Subject Guide: Literature Cited | Mansfield Library | The University of Montana-Missoula

The University of Montana Libraries—Missoula

Mansfield Library Subject Guides

Literature Cited

Research papers generally build on the work of previous writers and researchers. Whenever your write a paper and use material of another author, you must document that source. Documentation credits the author and publisher of the original work and provides the necessary information for readers to consult the same sources. Documentation is generally in the form of a bibliography that is a list of works cited at the end of the paper.

Three documentation styles are commonly used for research papers and reports. Check with your instructor to determine if they prefer a particular style. Then refer to the links below.

Graduate Students writing a thesis or dissertation should also consult:

The UM-Missoula Graduate School's Preparing Your Thesis, Dissertation or Professional Paper


American Psychological Association (APA) Style

printable pdf guide

Online Guides:

The following examples are for commonly used sources using the APA style from:

  • American Psychological Association. (2001). Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
    (5th ed.). Washington DC: Author. [Available for use at the Mansfield Library Information Center.]

BOOK

Siler, J. (2000). The essential rhetoric. Boston: Allyn and Bacon.

PERIODICAL ARTICLE

Borgmann, A. (2000, May). The future of high tech: toward a postmodern era. Current, 422, 11-16.

NEWSPAPER ARTICLE

Schwartz, J. (1993, September 30). Obesity affects economic, social status. The Washington Post, pp. A1, A4.

ELECTRONIC MEDIA

[For referencing a nonperiodical document from the internet.]

Last Name, I. (year, date). Title of document. Retrieved date, year, from Title of Web
            Site: http://www.complete/webaddress.org

[For referencing an electronic copy of an article, full-text without page numbers.]

VandenBos, G., Knapp, S., & Doe, J. (2001). Role of reference elements in the
           selection of resources by psychology undergraduates. Journal of
           Bibliographic Research
, 5, 117-123. Retrieved October 13, 2001,
           from http://jbr.org/articles.html

[For referencing full-text articles found through a secondary database, not the original publisher.]

Borman, W.C. (1993). Role of early supervisory experience in supervisor
           performance. Journal of Applied Psychology, 78, 443-449.
           Retrieved October 23, 2000, from PsycInfo database.

[Electronic Newspaper articles]

Hilts, P.J. (1999, February 16). In forecasting their emotions, most people
          flunk out. New York Times. Retrieved November 21, 2000,
          from http://www.nytimes.com

[Technical Reports obtained through ERIC database]

Mead, J. V. (1992). Looking at old photographs: Investigating the teacher tales that
          novice teachers bring with them. (Report No. NCRTL-RR-92-4). East Lansing,
          MI: National Center for Research on Teacher Learning. Retrieved July 21,
          2005, from the ERIC database. (ERIC No. ED346082).

[Fulltext journal article obtained through ERIC database]

Klassen, R. M. (2004). A cross-cultural investigation of the efficacy beliefs of South
          Asian immigrant and Anglo Canadian nonimmigrant early adolescents. Journal of
          Education Psychology, 96, 731-742. Retrieved July 21, 2005, from the ERIC
          database.


CITING QUOTATIONS IN TEXT

There are several ways to cite a quotation within a document with APA format, but the same citation information (author’s last name, publication date and page number) must be included. The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (5th ed.) gives these following three examples:


Quotation 1:

She stated, “The ‘placebo effect’…disappeared when behaviors were studied in this manner” (Miele, 1993, p. 276), but she did not clarify which behaviors were studied.


Quotation 2:

Miele (1993) found that “the ‘placebo effect,’ which had been verified in previous studies, disappeared when [only the first group’s] behaviors were studied in this manner” (p.276).


Quotation 3:

Miele (1993) found the following:

The “placebo effect,” which had been verified in previous studies, disappeared when behaviors were studied in this manner. Furthermore, the behaviors were never exhibited again [italics added], even when reel [sic] drugs were administered. Earlier studies (e.g., Abdullah, 1984; Fox, 1979) were clearly premature in attributing the results to a placebo effect. (p.276)

-Any information that is inserted within the quotation not in the original printing requires brackets for enclosure.

-If italics are added to the original quotation, the bracket [italics added] must be included.

-If any words are omitted from the original quotation, a parenthetical ellipsis (…) must be in place of the omitted words.

-If the quotation includes a misspelled or incorrect word, the word should be quoted as originally printed followed by a bracketed [sic] to ensure the accuracy of the quotation.

-Any quotation over 40 words in length must be indented as a block quotation.

-To use a quotation from a reference with more than one author, the parenthetical citation must include both authors’ last names, or if there are more than two authors, the principle author’s last name along with the phrase “et al.,” (Miele et al., 1993).

-Even if information from a source is paraphrased, it still must be cited.


Turabian / Chicago Style

Online Guides:

The following examples are for commonly used sources using the Turabian / Chicago style from:

  • Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations.
    Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1995.
    [Available for use at the Mansfield Library Information Center.]

  • The Chicago Manual of Style. 14th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1993.
    [Available for use at the Mansfield Library Information Center.]

BOOK

Franklin, John Hope. George Washington Williams: A Biography. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1985.

PERIODICAL ARTICLE

Jackson, Richard. "Running Down the Up-Escalator: Regional Inequality in Papua New Guinea."
            Australian Geographer 14 (May 1979): 175-84.

NEWSPAPER ARTICLE

Camille, Andre. "Deciding Who Gets Dibs on Health-Care Dollars." Wall Street Journal, 27 March 1984, 15(N).

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATION

U.S. Department of Agriculture. Will There Be Enough Food? Department of Agriculture Yearbook.
           Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1981.

Note: Document electronic resources, including World Wide Web resources, by including the same information used for documenting print resources and then provide electronic access points. The Chicago Manual of Style defers to the APA or MLA manual for electronic sources on its website because it has not been updated yet.

DATABASE

Borgmann, A. "The Future of High Tech: Toward a Postmodern Era." Current,
          422(May):11-16. Expanded Academic ASAP [database online]. Available
          from InfoTrac, Gale Group.

WORLD WIDE WEB

Mitchell, Melanthia. "Teach-out supports education as first priority."
           Montana Kaimin Online. (13 Oct. 2000). Retrieved October 20, 2000
           from the World Wide Web:
           http://www.kaimin.org/Oct00/10-13-00/news5_10-13-00.html


CITING QUOTATIONS IN TEXT

There are a few different ways to cite quotations using the Turabian/Chicago citation style. While in the past the footnote and endnote methods were more common, recently the parenthetical method has become more accepted. The citation can be done in several ways, but the author, publishing date and page number (or verse or paragraph number) must be included. The following examples are taken from Kate L. Turabian’s book, A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 6th ed.


Quotation 1

Turabian (1996) discusses quotations that are greater than two or more sentences in length that are separated from the rest of the paper and indented. She states, “A quotation so treated [in that form] is called a ‘block quotation’” (75).


Quotation 2

A quotation longer than a few sentences that is set apart from the rest of the text and is indented is considered a “block quotation” (Turabian 1996, 75).


Quotation 3

Turabian states:

But in general a prose quotation of two or more sentences that runs to eight or more lines of text in a paper should be set off from the text in single-spacing and indented in its entirety four spaces from the left margin, with no quotation marks at the beginning or end. A quotation so treated is called a block quotation. Exceptions to this rule are allowable when, for emphasis or comparison, it is desirable to set of shorter quotations (1996, 75).

-For anything inserted within the quotation that is not part of the original text brackets, rather than parentheses, should be used, as exemplified in the first quotation.

-If a word is misspelled or used incorrectly in the original text, leave it uncorrected in the quotation with a bracketed [sic] following it.

-If any word or number of words is/are omitted from the original text in the quotation, an ellipsis in parentheses (…) must be in place of the missing text.

-To use a quotation from more than one author include both authors’ last names, or for many authors, the principle author’s last name followed by the phrase “et al.”.

-Even if information from a source is paraphrased, it still must be cited.


Modern Language Association (MLA) Style

printable pdf guide

Online Guides:

Government Documents Online Guide:

The following examples are for commonly used sources using the MLA style from:

Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Sixth Ed. New York: The Modern Language Association of America, 2003. [Available for use at the Mansfield Library Information Center.] Also see http://www.mla.org/set_stl.htm.

BOOK

Harrison, Brady. Agent of Empire: William Walker and the Imperial Self in
           American Literature
. Athens: U. of Georgia Press, 2004.

PERIODICAL ARTICLE

Bergman, Jill. "'Everything We Hoped She'd Be’: Contending Forces in
         Hopkins Scholarship." African American Review 38.2 (Summer 2004):
         181-199.

NEWSPAPER ARTICLE

Manegold, Catherine S. "Becoming a Land of the Smoke-Free, Ban by Ban,"
          New York Times, 22 Mar. 1994, late ed.: A1+.

WORK WITHIN BOOK ANTHOLOGY

Ervin, David E. "Shaping a Smarter Environmental Policy for Farming." Taking
         Sides: Clashing Views on Controversial Environmental Issues
. 9th
         Edition. Ed. Theodore D. Goldfarb. Guildford, CT: McGraw-Hill, 2001.
         156-164.

FULL-TEXT ARTICLE FROM AN ONLINE DATABASE

Borgmann, A. "Society in the Postmodern Era." Washington Quarterly 23.1 (Winter 2000): 189-201.
           Academic Search Premier. EBSCO. U of Montana Lib. 20 October 2000 <http://www/epnet.com>.

ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIA ENTRY

"Organic Gardening and Farming." Encyclopedia Americana Online. 2005.
           Encyclopedia Americana. U. of Montana Lib. 15 July 2005. .

ONLINE PUBLICATION

Mitchell, Melanthia. "Teach-out Supports Education as First Priority."
          Montana Kaimin Online, 13 Oct. 2000. 20 Oct. 2000
          <http://www.kaimin.org/Oct00/10-13-00/news5_10-13-00.html>.

WORLDWIDE WEBPAGE

The Irish Film Board and The Arts Council of Ireland. "Documenting the
           Arts." 14 Apr. 2005. 3 Aug. 2005. <http://www.filmboard.ie/downloads/
           publications/Documentary%20the%20Arts%20Summary%20page.doc>

ENTIRE WEBSITE

Alan Pogue Texas Center for Documentary Photography Online. 2005. Alan
           Pogue Texas Center for Documentary Photography. 3 August 2005.
           <http://www.documentaryphotographs.com>.


CITING QUOTATIONS IN TEXT

MLA citation style does not use footnotes or endnotes, so all in text citation is parenthetical. MLA in text citations must include the author’s last name and the page references from where the information was acquired, even if the information is paraphrased. There are several ways that this information can be stated, as in these examples taken from the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (6th edition).


Quotation 1

Not all quotations require quotation marks. “If a quotation runs to more than four lines in your paper, set it off from your text by beginning a new line, indenting…from the left margin, and typing it double-spaced, without adding quotation marks” (Gibaldi 110).


Quotation 2

In the MLA Handbook, Gibaldi notes that quotations that are longer than four lines are generally offset from the rest of the text by writing it as a block quotation. To do this one would begin the quotation on a new line and indent the entire quotation one inch. No quotation marks are required (110).


Quotation 3

Gibaldi states:

If a quotation runs to more than four lines in your paper, set it off from your text by beginning a new line, indenting one inch…from the left margin, and typing it…without adding quotation marks. A colon generally introduces a quotation displayed in this way, though sometimes the context may require a different mark of punctuation or none at all. If you quote only a single paragraph or part of one, do not indent the first line more than the rest. (110-11)


-If anything is omitted in the quotation that was part of the original text use an ellipsis in place of the missing text, as in Quotations 1 and 3.

-If the quoted source has more than one author, include both authors’ last names or for three or more authors, include the principle author’s last name with the phrase “et al.”

-Do not change misspelled or misused words from the original text in your quotation. Indicate these with a parenthetical (sic) immediately following the words. If italics are added to the quotation, indicate the addition with a parenthetical (emphasis added).

-When citing poetry, use a slash with a space on either side ( / ) to indicate a new line. If the quotation is longer than a few lines, set it off as a block quotation, typing the lines as they appear in the original form.

 

Last Updated: 22 September 2006.