INSTITUTIONAL DATA RESOURCES:
University of Montana-Missoula and Montana University System
For assistance contact: Kate Zoellner
Education Librarian & Assessment Coordinator
243-4421 | kate.zoellner@umontana.edu
For a printable PDF version of this guide, click here
This guide cites selected University of Montana-Missoula, Montana University System and Montana Board of Regents data, reports and strategic plans that can be used to locate quantitative, qualitative and narrative information on the University and the larger system in which it operates. For example, these resources enable one to find:
-
demographic and FTE data on students, faculty and staff of the University and its departments;
-
accreditation self-study and interim reports as well as evaluations and upcoming program reviews for UM; and
-
academic, enrollment, facilities, financial and program goals for both the University and University System.
University of Montana-Missoula
The Office of University Planning, Budgeting & Analysis
Office of the Provost and VP of Academic Affairs
Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education Montana University System
The Office of University Planning, Budgeting & Analysis
Compiled annually, the Digest brings together institutional data, including enrollment trends, student success, and University finances - view specific sections of the compendium (e.g., Total Enrollments from 1895 through 2004, Sources of Current Unrestricted Revenues) or graphic representations of the data points (e.g., Annual Percent Change in Headcount Enrollment).
Fiscal year budgets, as well as all funds and general funds budget summaries for the two most recent fiscal years, the Biennial Budget Summary and quarterly financial performance reports since 2004 are accessible at this link.
- Accreditation of The University of Montana Missoula - 2000
View the University's Institutional Self-Study from 2000 (prepared for the Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges), the Full-Scale Evaluation Committee Report, and links to other resources surrounding the self-study (e.g., Questions and Answers about Accreditation). - Almanac of Higher Education in Montana
Compiled annually by the publishers of The Chronicle of Higher Education, the Almanac links on this page include data on Montana student and faculty demographics, faculty pay rates (e.g., 2005 average pay of full-time professors at public universities in Montana), political leadership in higher education administration and more. Issues date back to 1997. - Annual Reporting
List of organizations to which the University annually provides data and the type and purpose of the data shared. For example, the College & University Professional Association for Human Resources (CUPA-HR) is listed, as the University provides CUPA-HR with salary and benefits data for the compensation surveys CUPA annually publishes. (See CUPA-HR's National Faculty Salary Survey by Discipline and Rank in Four-Year Colleges and Universities for an example of how the data shared is used and to find national salary averages by discipline and rank.) - Common Data Set (CDS)
UM-Missoula's responses to the CDS - a list of information collected by publishers of college guides - including policies, application deadlines, enrollment and persistence data, freshman profile, academic offerings and other fast facts. CDSs from 1998 forward are available. - Diversity
Data available from this site includes: ethnicity of students, ethnicity of registered students by class and gender, ethnicity of students graduated, students with disabilities with percentages by college and the age distribution of students. Most data is available from 1999 forward. - Faculty & Staff
Academic Unit and Workforce data: student-faculty ratio for each department, class sections per faculty FTE, as well as the number of administrative, faculty and staff positions at UM. - Students
Enrollment and Retention rates data: Fall enrollment (1895-), headcounts Fall & Spring (1994-); enrollments by college/major/class (1999-); and retention rates for many constituent groups (e.g., BA degree-seeking full-time first-time freshman, Females, American Indians) (1991-).
Most recent analyses conducted by UM, for example, Montana Partnering for Affordable College Tuition (MPACT) and Spring FY06 Enrollment Analyses.
The University's Strategic Directions plan for 2004-2009, based upon the previous directions of the University and the larger goals and mission of the Montana University System. Includes general, financial, academic, student, program, and facilities goals in addition to the strategic context, directions and overall goals.
Office of the Provost and VP of Academic Affairs
Provides links to accreditation reports and documents.
Northwest Commission Interim Accreditation Report 2005 (pdf)
Interim Accreditation Report dated March 2005 addresses the University's work to address two of the five recommendations from the April 2000 full-scale evaluation (mentioned above) and provides updates on the other three recommendations, addressed previously in a Progress Report dated September 2001.
University of Montana-Missoula External Accreditations 2006 (pdf)
Document lists upcoming reviews: school, program, and degree to be reviewed; accrediting agency; last and next review; and review findings.
Assessment website which aims "to provide informative and useful information whether you are assessing your own effectiveness as a teacher, student learning outcomes, or the effectiveness of your department's curriculum." Links are provided to UM Assessment Principles and Objectives, the Assessment Advisory Committee, General Education Outcomes, Departmental Assessment Reports and plans, Best Practices, Campus Wide Assessments and more.
Current Unrestricted Operating Budgets, Central Administration
This print document, reviewed by the University President, contains fiscal year Operating Budgets for The University of Montana-Missoula (Mountain Campus & COT, Travel Research, Flathead Lake Biological Station Special Appropriation, Forest & Conservation Experiment Station), Montana Tech (North & South Campus, Bureau of Mines & Ground Water Assessment), The University of Montana-Western and The University of Montana-Helena College of Technology. Details on UM-Missoula funding sources, expenditures by program and expenditures by category (e.g., salaries) can be found in this document. The most current fiscal year is available on reserve in the Library, and previous fiscal years dating back to 1995 can be found in the Montana Collection (4th floor, call number 378.786 M444u).
- Academic Reports
University System campus accreditation information, program changes, distance learning summary and more. - Annual Diversity Reports
Annual data assessing how well University System campuses are responding to the Regents' 1999 mandate on minority and American Indian education. - Economic Development
Directory of development and research in specific sectors, support for the State's economic development provided by the University System, and Shared Leadership project resources. - Faculty & Staff
University System quantitative faculty and staff data: tenured faculty by campus, full & part-time tenured faculty by ethnicity and campus, staff by ethnicity & campus, staff by full-time & part-time status and campus. - Financial Reports
2009 Biennium Budget Development documents and fiscal year budget information (i.e., operating budget and inventory & validation of fees). - Legislative Fiscal Division Reports
University System reports provided to the 57th (2000) and 58th (2003) sessions of the state legislature. - State Comparisons
Participation and affordability of college data across Montana higher education institutions. - Student Statistics
Enrollment headcount, FTE, and degree completions data by campus. - Tuition & Fees
Inventory & validation of tuition and fees by University System institution.
Montana Board of Regents' Accountability Report on the Montana University System to the 59th Montana Legislature, dated January 21, 2005.
- Meeting Minutes
http://www.montana.edu/wwwbor/mininfo.html
Record of Regents’ Meetings proceedings: System, Academic, Student Affairs, Budget Items, Compensation Items, Workforce Development, and other Committees’ ( http://www.montana.edu/wwwbor/LinkCommittees.htm) reports are included. The Consent Agenda of the November Regents Meeting each year includes Staff, Labor Agreement/Other and Administrative/Budget Items. You can find Changes in the Rank/Tenure, Salary and Responsibility of employees; New Positions and Replacements; and End of Employment information within the Staff Items.Mission, vision, goals and objectives of the Montana University System.
Compiled August 16, 2006

