Mansfield Library Subject Guides
Company Research
Compiled by Steve McCann, Business Librarian,
steve.mccann@umontana.edu, 406-243-4564
For physical items, locations are as follows: INFOCTR: Information Center, main floor; REF: Reference Stacks, main floor; STX: Circulating Stacks; FICHE: Microfiche and Microfilm, first floor; GOVDOCS: Government Documents, first floor.
COMPANY DIRECTORIES
Return to TopAmerican Business Directories
REF 338.00294 (assorted)Brands and Their Companies
REF 658.827 C953tBusiness Rankings Annual
REF 338 B979Companies and their Brands
REF 658.827 C953trEncyclopedia Of Corporate Names Worldwide
REF 929.97 R7775Encyclopedia Of Major Marketing Campaigns
REF 659.10973 E5644Mergent's Handbook Of Common Stocks
REF 332.63 M817Plunkett's Companion to the Almanac of American Employers: Mid-Size Firms
REF 331 P7373
COMPANY PROFILES
Return to TopFactiva
Use the company quick search tab to find information about Public and Private companies.Lexis-Nexis Academic
Once in the database click on the link for "BUSINESS". This section offers links for Industry & Market news, Company Financial Reports, Company Profiles, Compare Companies, SEC Filings & Reports, and contact and resource information for companies and industries.Predicasts PROMT
Contains articles from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, newspapers, industry newsletters, market research studies, news releases and investment and brokerage firm reports. Great for referencing individual company news through subject search and advanced search: company.Reference USA
Leading provider of business and consumer information products, database marketing services and internet marketing solutions. Covers virtually all U.S. and Canadian businesses and residents.Value Line
INFOCTR 332.63 V215
Comprehensive source of information on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Information grouped according to Ratings & Reports, Summary & Index, and Selection & Opinion. Uses criteria such as Timely Stocks in Timely Industries, Untimely Stocks, and High Growth Stocks.Quicken.Com
Handy website for quick searches about companies. Identifies and compares them to their competitors in terms of market capitalization.MSN Money/CNBC Investing
Offers information about U.S. companies' earnings estimates, financials, insider trading, ownership, news and company reports.Yahoo! Finance
Good source for company information, financial ratio comparisons with industry, sector and S&P 500.International Directory Of Company Histories
REF 338.74 I61
This 30 volume set offers profiles, histories and development of over 4,000 private and public international companies. Industry updates appear in later volumes. Also, indexes by company and personal names.Mergent Manuals. (formerly Moody's)
REF 332.6 M8173
Covers over 27,000 companies, worldwide, listed on the American exchanges and OTC. Published annually. Most manuals include consolidated income statements and balance sheets for 3 years, corporate structure, brief history, long-term debt, depreciation, acquisitions, mergers, spinoffs, properties, joint ventures, subsidiaries, and some R & D expenditures.D&B Million Dollar Directory
REF 338.74058 D897md
Brief profiles on selected U.S. and Canadian leading public and private businesses. Company information includes industry information with up to 24 individual 8-digit SICs, size criteria (employees and annual sales), type of ownership, principal executives and biographies.Corporate Yellow Book
REF 338.74025 C8228
Who's who at the leading listed U.S. companies.Poor's Register Of Corporations, Directors And Executives, United States And Canada
REF 338.74058 P823
FINANCIAL INFORMATION
In addition to some of the finance sites above, the following provide access to financial data and SEC filings.
Return to TopHow To Read A Financial Report : Wringing Vital Signs Out Of The Numbers
REF 657.3 T761hAnnual Report Gallery
Familiarize yourself with publicly traded companies by reading the details of their online annual reports - Financial Highlights; Balance Sheets; Profit and Loss Statements; New Business; Year in Review; Projections; Outstanding Shares of Stock and Complete list of Board Members. Search by company name, by ticker symbol, or by sector.CAROL: Company Annual Reports Online
Provides direct access to UK, Eurpean and Asian companies' balance sheets, profit & loss statements, financial highlights etc. [Requires free registration.]CCH Capital Changes Reporter
Covers splits, changes, bankruptcies. Only for public companies.EDGAR U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
Provider of business, financial and competitive data derived from public company filings required by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Can search filings by SIC and limit by form, note format of form name.Free EDGAR
This site provides business, financial and competitive information derived from U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission data. Search for companies and SEC filings by name, ticker symbol, SIC code, individuals and location.Mergent Industry Review
REF 332.6 M8177
Covers major companies within 137 industries. Looks at comparative statistics, financial data and growth rates including revenues, net income, profit margin, return on assets, PE ratios and more.Yahoo! Finance Industry Center
Financial ratio comparisons of companies by industry, sector and S&P 500.
(9/04)

