Maureen and Mike
Mansfield Library
UM Logo

Welcome! You have reached the Uralic Languages page, which is just one part of the "Language Finger" homepage, which is an index by language to the holdings of the Mansfield Library of The University of Montana.

Uralic Languages & Korean

So far on this page are Estonian, Finnish, Finno-Ugric Languages, Hungarian, Korean, Same, Samoyed Languages, and Uralic Languages.

Estonian

updated 3-25-2002 Estonian (Ural-Altaic) belongs to the Balto-Finnic sub-branch of the Finnic sub-branch of the Finno-Ugric sub-branch of the Uralic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Estonian is spoken in the country of Estonia. Estonian is written with the Latin alphabet. It is one of only 3 languages of the former Soviet Union so written, the others being Latvian and Lithuanian. Written Estonian includes the letter o with a tilde over it; this combination is found in no other language of Eastern Europe. 409.47 Comrie, Bernard, 1947- C738L The languages of the Soviet Union RID: 80-49861 ITEM #: rus00070 409.47 Fouse, Gary C F781L The languages of the former Soviet republics. - [S.l.] : University Press of America, 2000 RID: 99-59842 ITEM #: lav00002
Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Finnish

updated 5-1-2002 Finnish (Ural-Altaic) belongs to the Finnic sub-branch of the Finno-Ugric sub- branch of the Uralic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Finnish is spoken in the country of Finland. It is written in the Latin alphabet. The Finnish name for this language is Suomi. 634.9094 Acta forestalia fennica F1A1 RID: 22-8433 ITEM #: fin00022 415 Bowerman, Melissa B786e Early syntactic development RID: 72-83596 ITEM #: fin00001 634.9072 Communicationes Instituti Forestalis Fenniae. -- M594j Helsinki : RID: wln83-37246 ITEM #: fin00021 494.54132 Englantilais-suomalainen ... E58 Ref. RID: 75-562830 ITEM #: fin00002 634.9072 Folia forestalia. -- Helsinki : F665 RID: wln79-5565 ITEM #: fin00019 709.03 Identity and alterity. -- [Venice] : La I19 Biennale di Venezia, 1995 RID: wln96-132370 ITEM #: cze00032 598.294 Jorgensen, Harriet I J82g Glossarium Europae avium -- Kobenhavn : RID: s41-50 ITEM #: lat00608 912.4897 Koko perheen autokirja. -- Helsinki : Oy K79 Valitut Palat : Reader's Digest Ab, 1970. RID: --- ITEM #: fin00011 895.608 Kokusai Bunka Kaikan (Tokyo, Japan). Toshoshitsu X Modern Japanese literature in western K795m translations, a bibliography. -- Tokyo : International House of Japan Library, 1972 RID: 72-188196 ITEM #: dut00110 133.8 Lindholm, Gosta Olaf L745f Fehlerquellen der sog RID: --- ITEM #: fin00003 494.5414 Mark, Julius C955fZm Die finnische Grammatik ... RID: wln86-109012 ITEM #: fin00004 634.9072 Metsantutkimuslaitos M594j Julkaisuja. -- Helsinki : RID: wln79-27720 ITEM #: fin00020 634.907204897 Michelsen, Karl-Erik M6238h History of forest research in Finland. -- Helsinki, Finland : Finnish Forest Research Institute, 1995 Includes Finnish in illustrations. RID: --- ITEM #: fin00015 597.003 Multilingual dictionary of fish and fish M9615 products. -- [S.l.] : Fishing News Books, 1995 RID: 95-206206 ITEM #: scx00014 150.5 Nordisk psykologi N832 RID: --- ITEM #: dan00009 Q Okkonen, Onni, comp. 769.9471 Suomen taidegrafiikka = Finsk grafik O41s = Graphic art in Finland. -- [Provoo] : Werner Soderstrom osakeyhtio, 1946 RID: 47-19800 ITEM #: fin00016 494.5415 Olli, John B O49f Fundamentals of Finnish ... RID: a59-632 ITEM #: fin00005 598.2948 Ornis fennica. -- Helsinki : O74 RID: 30-13714 ITEM #: fin00013 413 Pipics, Zoltan P665k A konyvtaros gyakorlati ... Ref. RID: 63-50861 ITEM #: bul00002 413 Pipics, Zoltan P665k Dictionarium bibliothecarii ... 1974 Ref. RID: 74-322719 ITEM #: bul00001 494.5 Raun, Alo, 1905- R246e Essays in Finno-Ugric and Finnish linguistics RID: 78-633848 ITEM #: fin00006 599.09471 Siivonen, Lauri, ed. S579s Suuri nisakaskirja. -- Helsingissa : RID: --- ITEM #: fin00014 634.905 Silva fennica. -- Helsinki : S5861 Text in Finnish with resume in German. RID: 27-22383 ITEM #: fin00017 634.905 Silva fennica. -- Helsinki : S5862 RID: wln78-46180 ITEM #: fin00018 570.6 Societas pro Fauna et Flora Fennica S678m Meddelanden. -- Helsingfors : RID: 35-22699 ITEM #: fin00008 570.6 Societas pro Fauna et Flora Fennica S678me Memoranda. -- Helsinki : RID: --- ITEM #: fin00009 570.6 Suomalainen Tiedeakatemia, Helsingfors S958t Toimituksia. -- Helsinki : RID: --- ITEM #: fin00010 639.05 Suomen riista. -- Helsinki : S958 RID: 52-33117 ITEM #: fin00023 639.072 Suomen Riistanhoito-Saatio S958r Riistatieteellisia julkaisuja = Papers on game research. -- Helsinki : RID: 52-41708 ITEM #: fin00024 494.54132 Wuolle, Aino V994f Suomalais-Englantilainen sanakirja = 1956 Finnish-English dictionary. -- 6th ed. -- Helsinki : W. Soderstrom Osakeyhtio, 1956 RID: --- ITEM #: fin00012
Return to Beginning of Finnish citations | Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Finno-Ugric Languages

updated 5-1-2002 Finno-Ugric (Ural-Altaic) (also called Finno-Ugrian) is a sub-branch of the Uralic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Finno-Ugric is divided into Finnic (which includes such languages as Finnish, Estonian, and Lappish, as well as many more) and Ugric (which includes Hungarian). 494.4 Collinder, Bjorn, 1894- C699i An introduction to the Uralic languages RID: --- ITEM #:fiu00001 494.5 Raun, Alo, 1905- R246e Essays in Finno-Ugric ... RID: 78-633848 ITEM #: fiu00002
Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Hungarian

updated 5-3-2001 Hungarian (Ural-Altaic) belongs to the Ugric sub-branch of the Finno-Ugric sub-branch of the Uralic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Hungarian is the language of the country of Hungary, and is written in the Latin alphabet. The Hungarian name for this language is Magyar. 631.405 Agrokemia es talajtan. - Budapest : A281 RID: 65-55879 ITEM #: fre02778 327.43909496 Bayerle, Gustav, comp. B357o Ottoman diplomacy ... . -- Bloomington RID: 74-188493 ITEM #: hun00001 015.439 The Beautiful books of Hungary, 1473-1992 = X A szep magyar konyv ot evszazada : special B384 exhibit from the Szathmary Family Collection of Hungarology, the Imre & Ilona E. Ladanyi Collection and the Culinary Archives & Museum of Johnson & Wales University in Providence, R.I. -- Chicago, IL : The Foundation, 1992. RID: wln93-221518 ITEM #: hun00007 494.51132 Bernolak, Imre, 1922- B529m Modern angol-magyar es ... 1957 Ref. RID: wln81-72064 ITEM #: hun00002 634.903 Centrul de Documentare Tehnica pentru Economia C397d Forestiera Dictionar forestier poliglot / redactor: T. Dorin. - Bucuresti : Centrul de Documentare Tehnica, 1965 RID: wln81-52273 ITEM #: rus00434 510.6 Debrecen, Hungary. Tudomanyegyetem. Matematikai. D288p Intezet Publicationes mathematicae Preliminary matter in Hungarian; text in French, German, Russian, or English. RID: 59-39160 ITEM #: hun00010 780.9439 Frigyesi, Judit B292Zfr Bela Bartok and turn-of-the-century Budapest. - [S.l.] : University of California Press, 1998 RID: 97-19826 ITEM #: hun00017 306.4 Gal, Susan G146L Language shift RID: 78-23330 ITEM #: hun00003 782.109 Grout, Donald Jay G882s A short history of opera. - New York : 1965 Columbia University Press, 1965 RID: 64-11043 ITEM #: pol00037 970.00497 Indians and Europe : an interdisciplinary collection I3987 of essays. - [S.l.] : University of Nebraska Press, 1999 RID: 98-48153 ITEM #: hun00014 414 Interlanguage phonology : the acquisition of a second I613 language sound system / edited by Georgette Ioup, Steven H. Weinberger. - Cambridge, MA : Newbury House Publishers, 1987 RID: 86-21830 ITEM #: dan00020 398.209 International Society for Folk Narrative Research. I61p Congress (9th : 1989 : Budapest, Hungary) 9th Folk narrative and cultural identity = 1989 Narration poplaire et identite culturelle = Volkserzahlung und kulturelle Identitat. - Budapest, Hungary : Lorand Eotvos University, Dept. of Folklore, 1995 RID: --- ITEM #: fre03648 949.7 Johnson, Kendal D J67y Yugoslavia : an unstable federation. - 1996 Thesis (M.A.)-University of Montana, 1996. RID: --- ITEM #: scx00015 598.294 Jorgensen, Harriet I J82g Glossarium Europae avium. - Kobenhavn : RID: s41-50 ITEM #: lat00608 895.608 Kokusai Bunka Kaikan (Tokyo, Japan). Toshoshitsu X Modern Japanese literature in western K795m translations : a bibliography. - Tokyo : International House of Japan Library, 1972 RID: 72-188196 ITEM #: dut00110 940.17 Kulcsar, Zsuzsanna K96i Igy eltek a lovagkorban. - Budapest : RID: --- ITEM #: hun00013 494.51115 Magdics, Klara M189s Studies in acoustic characteristics ... RID: 6865314 ITEM #: hun00004 894.511108 Magyar poems. -- Chicago, IL : M213 RID: wln93-221510 ITEM #: hun00008 610.3 Meyer, Julius, 1873- , ed. M612m Medizinisches Taschenlexikon in 8 Sprachen. -- Berlin : RID: --- ITEM #: hun00011 808.89973 The multilingual anthology of American literature. M9615 -- New York : New York University Press, 2000 RID: 00-30535 ITEM #: hun00015 414 Nemser, William N436e An experimental study of phonological ... RID: 68-66741 ITEM #: hun00005 495.62 Ono, Susumu, 1919- O58n.Eh [Nihongo no kigen. English] The origin of the Japanese language. - Tokyo : Kokusai Bunka Shinkokai, 1970 RID: 70-110946 ITEM #: ind00012 413 Pipics, Zoltan P665k A konyvtaros gyakorlati ... Ref. RID: 63-50861 ITEM #: bul00002 413 Pipics, Zoltan P665k Dictionarium bibliothecarii ... 1974 Ref. RID: 74-322719 ITEM #: bul00001 894.51113 Tandori, Dezso, 1938- T163b.Eb [Poems. English & Hungarian. Selections] Birds and other relations. -- Princeton, N.J. : RID: 86-42853 ITEM #: hun00009 320.09439 Tarnoi, Laszlo T189v Vervihar 1945-1948. - [S.l.] : Turul Books Classics, 1989 RID: --- ITEM #: hun00016 335.005 Tarsadalmi szemle. -- Budapest T193 RID: 55-18230 ITEM #: hun00006 949.84 Transylvania and the theory of Daco-Roman-Rumanian T772 continuity / editor, Louis L. Lote. -- Hamilton, Ont. : Hunyadi, 1991. RID: 80-81573 ITEM #: rum00007
Return to Beginning of Hungarian citations | Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Korean

updated 4-17-2001 Korean (Ural-Altaic) is now thought by many linguists to form, along with Japanese, the Koreo-Japanese branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Korean is the national language of the countries of both North and South Korea. Originally written in Chinese, then for a transitional time using Chinese characters for their sound -- regardless of meaning, Korean evolved its own alphabet called hangul. Hangul is written in syllables. Each syllable is arranged in a unit; it may be written with one letter above another one or two, or one to the left and one or two stacked vertically to the right, or even three letters stacked one above the other. Today you may see Korean written in a mixture of characters and hangul, solely in hangul, or in the Latin alphabet. When it is written in characters or characters and hangul, it may read from right to left, left to right, or vertically (beginning either on the right or the left). 996 The Asian Pacific American heritage. - [S.l.] : Garland A8324 Pub., 1999 RID: 98-33468 ITEM #: swa00007 294.3082 Batchelor, Martine B328w Walking on lotus flowers : Buddhist women living, loving and meditating / Martine Batchelor ; edited by Gill Farrer-Halls. - London : Thorsons, 1996 Glossary includes Chinese, Korean, Tibetan, Japanese, and Sanskrit. RID: gb96-42727 ITEM #: san00042 495.711 Grant, Bruce K G761g A guide to Korean characters RID: wln83-47909 ITEM #: kor00001 Q *Han'guk kungnip Chungang Pangmulgwan 708.957 myongp'um togam. - Seoul : S45-K9h 1973 RID: --- ITEM #: kor00016 338.9519 Han'guk Sanop Unhaeng H239c Census of mining and manufacturing. -- Seoul : RID: --- ITEM #: kor00003 330.9519 Han'guk Unhaeng. Chosabu H239e Economic statistics yearbook. -- Seoul : RID: --- ITEM #: kor00002 495.732 Han-Han-Il-Yong sin chajon. - Soul : Hagyongsa, H233 1975 1975 Ref. RID: wln95-69883 ITEM #: jpn00463 709.519 Ilbon sojang Han-guk munhwajae. 1 : Ilbon I27.E Minyegwan = The Korean relics in Japan. 1 : Nippon Mingeikan. -- Seoul : Korea Foundation, 1993. Korean and English. RID: int wln94-52382 ITEM #: kor00008 414 Interlanguage phonology : the acquisition of a I613 second language sound system / edited by Georgette Ioup, Steven H. Weinberger. - Cambridge, MA : Newbury House Publishers, 1987 RID: 86-21830 ITEM #: dan00020 615.321 International collation of tradition and folk I61284 medicine. - [S.l.] : World Scientific, 1996- RID: sn98-15270 ITEM #: kor00020 610.95 International Symposium on East-West Medicine I61i (1989 : Seoul, Korea) International Symposium on East-West Medicine ... / organized by WHO Collaborating Centre for Traditional Medicine, East-West Research Institute, Kyung-Hee University. -- Seoul, Korea : The Centre, 1989? English and Korean. RID: nlm09-202452 ITEM #: kor00007 541 Jhon, Mu Shik J59c Collected works of Mu Shik Jhon. -- Seoul : RID: wln83-53670 ITEM #: kor00014 510.5 Journal of the Korean Mathematical Society. -- J866 Seoul, Korea : RID: 83-643021 ITEM #: kor00012 813.54 Kim, Richard E., 1932- K49Z Lost names : scenes from a Korean boyhood. -- Seoul : Si-Sa-Yong-O-Sa, 1970. Includes review and notes in Korean; colophon in Korean tipped in. RID: int wln94-235382 ITEM #: kor00009 700.9519 Korean art tradition : a historical survey / K842 edited by Young Ick Lew = Man'guk ui yesul chont'ong. -- Seoul : Korea Foundation, 1993. English and Korean. RID: wln94-316350 ITEM #: kor00010 951.9 Korean cultural heritage. - Seoul : Korea K843 Foundation, 1994- RID: 95-160968 ITEM #: kor00018 294.342112 Lokesh Chandra L836t The thousand-armed Avalokitesvara. - New Delhi : Abhinav Publications, 1988 Cassette includes the recitation of the hymn to the thousand-armed and thousand-eyed Avalokitesvara in Korean, Japanese, and Chinese. Also includes Korean written in both Chinese and Devanagari scripts. RID: 89-903690 ITEM #: san00054 730.952 Masterpieces of Japanese sculpture / photographed N691.E by Yasukichi Irie [and others] ; Introd., text and comentaries by J. Edward Kidder, Jr. -- Tokyo : Bijutsu Shuppan-sha, 1961 Korean, Sanskrit, and Japanese in glossary. RID: 61-12426 ITEM #: san00055 709.519 Miguk pangmulgwan sojang Han'guk munhwajae = M636.E The Korean relics in the United States. - v. 2 Soul-si : Han'guk Kukche Munhwa Hyophoe, 1989- Korean and English. RID: 90-177205 ITEM #: kor00019 495.732 *Minjung Sogwan p'ok'et ... M665 Ref. RID: k66-1127 ITEM #: kor00004 495.62 Ono, Susumu, 1919- O58n.Eh [Nihongo no kigen. English] The origin of the Japanese language. -- Tokyo : Kokusai Bunka Shinkokai, 1970 RID: 70-110946 ITEM #: ind00012 541.08 Ree, Taikyue, 1902- R322c Collected works. -- Seoul : Added title page in Korean. RID: --- ITEM #: kor00015 909.4 Rome reborn / edited by Anthony Grafton. - X Washington : Library of Congress, 1993 R763 RID: 92-33013 ITEM #: chi00221 495.7 Sohn, Ho-min S682k The Korean language. - [S.l.] : Cambridge University Press, 1999 RID: 98-49334 ITEM #: kor00017 059.57 Songgyun'gwan taehakkyo, Seoul, Korea S698L [Lun wen chi] RID: --- ITEM #: kor00005 505 Songgyun'gwan taehakkyo, Seoul, Korea S698L * Lun wen chi tsu jan hsi. RID: --- ITEM #: kor00011 294.392709519 Sunim, Mu Soeng S958t Thousand peaks. - Cumberland, R.I. : Primary Point Press, 1991 Korean, Japanese, Sanskrit, and Chinese in glossary, all in transliteration. RID: wln96-132117 ITEM #: chi00229 510.5 Taehan Suhakhoe T123t Taehan Suhakhoe hoebo. -- Soul : RID: 80-645653 ITEM #: kor00013 495.7321 Underwood, Joan V U56c Concise English-Korean dictionary romanized Ref. RID: a55-5891 ITEM #: kor00006
Return to Beginning of Korean citations | Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"


Same

updated 8-15-2003 Same (Ural-Altaic), also spelled Saami, and also called Lapp and Lappish, belongs to the Finnic sub-branch of the Finno-Ugric sub-branch of the Uralic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Same is spoken in the area called Lapland (northern Sweden, Finland, Norway, and Russia). 306.080911 Endangered peoples of the Arctic / edited by Milton M.R. Freeman. E5655 -- Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000 RID: 99-31577 ITEM #: ale00004 291.35 Sacred sites, sacred places / edited by David L. Carmichael ... et al. -- London : S1234 Routledge, 1994. RID: 93-33400 ITEM #: bla00011
Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Samoyed Languages

updated 8-27-2002 There are 4 languages in the Samoyed (Ural-Altaic) (also spelled Samoyede) sub-branch of the Uralic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages: Nenets, Selkup, Nganasan, and Enets. They are spoken in Siberia. Each of these languages has been known by another name: Nenets was formerly called Yurak; Selkup was called Ostyak-Samoyed; Nganasan was called Tavgi; and Enets, Yenisei-Samoyed. In 1931, the Soviet government introduced a Latin-based alphabet for Nenets and Selkup. Between 1937 and 1940, this was replaced with Cyrillic. Prior to 1931, none of these languages was written. Note that today Nenets is sometimes called Samoyed. So we distinguish between Samoyed (Branch) and Samoyed (Language). 494.4 Collinder, Bjorn, 1894- C699i An introduction to the Uralic languages RID: --- ITEM #: smy00001
Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Uralic Languages

updated 5-1-2002 Uralic (Ural-Altaic) comprises one branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Uralic is divided into the Finno-Ugric and Samoyed sub-branches. Finno-Ugric is further divided into Finnic and Ugric; the former includes Finnish, Estonian, and Lappish, while the latter includes Hungarian, Ob-Ugric, and Permian. The Samoyed branch includes the Samoyed language as well as Enets and Nenets. 494.4 Collinder, Bjorn, 1894- C699i An introduction to the Uralic languages RID: ITEM #: ura00001
Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"




Mansfield Library Home Page | The University of Montana Home Page

Comments about this homepage welcome to Webmaster.

This page was last updated on 8-22-2003.
URL for this page: