Mansfield Library Subject Guides
printable pdf version
Using Endnote with Library Catalog and Databases
Bibliographic management software is useful for tracking citations that you find as part of your research. Packages such as EndNote and ProCite allow you to import search result lists from online databases, as well as enter citations in manually. It is also possible to use these programs to connect to the Mansfield Library Catalog and download citations directly.
The library does not support troubleshooting of the software, but this guide provides basic instruction for using the EndNote software with the Mansfield Library's catalog and subscription databases.
CONNECTING DIRECTLY TO THE MANSFIELD LIBRARY CATALOG
INSTALLING THE UM CATALOG CONNECTION FILE
- From the Library’s web page, select Subject Guides, General Guides, University of Montana- Libraries Z39.50 Parameters
- Click “Download an Endnote connection file HERE”
- Save the umendnote.enz file to Endnote’s Connections subdirectory (likely under C:\Program Files\endnote\connections)
SEARCHING THE MANSFIELD LIBRARY CATALOG
- Open Endnote, choose a library
- Select Tools, Connect, Connect and choose U Montana, Connect
Note: Endnote does not support performing complex searches in remote databases. For complex search results, it is best to export the results (instructions below) and import into Endnote.
EXPORTING FROM THE MANSFIELD LIBRARY CATALOG
INSTALLING THE UM CATALOG FILTER FILE
- From the Library’s web page, select Subject Guides, General Guides, University of Montana- Libraries Z39.50 Parameters
- Click “Download an Endnote filter file HERE”
- Save the umvoyager.enf file to Endnote’s Filters subdirectory (likely under C:\Program Files\endnote\filters)
IMPORTING RESULTS FROM THE MANSFIELD LIBRARY CATALOG
- Under Save Options, select Full Record to save or email the results.
> If emailing, save your message to a text file.- In Endnote, select File, Import. Select the file to import, select umvoyager
> If umvoyager is not in the list, select Other Filters to select.
GETTING CITATIONS FROM ELECTRONIC RESOURCES
FINDING DATABASES
The Mansfield Library's available electronic resource databases, grouped by subject, can be found on the Find Articles tab.
EXPORTING TO ENDNOTE
A good source for step-by-step instructions on how to export search results from a variety of databases to Endnote are available from the University of Oregon Libraries web site. After you export the search results from the database, you need to perform the import process from within Endnote.
IMPORTING USING FILTERSThe Mansfield Library's online database configurations do not currently support connecting directly to the database from Endnote, however, many of the databases allow either reporting results directly to Endnote, or exporting a text/email file that can be imported into Endnote. In most cases, going to the marked list and exporting the citations in an ascii format (or mailing citations in ascii format) will suffice to allow for importing. Save these results as a text file.
In EndNote
- Open the library to import to.
- File, Import, select the file to import
- Under Import Option, select the filter, or else select Other Filters and select from a list.
If the database you are importing is not present in the filters list, download the filter from Endnote or search on Google for filters that others have created. Note that these are sometimes customized and may not always work - import to a test database when using a new filter.
Other sources of filters:
EXPORTING DIRECTLY TO ENDNOTE
Science Direct supports the ability to directly export to Endnote, as long as Endnote is installed on the machine. See University of Oregon Libraries web site for ABI instructions - these are similar to the steps for Science Direct.
UNSUPPORTED DATABASES
There are currently no available filters for the Infotrac interface (Expanded Academic, Business ASAP, Predicasts PROMT) and Lexis-Nexis.
ADDITIONAL REFERENCES
Monash University Library - A good tutorial from the Monash University Library
University of Oregon Libraries - Step-by-step instructions on how to export search results from a variety of databases to Endnote.
2/04

