Mansfield Library Subject Guides
Forestry Information Resources
Prepared by: Barry Brown,
Science Librarian (406) 243-6811
August 2000
Thank you for reporting invalid addresses or suggesting new additions to this list.
- Associations & Organizations
- Directories & Handbooks & Guides
- Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Fire Information & Research
- Forestry-Directories, Indexes & Subject Guides
- GIS/ Maps/ Remote Sensing
- Government Documents
- Leisure Studies & Recreation Management
- Organismal Biology & Ecology
- Other Indexes & Abstracts to the Literature
- Primary Indexes & Abstracts to the Literature
- Statistics & Economics & Forest Products
- Urban
Forestry
| Agricola |
Electronic Resources :
1979 - present Comprehensive agriculture, forestry (includes USFS research), grazing, resource management |
| Biological Abstracts |
Electronic Resources :
1980 - present Paper: 1926 - present 574 B615 Lv.5 Biweekly with concept heading arrangement. 6 month cumulative indexes. Comprehensive biological research literature: journal articles Indexes: author, subject, biosystematic, generic |
| Biological & Agricultural Index |
Electronic Resources :
1983 - present Paper: 1916 - 1992 630.5 X B615 Lv. 5 General biology and agriculture |
Forestry
Bibliographies (Univ. of Minn.)
| |
| |
http://forestry.lib.umn.edu/bib/SSiF.html:
1985 - present |
| Maintenance Bibl. |
http://forestry.lib.umn.edu/bib/trls.html
: 1984 - present |
| Development Bibliography |
http://forestry.lib.umn.edu/bib/trps.html
: 1992 - present |
| |
http://forestry.lib.umn.edu/bib/urban.html
: 1982 - present |
| Plant Science |
Electronic Resources :
1994 - present General botany and plant science |
| TreeCD |
Electronic Resources :
1939 - present Comprehensive forestry literature. Indexes: author, subject |
| |
Paper: 1939 - present 634.905 F7182 Lv. 5-Oversize |
| |
Paper: 1978 - present 634.9805 F7166 Lv.5 |
| Wildlife Worldwide | Electronic
Resources :
1935 - present Wildlife Abstracts 1935 - present I 49.17/2 Lv.1 -Gov. Docs. Cumulative index to Wildlife Review. Comprehensive wildlife literature (includes USFWS research) Indexes: author, subject, geographic, systematic |
| WorldCat |
Electronic Resources :
all time periods Library Union Catalog : Paper: I 49.17/2 Lv.1 -Gov. Docs. Books, state & federal government documents, media, dissertations, etc. |
| Zoological Record |
Electronic Resources :
1978 - present Paper: 1992 - present 590 X Z87 - Lv. 5 Comprehensive taxonomic literature. Selective zoological literature. Yearly: phylogenetic sections: protozoa, aves, etc. Indexes: author, subject, geographic, paleontologic, systematic, documents, media, dissertations, etc. |
| Index or Database |
article citation ======> |
Check Journal
List |
======> | Journal
in stacks or E-Journal |
Return to the Top
OTHER INDEXES & ABSTRACTS TO THE LITERATURE
| Academic Index |
Electronic Resources
General magazine journal index (some full text articles) |
| Applied Science & Technology Index |
Electronic Resources
General index to all areas applied science (some full text articles) |
| Business Index |
Electronic Resources
Business magazine/journal index (some full text articles) |
| Plant Science Catalog |
1903 - 1958 580 X U58p Lv.5-Oversize Botany Subject Index. Older botanical literature. |
| Chemical Abstracts |
540.5 C5171b Lv.5 Comprehensive chemical literature |
| Conference Papers Index |
Electronic Resources
Papers, poster sessions at scientific meetings |
|
CSA Science & Environmental Databases - Biological Sciences |
Electronic Resources
Biological research (includes Entomology Abstracts) |
|
CSA Science & Environmental Databases - Environmental & Pollution Management Group |
Electronic Resources
Pollution Research |
| Current Research Information System - CRIS | http://www.nal.usda.gov/ttic/coagra/cris.htm |
| Dissertations, Proquest Digitial |
Electronic Resources
Paper: 378.2 D613 Lv. 2 Comprehensive PhD Index |
| Environmental Routenet |
Electronic Resources
Current environmental news, information, legislation |
| Fire Effects Information System |
http://www.fs.fed.us/database/feis/
Plants and animals |
| Funded Research - US | http://www.cos.com/ |
| GeoRef |
Electronic Resources
Comprehensive geology, hydrology, paleontology |
| Government Documents Index U.S. |
Electronic Resources
Government Agency research |
| Index Kewensis (CD-Rom) |
582 I38 1997 - Lv.3- Information Center; use on Reference Specialized Resources Computer. Plant nomenclature |
| Ingenta Gateway |
Electronic Resources
Journal table of contents, general index, document delivery service |
| Newsbank |
Electronic Resources
Newspaper index, full text |
| NTIS |
Electronic Resources
U.S. Government sponsored science & technology research |
| PsycInfo |
Electronic Resources
Comprehensive psychology & leisure studies |
| Science Citation Index |
500 X S4163 Lv.5 -Oversize Allows "cycling forward" from a previous citation to those citing it |
| Sociological Abstracts |
Electronic Resources
Comprehensive sociology |
| Sport Discus |
Electronic Resources
Sport physiology & medicine & general sports and recreation information |
| Water Resources Routenet |
Electronic Resources
Hydrology and water research information and news |
Return to the Top
ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES
| Botanical Latin | 580.14 S799 1992 Lv.3-Reference |
| Concise Dictionary of Biology | 574.03 C744 Lv.3-Reference |
| The Concise Dictionary of Botany | 581.03 C744 Lv.3-Reference |
| The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Zoology | 591.03 C744 - Lv.3-Reference |
| Concise Encyclopedia Biochemistry | 574.192 B864e 1988 - Lv.5 |
| Concise Encyclopedia Biology | 574.03 A111 Lv.3-Reference |
| Dictionary of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics | 570.3 L738d Lv.3-Reference |
| Dictionary of Forestry | 634.903 T319 Lv.3-Reference |
| A Dictionary of Genetics | 575.103 K54d Lv.3-Reference |
| Dictionary of Natural Resource Management | 333.703 D926d Lv.2 |
| Dictionary of Plant Toxins | 615.952 D554 Lv.3-Reference |
| A Dictionary of Zoology | 590.3 L495d Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science | 630.3 E56 Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Biostatistics | 610.72 E56 Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology | 574.503 E56 Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Horticulture | 635.903 E93n Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Medicinal Plants | 615.3203 C527 Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Microbiology | 576.03 E56 Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology | 574.8803 E56 Lv.3-Reference |
| Encyclopedia of World Timbers | 634.97 B778e Lv.3-Reference |
| Forestry Glossaries |
http://www.uwasa.fi/comm/termino/ collect/forestry.html |
| Global Biodiversity: status.... | 333.9511 G562 Lv.2 |
| Glossary of Forestry Terms |
http://www.for.gov.bc.ca/pab/publctns/ glossary/glossary.htm |
| Life Science Dictionary |
http://biotech.icmb.utexas.edu/search/ dict-search.html |
| McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Environmental Science | 304.203 M147 Lv.2 |
| Natural Resources | 333.703 N285 Lv.2 |
|
Terminology of Forest Science: Technology, Practice and Byproducts |
634.903 T319 Lv.5 |
|
Wiley Encyclopedia of Environmental Pollution and Cleanup |
628.5 M6138 Lv.3-Reference |
Return to the Top
DIRECTORIES & HANDBOOKS & GUIDES
| Beacham's
International Threatened, Endangered, & Extinct Species |
IM 088 : CD-Rom at Information Center-Lv.3; load on Specialized Resources Computer |
|
Biodiversity and Conservation - hypertext - college |
http://darwin.bio.uci.edu/~sustain/bio65/ Titlpage.htm |
|
CBE Style Manual: a Guide for Authors, .... in the Biological Sciences |
686.2252 C855c Lv.3-Reference |
| Endangered Species Home Page | http://endangered.fws.gov/index.html |
| Environment on File | 333.7 E614 Lv.2-Oversize |
| Forestry Handbook | 634.9 F718 Lv.3-Reference |
| Global Biodiversity: status ... | 333.9511 G562 Lv.2 |
|
Guide to Information Sources in the Botanical Sciences |
581 X D261g Lv.3-Reference |
| A Guide to the Zoological Literature | 591 X B433 Lv.3-Reference |
| A Handbook of Biological Investigation | 574.01 A496h Lv.5 |
| Information Sources in the Life Sciences | 570 X I43 Lv.3-Reference |
|
The Island Press Bibliography of Environmental Literature |
333.7 x I82 Lv.2 |
| Library Research Guide to Biology | 574.072 K59L Lv.3-Reference |
| The Literature of Forestry and Agroforestry | 634.9 L776 Lv.3-Reference |
| Using the Biological Literature | 574.0724 D261u Lv.5 |
Return to the Top
ASSOCIATIONS & ORGANIZATIONS
| Aldo Leopold Wilderness Research Institute | http://www.wilderness.net/leopold/ |
| Canadian Forest Service |
http://www.nrcan-rncan.gc.ca/cfs-scf/
index_e.html |
| FAO - Forestry | http://www.fao.org/forestry |
| IUFRO Intl. Union of Forestry Research Organizations | http://iufro.boku.ac.at/ |
| Montana DNRC - Forestry Division |
http://www.dnrc.state.mt.us/forestry/
index.htm |
| Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks | http://www.fwp.state.mt.us/ |
| Montana Natural Resources Information System | http://www.nris.state.mt.us/ |
| Naive Forest Network | http://www.nativeforest.org/ |
| Silva Forest Foundation | http://www.silvafor.org/ |
| Society of American Foresters | http://www.safnet.org/ |
| Society of American Foresters - MT Chapter | http://www.forestry.umt.edu/hosting/saf/ |
| UM - Riparian and Wetland Research Program | http://www.rwrp.umt.edu/ |
| U.S. Bureau of Land Management | http://www.blm.gov/ |
| U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service | http://www.fws.gov/ |
| U.S.F.S. - Rocky MT Research Station - RMRS | http://www.fs.fed.us/ |
| U.S.F.S. - RMRS - Fire Sciences Lab | http://firelab.org/ |
| U.S. Park Service | http://www.nps.gov/ |
| The Wildlife Society | http://www.wildlife.org/ |
| Subject
Headings- partial list to use when searching journal indexes or Library Catalog: forest fire, forest fires, wildfire, wildfires, burning, fire ecology |
Specialized
Magazine/ Journals- browsing examples: Fire Management Notes; International Journal of Wildland Fire |
| Canadian Wildfire Network |
http://www.denendeh.com/flycolor/wildfire/ index.htm |
| Earth Observatory | http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/ |
| Fire Ecology Database | http://www.ttrs.org/feco.html |
| FireNet Virtual Library | http://lorenz.mur.csu.edu.au/fire/library.html |
| Global Fire Net | http://www.umt.edu/globalfirenet/ |
| Montana Fires | http://www.montanafires.com/ |
| References on the American Indian Use of Fire ... |
http://wings.buffalo.edu/academic/department/ anthropology/Documents/firebib |
Return to the Top
FORESTRY - DIRECTORIES & INDEXES & SUBJECT GUIDES
Return to the Top
GIS/MAPS/REMOTE SENSING
| Geographic Information System | http://www.usgs.gov/research/gis/title.html |
| GISLinx | http://www.gislinx.com/ |
| Landsat 7 | http://landsat7.usgs.gov/ |
| Maps and GIS Resources InfoMine | http://infomine.ucr.edu/cgi-bin/search?maps |
| Montana Topographical Maps | http://nris.state.mt.us/nsdi/drg.html |
| Remote Sensing Virtual Library | http://www.vtt.fi/tte/research/tte1/tte14/virtual/ |
| TerraServer.com - Aerial Imagery | http://www.terraserver.com/ |
| UM, Numerical Terradynamic Simulation Group | http://www.forestry.umt.edu/ntsg/default.htm |
|
The University of Montana, School of Forestry - GIS Links |
http://www.forestry.umt.edu/infotech/gis/links.htm |
Return to the Top
LEISURE STUDIES & RECREATION MANAGEMENT
| Subject
Headings- partial list to use when searching journal indexes or Library Catalog: recreation; leisure |
Specialized Magazine/ Journals- browsing examples: Journal of Leisure Research; Leisure Sciences |
| America's Wilderness: the complete guide ... | 796.5 T581a Lv.3-Reference |
| GORP Great Outdoors Recreation Page | http://www.gorp.com/ |
| Hiking and Backpacking |
http://home.earthlink.net/~knapke/
hike001.htm |
| Hiking Trails, Western U.S. | 917.8 R161h Lv.3-Reference |
| Leisure Studies Web Links |
http://www.gu.edu.au/school/lst/ services/lswp/resfrme.htm |
| National Survey of Fishing, Hunting,...Wildlife... |
http://www.census.gov/prod/
www/abs/fishing.html |
| Outdoor Recreation Research | http://www4.ncsu.edu/~leung/recres.html |
| Park Search L.L. Bean | http://www.llbean.com/parksearch/ |
| Parks Directory of the U.S. | 790.068 S645p Lv.3-Reference |
|
Recreation.Gov Recreational Opportunities on Federal Lands |
http://www.Recreation.gov/ |
| UM - Institute for Tourism & Recreation Research |
http://www.forestry.umt.edu/research/ MFCES/programs/itrr/ |
| Wilderness Information Network | http://www.wilderness.net/ |
Return to the Top
ORGANISMAL BIOLOGY & ECOLOGY
Return to the Top
STATISTICS & ECONOMICS & FOREST PRODUCTS
URBAN FORESTRY
|
Subject Headings- partial list to use when searching journal indexes or Library Catalog: urban forestry; trees in cities; community forestry; tree planting; vegetation management |
Specialized Magazine/ Journals- browsing examples: Tree Planters' Notes; Urban Forests |
| Tree Link | http://www.treelink.org/ |
| Urban Forest Bibliography | http://forestry.lib.umn.edu/bib/urban.html |
| Urban Forestry About.com |
http://forestry.about.com/cs/urbanforestry/index_2.htm? terms=urban+forestry |
| Urban Forestry Forestry Agnic | http://forestry.lib.umn.edu/agnic/urban.html |
| Urban Forestry Forestry Virtual Library | http://www.metla.fi/info/vlib/Forestry/Topic/Urban/ |
GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS -- Level 1
| U.S.
Government Documents: Uses a different classification system from the rest of the library. The Government Printing Office uses the "Superintendent of Documents" or SuDocs system. Call numbers begin with a letter which corresponds to an agency, e.g. "A" for the Department of Agriculture.
Listings of U.S. Government documents, from 1976 - present,
appear in the :
|
| U.S.
Forest and Range Experiment Stations:
|
| NOTE: the station initials are needed to find the following list of publications: |
| Research Papers | A 13.78 | Initials of station and number of paper |
| Research Notes | A 13.79 | Initials of station and number of paper |
| Resource Bulletin | A 13.80 | Initials of station and number of paper |
| General Technical Reports | A 13.88 | Initials of station and number of paper |

