Profiles of American Indian and Alaskan Native Areas
http://factfinder.census.gov/home/aian/aian_aff2000.html - Rankings and Comparisons between Census 2000 and the 1990 Census
http://www.census.gov/population/www/cen2000/tablist.html
Code Talk
http://www.codetalk.fed.us/
"Code Talk is a federal inter-agency Native American Web site designed specifically to deliver electronic information from government agencies and other organizations to Native American communities."
Department of the Interior Library
http://library.doi.gov/index.html
- Native Americans
http://library.doi.gov/internet/native.html
Includes links to digital collections on Native Americans.
Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Tribal Initiatives
http://www.fcc.gov/indians
Handbook of Federal Indian Law
http://thorpe.ou.edu/cohen.html
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
http://digital.library.okstate.edu/kappler
From the Oklahoma State University Library.
Indian Health Service
http://www.ihs.gov
- Clinical Information Resources
http://www.ihs.gov/MedicalPrograms/CIR/cir-answering-clinical-questions.asp - Health Education Manual
http://www.ihs.gov/NonMedicalPrograms/HealthEd/index.cfm?module=manual&option=all&newquery=1 - Program Statistics
http://www.ihs.gov/NonMedicalPrograms/IHS_Stats/About_Us.asp - Tribal Health Programs
http://www.ihs.gov/NonMedicalPrograms/Tribal/Tribal_index.asp
Indian Nations Program
http://www.hanford.gov/doe/inp
A Department of Energy program.
Indian Trust Site
http://www.doi.gov/indiantrust
From the Department of the Interior, includes links to reports.
Law Library of Congress: Native Americans
http://www.loc.gov/law/guide/usnative.html
Links to laws, treaties, sections of the U.S. Code and Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court rulings, and other resources.
Library of Congress, American Memory Collection
http://memory.loc.gov
This site includes digitized collections of documents, photographs, and maps.
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/award98/wauhtml/aipnhome.html
Includes American Indians of the Northwest Coast and Plateau areas. A mirror site with a different search interface is available through the University of Washington (http://content.lib.washington.edu/aipnw). - Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/award98/ienhtml/curthome.html
A digitized collection from the Library of Congress. - History of the American West, 1860-1920
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/award97/codhtml/hawphome.html - Indian Land Cessions in the United States
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwss-ilc.html
United States Serial Set, Number 4015.
National Archaeological Database
http://www.cast.uark.edu/other/nps/nadb
Searchable reports and maps, created in conjunction with the National Park Service.
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
http://www.archives.gov
- Catalog of NARA Microfilm Publications about American Indians
http://www.archives.gov/publications/microfilm_catalogs/american_indian/american_indian.html - Indians/Native Americans
http://www.archives.gov/research_room/alic/reference_desk/native_american_links.html
"This page contains links to American history relating to Native Americans." - Native American Records
http://www.archives.gov/research_room/genealogy/research_topics/native_american_records.html
Includes links to census rolls, pictures, articles, and other records.
National Indian Gaming Commission (NIGC)
http://www.nigc.gov/nigc/index.jsp
The commission regulates gaming activity on tribal land.
- Laws and Regulations
http://www.nigc.gov/nigc/nigcControl?option=LAWS_MENU - NIGC Resources
http://www.nigc.gov/nigc/nigcControl?option=RESOURCES
Includes reports, bulletins, and press releases - Tribal Data Relating to Gaming
http://www.nigc.gov/nigc/nigcControl?option=TRIBAL_DATA
National Museum of the American Indian
http://www.nmai.si.edu
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
http://thorpe.ou.edu
Native American Documents Project
http://www.csusm.edu/nadp/nadp.htm
Historic reports from the Commissioner of Indian Affairs published online.
Native American Rights Fund
http://www.narf.org
Legal and technical support for Native Americans.
- National Indian Law Library
http://www.narf.org/nill/Nillindex.html
Lists - Tribal Law Gateway
http://www.narf.org/nill/tlpmain.htm - NARF Publications
http://www.narf.org/nill/narfpubs.html
Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA)
http://www.cr.nps.gov/nagpra
Includes online databases, maps, and publications.
Office of Indian Education Programs
http://www.oiep.bia.edu
Office of Public and Indian Housing
http://www.hud.gov/offices/pih/index.cfm
Division of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
- Office of Native American Programs
http://www.hud.gov/offices/pih/ih/onap - Policy and Regulations
http://www.hud.gov/offices/pih/ih/regs/index.cfm - Publications and Resources
http://www.hud.gov/offices/pih/ih/pubs/index.cfm
Office of Tribal Justice
http://www.usdoj.gov/otj
A division of the U.S. Department of Justice.
- Online Publications
http://www.usdoj.gov/otj/pub.htm
Southern Oregon Digital Archive (SODA)
http://soda.sou.edu/index.html
Includes a digitized First Nations Collection.
Tribal Court Clearinghouse
http://www.tribal-institute.org
Use the navigation bar toward the top of the page for access to tribal, federal, and state law information.
U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs
http://indian.senate.gov
State
American Indians and Alaskan Natives in Montana: 2000
http://ceic.commerce.state.mt.us/C2000/SF32000/Indian_by_tribe_mt.pdf
Data tables.
Blackfeet Nation http://www.blackfeetnation.com
Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes
http://www.cskt.org
- Salish Kootenai College
http://www.skc.edu
Fort Belknap Indian Reservation
http://www.fortbelknapnations-nsn.gov/
Indian Nations Information
http://lewisandclark.state.mt.us/restoday.htm
Little Shell Tribe
http://www.littleshelltribe.us
Montana-Wyoming Tribal Leaders Council
http://tlc.wtp.net/index.html.htm
Northern Cheyenne Net
http://www.ncheyenne.net
Tribal Governments
http://www.discoveringmontana.com/govt/tribal.asp
International
Australian Government, Indigenous Portal
http://www.indigenous.gov.au
Government of Canada
http://canada.gc.ca/main_e.html
- Department of Indian and Northern Affairs, Canada
http://www.ainc-inac.gc.ca - First Nations Forestry Program
http://www.fnfp.gc.ca
Indian Law Resource Center
http://www.indianlaw.org

