Subject Guide: Environmental Studies Information Resources | Mansfield Library | The University of Montana-Missoula

The University of Montana Libraries—Missoula

Mansfield Library subject guides

ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES INFORMATION RESOURCES

Prepared by: Barry Brown, Science Librarian, (406) 243-6811
July 2000

Thank you for reporting invalid addresses or suggesting new additions to this list.


INDEXES & ABSTRACTS TO THE LITERATURE
          

Academic Index Electronic Resources ; 1980- ,
General Periodical Index; Some Full Text Articles
Agricola Electronic Resources ; 1979- ,
Comprehensive Forestry, Agriculture, Grazing,
USFS Research
Applied Science & Technology Index Electronic Resources ;
Paper: 600 X A652 Lv.5 ; 1958-1992
Biological Abstracts Electronic Resources 1980- ;
Paper: 574 X B615
Lv.3-Reference: current year ;
Lv.5 : back issues from 1926- ,
Comprehensive Biology & Botany
Business Index Electronic Resources ; 1982- ,
General Business & Company Index;
Some Full Text Articles
Chemical Abstracts Paper : see Chemical Abstracts
540.5 C5171 - Lv.5;
1907-Jan 2001 ;

Electronic : see SciFinder Scholar
on the Library's Public Computers

Frequency : weekly, 6 month and
5 year cumulative indexes 

Indexes: author, general subject, chemical 
substance, formula, ring systems, patent 

Comprehensive Chemistry Literature

CSA - Biological Sciences Electronic Resources ; 1982 - , includes:
  • ASFA 1 = Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts:
    Biological Sciences & Living Resources

  • Bioengineering Abstracts
CSA - Environmental Sciences &
Pollution Management
Electronic Resources ; 1981 - , includes:
  • Agricultural & Environmental
    Biotechnology Abstracts
  • ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution &
    Environmental Quality
  • Ecology Abstracts
  • EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact
    Statements
  • Environmental Engineering Abstracts
  • Pollution Abstracts
  • Risk Abstracts
  • Toxicology Abstracts
  • Water Resources Abstracts
Dissertations, Proquest Digital Electronic Resources;
Paper: 378.2 X D613 Lv.2 ;
Index to Dissertations and some Theses
Environmental Routenet Electronic Resources ;
Current information on Environmental Topics
GeoRef Electronic Resources ; 1785 - ,
Comprehensive Geology, Hydrology, Climatology
Government Documents Index Electronic Resources ; 1976 - ,
U.S. Government Publications
Ingenta Gateway http://www.lib.umt.edu/ ; 1989 - ,
Indexes 20,000 journals with good coverage
of environmental philosophy
Leisuretourism (formerly TourCD) Electronic Resources ; 1959 - ;
Leisure, Recreation, Sport, Tourism
and Cultural Industries
PubMed Electronic Resources ; 1966 - ,
Comprehensive Medical & Health Literature
Sociological Abstracts Electronic Resources ;
Paper: 301 X S678- Lv.2 ; 1953 - 1993 ;
Comprehensive Sociology
TreeCD Electronic Resources ;
Paper (Forestry Abstracts) :
634.905 F7182 Lv.5-Oversize ; 1939 - ,
Comprehensive Forestry
Wildlife Worldwide Electronic Resources ; 1935 - ,
Comprehensive Wildlife Information,
USFWS Research
Worldcat Electronic Resources ;
Books & journal holdings from national &
international libraries

  Index
or
Database
article
citation
======>
Check Journal List
======> Journal in
 stacks or
E-Journal

Return to Top


NEWSPAPER INDEXESnote: "Library Catalog" is the Mansfield Library catalog available through: http://www.lib.umt.edu
- Newspapers can serve as good sources of information for current environmental topics and events and / or for local or regional topics and events.
Bozeman Daily Chronicle / Great Falls Tribune Index http://fusion.lib.montana.edu/newspapers/
Christian Science Monitor 071.44 C555 Lv.4 ; 1987 -
London Times 072 T583i Lv.4-Oversize
Missoulian Index http://www.lib.umt.edu via Library Catalog ;
Other Locations - Missoula Public Library
Newsbank Electronic Resources ;
Full Text Articles from many national newspapers
New York Times 071.471 N532 Lv.4-Oversize ; 1913 -
Wall Street Journal 071.471 W187 Lv.4 ; 1955 -
Washington Post 071.53 W319 Lv.4 ; 1989 -

Return to Top

ENCYCLOPEDIAS & HANDBOOKS

Atlas of the Environment 333.70223 L437a Lv.3-Reference
Beacham's Guide to Environmental
Issues & Sources
363.7 B365 Lv.2
EIS: Cumulative
( Digests of Environmental Impact Statements )
333.7 X E11 Lv.2
Encycl. of Energy Technology & the Environment 333.7903 E56 Lv.2
Encycl. of Environmental Analysis & Remediation 628 E56 Lv.3-Reference
Encycl. of Environmental Biology 574.503 E56 Lv.3-Reference
Encycl. of Physical Science & Technology 503 E56 Lv.3-Reference
Environment on File 333.7 E614 Lv.2-Oversize
Environmental Encyclopedia 363.7503 E61 Lv.2
The Environmentalists: a Biographical Dictionary... 363.750922 A969e Lv.2
Gale Environmental Almanac 363.750973 G151 Lv.2
Global Biodiversity : status ... 333.9511 G562 Lv.2
Great Events From History II.
Ecology and the Environment Series
363.7 G786 Lv.2
The Island Press Bibliography of
Environmental Literature
333.7 X I82 Lv.2
McGraw-Hill Encycl. of Environmental Science 304.203 M147 Lv.2
National Library for the Environment http://www.cnie.org/
OECD Environmental Data 363.73 O11 Lv.2
Species Information Electronic Resources ;
Detailed records on North American
faunal species
The Official WWF Guide to Endangered Species
of North America
574.529097 O32 Lv.3-Reference
Terms of Environment - EPA Dictionary http://www.epa.gov/OCEPAterms/
Wiley Encycl. of Environmental
Pollution & Cleanup
628.5 M6138w Lv.3-Reference
World Resources 333.705 W927 Lv.2

Return to Top

DIRECTORIES

Conservation Directory 639.9025 C755 Lv.3-Reference
Conservation Education Resources
Directory - Montana
333.7207 C755 Lv.1-S Collection
Directory of State Environmental Agencies 353.9382321 D598 Lv.3-Reference
Environmental Careers Organization http://www.nceet.snre.umich.edu
Environmental Organization Directory http://www.webdirectory.com/
The Guide to Graduate Environmental Programs 363.750711 G946
Lv.3-Reference , Table 1
The Nature Directory: a Guide to Environmental
Organizations
363.75025 L287n Lv.2
People of Color Environmental Groups Directory 333.72025 P419 Lv.3-Reference
Rocky Mountain Environmental Directory 333.720978025 R684 Lv.2
Who is Who in Service to the Earth 304.2 W628 Lv.2
Your Resource Guide to Environmental Organizations 333.72025 Y81 Lv.2
World Directory of Environmental Organizations 333.72025 W927 Lv.3-Reference

Return to Top

CHEMICAL & TOXICOLOGY INFORMATION / DATABASES

Acute Toxicity Database - USGS http://www.cerc.usgs.gov/data/acute/acute.html
Biological Indicators - Watershed http://www.epa.gov/bioindicators/
ChemFinder (Chemical Database) http://chemfinder.cambridgesoft.com/
The Chemical Scorecard http://www.scorecard.org/
Comprehensive Toxicology 615.9 C737 Lv.3-Reference
CRC Handbook of Pesticides 615.902 C111 Lv.3-Reference
Dictionary of Toxicology 615.9003 D5547 Lv.3-Reference
EnviroFacts (EPA Databases) http://www.epa.gov/enviro/html/ef_query.html
Environmental Contaminants Encycl. http://www1.nature.nps.gov/toxic/index.html
Environmental Information & Statistics http://www.epa.gov/ceisweb1/ceishome/
ceis_home.html
Extension Toxicology Network http://ace.orst.edu/info/extoxnet/
Food News (food - pesticides - toxins) http://www.foodnews.org/
Hazardous Chemicals Database http://ull.chemistry.uakron.edu/erd/
HazDat (Superfund Hazardous Chem) http://www.atsdr.cdc.gov/hazdat.html
Illust. Handbook of Physical-Chemical Properties &
Environ. Fate for Organic Chemistry
628.52 M153i Lv.5
IUPAC Organic & Biochemical Nomenclature http://www.chem.qmw.ac.uk/iupac/
Materials Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) http://www.ucop.edu/riskmgt/ohp/msds.html
Stratospheric Ozone & Human Health http://sedac.ciesin.columbia.edu/ozone/
Toxic Waste Sites: an Encyclopedia... 363.7384 C899t Lv.3-Reference
Toxline & Toxicology Abstracts Electronic Resources
TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/

Return to Top

LEGAL INFORMATION & INDEXES

Federal Register AE 2.106: Lv.1-Government Documents
FindLaw (& LawCrawler) http://www.findlaw.com/
The Environmental Dictionary & Regulatory
Cross Reference
344.73046 K53e Lv.2
Environmental Law - VL http://www.law.indiana.edu/v-lib/#b
Environmental Treaties http://sedac.ciesin.org/entri/
International Protection of the Environment 341.762 I61 Lv.2
Internet Law Library http://www.nsulaw.nova.edu/library/ushouse/
Montana Administrative Register 353.9 S2m Lv.3-Reference
Montana Code Annotated Electronic Resources ;
Paper: 342.786 L12m Lv.3-Reference
Montana Environmental Law Handbook 344.786046 M7643 Lv.3-Reference
Montana Legal Information http://www.lawlibrary.state.mt.us/
State Legal Resources http://www.findlaw.com/11stategov/index.html
United States Code Electronic Resources ;
Paper: Y 1.2/5: Lv.1-Government Documents

Return to Top

INTERNET GUIDES

Eco-Data: using your PC to obtain free
environmental information
333.70285416 E19 Lv.2
Environmental Guide to the Internet 363.7 S393e Lv.2
Environmental Management Tools on the Internet 363.7 K19en Lv.2

Return to Top

INTERNET ENVIRONMENTAL INFORMATION RESOURCES -- Comprehensive Sites

Botany (Internet Directory) http://www.ou.edu/cas/botany-micro/idb-alpha/botany.html
Ecology & Biodiversity - Virtual Library http://www.conbio.net/VL/browse/
Clearinghouse (Guides) - Environment http://www.clearinghouse.net/
Earth Alert http://dsc.discovery.com/news/ earthalert/ea20010411.html
EcoNet http://www.igc.org/igc/gateway/enindex.html
Energy (Global Marketplace) http://www.crest.org/gem.html
EnviroLink http://envirolink.netforchange.com/
Environment Australia http://www.ea.gov.au/
Environmental Directories http://www.ulb.ac.be/ceese/meta/cds.html
Environmental Education http://www.nceet.snre.umich.edu/
Environmental Ethics http://ecoethics.net
Environmental Journalism http://www.sej.org/
Environmental Journals on the Net http://www.cnie.org/NLE/Links/
Environmental Sites on the Internet http://www.lib.kth.se/~lg/envsite.htm
Environment - Virtual Library http://www.earthsystems.org/virtuallibrary/index.html
European Environment Agency http://www.eea.eu.int/
Sustainable Development - Virtual Library http://www.ulb.ac.be/ceese/meta/sustvl.html
Urban Environmental Management -
Virtual Library
http://www.gdrc.org/uem/
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency http://www.epa.gov/

Return to Top