Mansfield Library Subject Guides
Industry Research
Compiled by Steve McCann, Business Librarian,
steve.mccann.umontana.edu, 406-243-4564
Industry research is a multi-step process, requiring synthesis of data from multiple sources, both primary and secondary. Beginning with established broader sources such as industry overviews and forecasts, refine your analysis with updated and specialized information in the form of articles, market research, association data and current statistics. For physical items, locations are as follows: INFOCTR: Information Center, main floor; REF: Reference Stacks, main floor; STX: Circulating Stacks; FICHE: Microfiche and Microfilm, first floor; GOVDOCS: Government Documents, first floor. Also see the Basic Business Research guide.
INDUSTRY PROFILES
Return to TopEncyclopedia of American Industries
REF 330.973 S637Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys (ongoing)
REF 332.63 S785s
The first stop for industry information. Gives a comprehensive overview of 51 industries, profiling major companies and pointers to sources of additional industry information. Consult the Company Index for a list of industries and publication dates.U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook
INFOCTR C61.48
Industry information and trends.U.S. Market Trends And Forecasts
REF 658.83 U117
Overviews and market projections for over 400 industries.Value Line Investment Survey
INFOCTR 332.63 V215
Stock information and advice regarding companies, industries, stock markets and the economy.
SPECIFIC INDUSTRIES
The Mansfield Library also has individual resources that have in-depth industry information. To find these materials, search the library's catalog. Using advanced search:
| almanacs - | encyclopedias - | directories - | | any of these words | | subject keyword |
| [your industry] | | any of these words | | subject keyword | ||
NEWS AND TRENDS
Return to TopBusiness Source Premier (EBSCO) [Once on the webpage, click on letter B]
As the world's largest full text business database, Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 3,600 scholarly business journals, including full text for nearly 1,050 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 300 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. Also contains WEFA Industry profiles. From Advanced Search, Select SO Journal_Name, type Industry Yearbook, click Search.Factiva [Once on the webpage, click on letter F]
A global news and business information database; includes full-text of Wall Street Journal and other Dow Jones publications. Also contains company and industry information from Hoovers.Lexis Nexis Academic [Once on the webpage, click on letter L]
Accesses over a billion full-text news, magazine, legal, and business articles and reports, including newspapers, magazines and government documents, state and federal laws and regulations, case law, newsletters, company and industry information.Predicasts PROMT [Once on the website, click on letter P]
Contains articles from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, newspapers, industry newsletters, market research studies, news releases and investment and brokerage firm reports.Business Full Coverage (Yahoo! Daily News)
Collected articles, web pages and resources for areas of business interest, including individual industries.PR Newswire
Press releases covering the automotive, entertainment, healthcare/biotech, technology, financial and energy industries.
STATISTICS
Return to TopBusiness Statistics of the United States
REF 338.0021 B979County Business Patterns
INFOCTR C 3.204/ 5:
An annual supplement to the Economic Census, County Business Patterns gives economic information at the sub-national level.Market Share Reporter
REF 381.05 M3455Standard & Poor's Statistical Service (ongoing)
REF 330.973 S785c
Current statistics for ten basic industry groups. Statistics covered include production, prices, and exports. See also Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys, Monthly Investment Review.Statistical Abstract Of The United States
INFOCTR C 3.134:
Industry and demographic information - good for hard-to-find statistics.United States Census Bureau
Statistics for industry, business, trade, transportation, population, and housing.
COMPANIES
D&B Business Rankings
REF 338.74 D926
Rankings of larger U.S. companies by two-digit SIC codes, by industry, by size, and by state.Mergent's Industry Review
REF 332.6 M8177
Ranking, key financial information, operating data and ratios of companies within 100+ industries.
Return
to Top
RATIOS
Return to TopBusiness Ratios and Formulas: a Comprehensive Guide
REF 650.01513 B8133bAlmanac Of Business And Industrial Financial Ratios (Troy's)
REF 338.50973 A445
Financial ratios for 170 industries, sorted by SIC Code.Industry Norms And Key Business Ratios (Dun and Bradstreet)
REF 338.0973 I423
Financial ratios for over 600 lines of business. Organized by SIC code.RMA Annual Statement Studies
REF 657.3 R642s
Contains composite financial data on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting lines of business. Arranged by SIC code, this work makes it possible to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business.
ASSOCIATIONS
Return to TopEncyclopedia of Associations
REF 061.3 E56
Detailed information on over 22,000 non-profit associations. Separate volumes for international, national and regional/local associations. The Encyclopedia of International Associations is available at REF 060.3 E56World Guide To Trade Associations
REF 380.1025 W92752
International list of industry and trade associations.Associations On The Net
A collection of over 2000 association and organization Internet sites. The sites are grouped by categories such as business, industry, and labor. Each category is searchable. Contents include links to and descriptions of associations. Especially useful for finding trade associations for specific industries.Gateway To Associations
Index to trade, industry, and professional association Web sites.
(9/04)

