Subject Guide: Career Research | Mansfield Library | The University of Montana-Missoula

The University of Montana Libraries—Missoula

Mansfield Library Subject Guides

printable pdf version

Career Research
Compiled by Steve McCann, Business Librarian,
steve.mccann@umontana.edu, 406-243-4564


For physical items, locations are as follows: INFOCTR: Information Center, main floor; REF: Reference Stacks, main floor; STX: Circulating Stacks; FICHE: Microfiche and Microfilm, first floor; GOVDOCS: Government Documents, first floor.

GENERAL
University of Montana Career Services
The Career Services office at the University of Montana is a great resource for all things related to jobs and career planning. They offer a number of different services, including group workshops, 1-1 assessment and counseling, resume and cover letter feedback, job and internship listings, and additional online and print career resources. Click here for a list of current events or drop by their offices at the Lommasson center.
Return to Top


CAREER GUIDES
Career Guide to Industries
GOVDOCS L2.3/4-3
The Career Guide to Industries provides information on available careers by industry, including the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement, earnings and benefits, employment outlook, and lists of organizations that can provide additional information. This edition of the Career Guide discusses over 42 industries, accounting for over 7 out of every 10 wage and salary jobs in 2000. The Career Guide is a companion to the Occupational Outlook Handbook, which provides information on careers from an occupational perspective.
Career Voyages
This web site is the result of a collaboration between the U.S. Department of Labor and the U.S. Department of Education. It is designed to provide information on high-growth, high-demand occupations along with the skills and education needed to attain those jobs.
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
REF 331.7 E5636.
Job-Hunt.org
Lists of job-related web sites.
Job Hunters Bible
Supplement to "What color is your parachute".
Montana Career Guide
This guide will help you take the first step in setting career goals. With descriptions of over 200 top occupations in Montana and the requirements in education, training, and experience for each.

O*Net Online

O*NET, the Occupational Information Network, is a comprehensive database of worker attributes and job characteristics. As the replacement for the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT), O*NET will be the nation's primary source of occupational information.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
INFOCTR L 2.3/4:
"The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Revised every two years, the Handbook describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations."
The Vault
Provides job seekers with industry and company reports, career articles, message board and job board. Some free information, some fee.
WetFeet.com
Webfeet provides comprehensive company research and career-related information to help job hunters make better career decisions, as well as for the latest job and internship opportunities for college-educated talent.
Return to Top


SALARY INFORMATION
Salary.com
Salary.com was created to inform, educate, and enable people about the latest information on compensation and benefits.
American Cost of Living Survey
STX 339.420973 A512
Return to Top

INDUSTRY RESEARCH
See the Industry Research guide.
Return to Top


COST OF LIVING
The Cost of Living Calculator
Compare purchasing power in two different cities.
Occupational Employment Statistics: Metropolitan Area Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates
Average wage within jobs and industry for specific metropolitan areas.
Return to Top


INTERNSHIPS
University of Montana School of Business Internship Program
America's Top Internships
REF 331.25922 P957
Peterson's Internships
REF 331.25922.i61
Return to Top


EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES
Many jobs are posted on association websites and listservs. See Associations in the Industry Research guide for association search resources.
Career Builder
Career Journal
Wall Street Journal online job board.
Dice - High Tech Jobs Online
Hot Jobs
Job-Hunt.org
Lists of job-related web sites.
Marketing Jobs.com
Job board for sales and marketing.
Monster.com
Search over 800,000 jobs, build and post your resume and access thousands of pages of career info and advice.
The Almanac Of American Employers
REF 338.7402573 A445
Return to Top


COMPANY RESEARCH
See the Company Research guide.
Return to Top


COVER LETTERS AND RESUMES
For additional book titles, search the library's catalog. Using advanced search, search for resumes or cover letters as a Subject Keyword:
resumes | as a phrase | subject keyword |      OR       cover letters | as a phrase | subject keyword

201 Killer Cover Letters
REF 808.06665 P742t
High Impact Resumes And Letters: How To Communicate Your Qualifications To Employers
STX 650.142 K897h
Just Resumes: 200 Powerful And Proven Successful Resumes To Get That Job
REF 650.14M339j
The Perfect Cover Letter
REF 650.142 B3698p
The Resume Handbook: How To Write Outstanding Resumes And Cover Letters For Every Situation
REF 808.06665 R8134r
The Resume Kit
REF 650.142 B3698r
Resumes That Mean Business
STX 650.14 E97r
Resume Writing: A Comprehensive How-To-Do-It Guide
REF 650.14 B747p
Winning Resumes
REF 650.142 R9881w
Return to Top


(9/04)