Mansfield Library Subject Guides
Selection of Funding Resources #1:BOOK TITLES
Prepared by: Linder Wong Schlang, (406)243-5869
The Mansfield Library offers a variety of resources to support your search for granting opportunities. This guide identifies print resources; a second guide focuses on electronic resources. The primary focus of the collection is on foundation grantseekers with additional materials covering fundraising, nonprofit management and related topics. Much of the print collection can be found on the Fund Raising Center table located on the main floor of the library. For additional print resources, do an Advanced Search in the Montana Public Access Catalog. Ask at the Information Center for access to FC Search and for help identifying other useful databases.
FOUNDATION CENTER CORE COLLECTION
| Corporate Foundation Profiles. latest edition only | 361.7632 C822 | |
| Foundation Directory. Latest edition only | 001.44 F7713 | |
|
Foundation Giving: Yearbook of Facts and Figures on Private,
Corporate, and Community Foundations. Last two years only. |
001.44 F7717 | |
| Foundation Grants to Individuals. Latest edition only. | 001.44 F7714 | |
| Foundation Grants Index. Latest edition only. | 001.44 F771 | |
| Foundation 1000. Latest edition only. | 001.44 F7716 | |
| Guide to U.S. Foundations, Their Trustees, Officers, and Donors. 2 vols. 2001. | 001.4405 G946 | |
| Foundation Fundamentals: A Guide for Grantseekers. 6th ed. 1999. | 361.7632 M329f 1999 | |
| National Directory of Corporate Giving. Latest edition only. | 361.765 N277 | |
| National Directory of Grantmaking Public Charities. 1998. | 001.44 N2773 | |
| User-Friendly Guide: Grantseeker's Guide to Resources. 1996. | 658.15224 U84 | |
| Who Gets Grants / Who Gives Grants. 3rd ed. 1995. | 361.7632 W628 | |
| 990-PF Internal Revenue Service Summaries. Ogden, Utah : Internal Revenue Service | http://foundationcenter.org/findfunders/990finder/ |
| Bergan, Helen. Where the Information Is: A Guide to Electronic Research for Nonprofit Organzations. Alexandria, VA : BioGuide Press, 1996. | 025.0636 B494w |
| Chronicle of Philanthopy. Washington, D.C. : The Chronicle of Philanthropy, 2001. | 361.005 C5571 |
| Corporate Giving Directory. Rockville, MD : Taft Group, 2000. | 361.7650973 T124 |
| Directory of Corporate and Foundation Givers. 2 vols. Rockville, MD : Taft Group, 1999. | 361.765 D598 |
| Directory of International Corporate Giving in America. Washington, D.C. : Taft Group, 1997. | 361.765 D5983 |
|
Eastern Montana College Foundation. Montana and Wyoming Foundations
Directory. Billings, MT : The Foundation, 1992. |
361.763025 M764 |
Encyclopedia of Associations. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research
Co., 2001.
|
061.3 E56 |
| Facts on Grants. Flint, Mich.: Charles Stewart Mott Foundation, latest edition only. | 361.763 C477f |
|
Ferguson, Jacqueline and Michael V. Gershowitz. Grantseeker's
Answer Book. Alexandria, Va. : Capitol Publications, 1995. |
001.44 F352g |
| Foundation Reporter. Rockville, MD : Taft Group, 2001. | 361.763202573 T124 |
|
Fulk, Austin and Stuart Nolan. Patterns of Corporate Philanthropy.
Washington, DC : Capital Research Center, 1996. |
361.7650973 F964p |
| Giving USA. New York : American Association of Fund-Raising Counsel, 2000. | 361.70973 G539 |
| Grassroots Fundraising Journal. San Francisco, CA : Grassroots Fundraising Journal. | 361.7005 G769 |
| Matching Gift Details. Washington, DC : Council for Advancement & Support of Education, 1997. | 361.7650973 M4252m |
|
Mudd, Mollie. The Grantseeker's Handbook of Essential Internet
Sites. Gaithersburg, MD : Aspen Pub., 2001. |
361.70681 G764 |
| Pacific Northwest Grantmakers Forum. Seattle, Wash. : The Forum, 2003. | 361.7632 P117p |
| Public Interest Profiles. Washington, D.C. : Foundation for Public Affairs., 2002. | 322.430973 P976 |
| Anderson, Albert. Ethics for Fundraisers. Bloomington, Ind. : Indiana University Press, 1996. | 174.9361 A545e |
|
Bernstein, Philip. Best Practices of Effective Nonprofit Organizations.
New York : Foundation Center, 1997. |
658.048 B531b |
|
Bremser, Wayne G. What a Difference Understanding Makes: Making
Public Disclosures. Washington, D.C. : Accountants for the Public Interest, 1994. |
657.98 B836w |
|
Carver, John. Your Roles and Responsibilities as a Board Member.
San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, 1996. |
658.422 C331y |
|
Ellis, Susan J. Volunteer Recruitment and Membership Development
Book. 2nd ed. Philadelphia, PA : Energize, 1996. |
361.37068 E47v 1996 |
|
Graham, Christine P. Blueprint for a Capital Campaign: An Introduction
for Board Members, Volunteers, and Staff. Shaftsbury, VT : CPG Enterprises, 1997. |
658.15224 G738b |
|
Hopkins, Bruce R. Legal Answer Book for Nonprofit Organizations.
New York : J. Wiley, 1996. |
346.73064 H793Le |
|
Hopkins, Bruce R. Second Legal Answer Book for Nonprofit Organizations.
New York :J. Wiley, 1999. |
346.73064 H793Le |
|
Job Descriptions for Board Officers and Committtee Members.
Frederick, MD : Aspen, 1993. |
O60 J62 |
|
Mancuso, Anthony. How to Form a Nonprofit Corporation. Rev.
4th ed. Berkeley, CA : Nolo Press, 2002. |
346.73064 M269h |
|
O'Connell, Brian. The Board Member's Book: Making a Difference
in Voluntary Organizations. 2nd ed. New York : Foundation Center, 2003. |
361.7 O18b |
|
Zeitlin, Kim Arthur. Nonprofit Board's Guide to Bylaws. Washington,
D.C. : National Center for Nonprofit Boards, 1996. |
658.048 Z48n |
PUBLIC RELATIONS for NONPROFITS
|
Brinckerhoff, Peter C. Mission-based Marketing : How Your Not-for-Profit
Can Succeed in a More Competitive World. Dillon, Colo. : Alpine Guild, 1997. |
658.8 B8577m |
| Klein, Kim. Fundraising for the Long Haul. Berkeley, CA : Chardon Press, 2000. | 361.70681 K64fu |
|
Kuniholm, Roland. Complete Book of Model Fund-raising Letters.
Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Prentice Hall, 1995. |
808.066361 K96c |
|
Lautman, Kay Partney and Henry Goldstein. Dear Friend: Mastering
the Art of Direct Mail Fund Raising. 2nd ed. Rockville, Md.: Fund Raising Institute, 1991. |
658.15224 L389d |
|
M. Booth & Associates, Inc. Promoting Issues and Ideas : A Guide
to Public Relations for Nonprofit Organizations. 2nd ed. New York : Foundation Center, 1995. |
659.228 P965 |
|
Reiss, Alvin H. Don't Just Applaud, Send Money. New York : Theatre
Communications Group, 1995. |
700.681 R378d |
|
Reuschling, Cindy and Chuck Elliot, editors. Aspen's Guide to
60 Successful Special Events. Gaithersburg, Md. : Aspen Publishers, 1996. |
658.15224 A838 |
|
Saasta, Timothy. How to Tell and Sell Your Story : A Guide to
Media for Groups and Other Nonprofits. Washington, DC : Center for Community Change, 1997. |
302.23 S112h |
|
Cumulative list of organizations described in section 170 (c)
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954. Washington, D.C. : Dept. of the Treasury, Internal Revenue Service, 2001. |
T 22.2/11 |
|
Dumouchel, J. Robert. Government Assistance Almanac. 15th ed.
Detroit, MI : Omnigraphics, 2001. |
353.0082025 G721 |
| Federal Support for Nonprofits. Washington, D.C. : Taft Group, 1996. | 361.6 F293 |
|
Sourcebook of State Public Records: The Definitive Guide to
Searching for Public Information at the State Level. Tempe, Ariz. : BRB Publications, 1998. |
352.387 S724 |
| 990-PF Internal Revenue Service Summaries. Ogden, Utah : Internal Revenue Service | http://fdncenter.org/funders/grantsmart/index.html |
SPECIALIZED GRANTMAKER DIRECTORIES
To focus your search for grantmakers interested in your field, combine your specific terms in the following ways, e.g.
| Directory ( or use Funding or use Grants) | AND | Technology |
| Directory ( or use Funding or use Grants) | AND | Humanities |
| Directory ( or use Funding or use Grants) | AND | Environmental Protection |
| Directory ( or use Funding or use Grants) | AND | Native Americans |
| Directory of Building and Equipment Grants. Loxahatchee, Fla. : Research Grant Guides, 1996. | 361.7 D598 |
| Directory of Operating Grants. Loxahatchee, Fla. : Research Grant Guides, 1998. | 361.763 D598 |
| Directory of Research Grants. Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 2000. | 001.44 D5984 |
| Funding Sources for Community and Economic Development. Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 1998 | 307.14 F981 |
| Grant$ for Program Evaluation. New York : Foundation Center, 2000. | 001.44 G7677 |
| Grant$ for Technical Assistance/Management Support. New York : Foundation Center, latest edition only. | 001.44 G767 |
| Program Evaluation Grants. New York : Foundation Center, 1997. | 361.7632 P764 |
|
Burns, Michael E. Proposal Writer's Guide. Rev. ed., New Haven,
Conn.: Development & Technical Assistance Center, 1994. |
808.0663 B967p |
|
Geever, Jane C. Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing.
3rd ed. New York : Foundation Center, 2001. |
658.15224 G298f |
|
Hale, Phale D. Writing Grant Proposals That Win. Alexandria,
VA : Capitol Publications, 1997. |
658.15224 H163w |
|
Levy, Barbara R., editor and R.L. Cherry, lexicography editor.
The NSFRE Fund-Raising Dictionary (National Society Fund-Raising Executives). New York : Wiley, 1996. |
658.15224 N111 |
|
Reif-Lehrer, Liane. Grant Application Writer's Handbook. Boston
: Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 1995. |
808.06661 R361w |
|
Robinson, Andy. Grassroots Grants : An Activist's Guide to Proposal
Writing. Berkeley, Calif : Chardon Press, 2004. |
658.15224 P6583g |
| Ostrower, Francie. Why the Wealthy Give. Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, 1995. | 361.74 O85w |
| Practical Guide to Planned Giving. Rockville, Md. : The Taft Group, 1998. | 361.70681 P895 |
|
Rhoads, Paul K. and Stephanie H. Denby. Starting a Private Foundation:
Carrying Out the Donor's Intent. Washington, D.C. : Philanthropy Roundtable, 1997. |
361.7632 R474s |
|
Smith, Amy Sherman and Matthew D. Lehrer. Legacies for Libraries
: A Practical Guide to Planned Giving. Chicago : American Library Association, 2000. |
025.11 S642L |
| White, Douglas E. Art of Planned Giving. New York : J. Wiley, 1995. | 658.5224 W583a |
Last Updated: 12-2006.

