Subject Guide: Demographic Research | Mansfield Library | The University of Montana-Missoula

The University of Montana Libraries—Missoula

Mansfield Library Subject Guides

Printable PDF version

Demographic Research
Compiled by Steve McCann, Business Librarian,
steve.mccann@umontana.edu, 406-243-4564

 

For physical items, locations are as follows: INFOCTR: Information Center, main floor; REF: Reference Stacks, main floor; STX: Circulating Stacks; FICHE: Microfiche and Microfilm, first floor; GOVDOCS: Government Documents, first floor.

As with most business research, you will want to supplement your findings with current articles and scenario-specific information from journal articles in the electronic resources databases.

Also note sources for statistics that are listed in the profiles and statistics sources - if the information is close, but not what you are looking for, note the data source and look for further information - most of US-specific statistics are based on Census data.

STATISTICS
US Census Bureau
Includes the following:
  • County & City Data Book
    INFO CTR CD C 3.134/21:2000
  • State & Metropolitan Area Data Book
    INFO CTR C 3.134/5
US Bureau of Labor Statistics
Includes the following specific surveys of interest:
  • Consumer Expenditure Surveys http://www.bls.gov/cex/
  • Current Population Survey http://www.bls.gov/cps/home.htm
A Statistical Portrait Of The United States: Social Conditions And Trends
REF 301.0973021 S797
Business Statistics of the United States
REF 338.0021 B979
County and city extra
REF 317.3 G855
Places, towns, and townships
REF 317.3 P697
Datapedia of the United States, 1790-2005
REF 317.3 K96d
Demographic Statistics
Handbook of U. S. Labor Statistics
REF 331.10973021 H23661
Market Share Reporter
REF 381.05 M3455
Sales & Marketing Management
STX 658.8505 S163
Includes the special issue, Survey of Buying Power.
Simmons Study of Media and Markets
REF 658.83 S592
State Profiles: the Population & Economy of Each U.S. State
REF 317.3 S79749
Statistical Handbook of Working America
REF 331.25021 S797
Statistical Handbook On Adolescents In America
REF 305.235 S797
Statistical Handbook on Consumption and Wealth in the United States
REF 339.41 S79771
Statistical Handbook on the American Family
REF 306.850973 S7972
Statistical Handbook On Women In America
REF 305.40973 S797
Survey of Consumer Finances
Return to Top


INTERNATIONAL INFORMATION
European Marketing Data And Statistics
REF 658.83 E8972
Foreign Trade of the United States
REF Q 382.60973 F7142
Gale Country And World Rankings Reporter
REF 310.5 G151
International Marketing Forecasts
REF Q 380.1 I61626
International Marketing Data And Statistics
REF 382.09 I 61626
Statistical Abstract Of The World
REF 310.S797
World Consumer Income & Expenditure Patterns
REF 339.41 W92711
World Development Report
REF 337.091724 S9648
Return to Top


PROFILES
A selected list of titles - for more titles, search the library's catalog.
American Attitudes: Who Thinks What About The Issues That Shape Our Lives
REF 306.0973 M682o
American Generations: Who They Are, How They Live, What They Think
REF 658.834 M682A
American Marketplace
REF 658.8340973 A512
American Men And Women: Demographics Of The Sexes
REF 305.30973A51263
Americans 55 & Older: A Changing Market
REF 305.260973 A512
Americans And Their Homes: Demographics And Homeownership
REF 333.338 R961A
Americans At Play: Demographics Of Outdoor Recreation & Travel
REF 796.5 W452A
Asian Marketing Data And Statistics
REF 382.095 A8322
Best Customers: Demographics Of Consumer Demand
REF 658.834 R9618B
Clustered World: How We Live, What We Buy, And What It All Means About Who We Are
REF 306.0973 W431c
Generation X: The Young Adult Market
REF 658.834 M682G
Household Spending: Who Spends How Much on What
REF 332.024 H8424 2004
Marketing to the Mindset of Boomers and Their Elders
REF 658.8 M8471M
Official Guide To American Incomes: A Comprehensive Look At How Much Americans Have To Spend
REF 339.22 E96o
Racial And Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, And Whites
REF 305.8 R1212
Regional Economic Conditions (FDIC)
The Official Guide To American Incomes: The Demographics Of Who Does And Who Doesn't Have Money
REF 339.22 E96o
What Kids Buy And Why: The Psychology Of Marketing To Kids
REF 658.834083 A189w
Wise Up To Teens : Insights Into Marketing And Advertising To Teenagers
REF 658.834083 Z867w
Worldmark Encyclopedia Of Cultures & Daily Life
REF 305.8003 W9278
Return to Top


REFERENCE
Dictionary of Marketing Terms
REF 658.8003 D554
Direct Marketing Market Place
REF 381.D598
Editor and Publisher Market Guide
STX 658.8305 E23M
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
REF 659.10973 E5644
Marketing Information : A Professional Reference Guide
REF 658.8 M3451
Return to Top


ADDITIONAL RESOURCES
Demography Links
EconData
Demographic Resources
American Marketplace : Demographics And Spending Patterns
REF 658.8340973 A512
State Profiles : the Population and Economy of Each U.S. State
REF 317.3 S79749
Return to Top


(9/04)