| Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library |
![]() |
"Sur-family" is a term I have coined to cover those groups which include languages from more than one family. These groups may be geographical, but not all geographically- definable groups cover more than one family. Families such as Austric, Indo-Hittite, and Ural-Altaic also cover vast and somewhat diverse geographical areas, but are fairly well documented and their extent is evident from their representative languages.
updated 9-3-2003 The languages of Africa fall into one of 4 families: Afro-Asiatic, Niger- Kordofanian, Nilo-Saharan, or Khoisan. The latter 3 are sometimes thought of as covering "Black Africa," but in fact all four groups are found there. Listed here are very general works on African languages, as well as those which contain information or text for too many languages to be listed separately under each, as well as works on those languages as yet unidentified beyond knowing it is African. 496.05 Africa A258 RID: 29-10790 ITEM #: afi00001 496 Alexandre, Pierre, 1922- A382L.EL Languages and language in Black Africa RID: 70-149921 ITEM #: afi00002 417.7096 The Archaeological and linguistic reconstruction ... A669 RID: 82-8431 ITEM #: afi00003 Study Ashanti to Zulu [picture]. -- Chicago : Society print for Visual Education, 1977 112 RID: --- ITEM #: afi00024 967.43 Azevedo, Mario Joaquim A994c Chad. -- [S.l.] : Westview Press, 1998 RID: 97-15097 ITEM #: afr00022 496.3 Bryant, Alfred T B915b Bantu origins RID: wln86-108916 ITEM #: afi00004 382.4409 Curtin, Philip D C9783a The Atlantic slave trade. -- Madison : University of Wisconsin Press, 1969 RID: 69-17325 ITEM #: afr00020 306.44096 Cust, Robert Needham, 1821-1909 C9871s A sketch of the modern languages of Africa. -- London : Routledge, 2000 RID: --- ITEM #: afi00028 572.9668 Ellis, Alfred Burdon, 1852-1894 E47y The Yoruba-speaking peoples of the Slave Coast of West Africa. -- Chicago : RID: 64-17583 ITEM #: afi00016 496 Fligelman, Frieda F621r The riches of African negro languages RID: wln86-108076 ITEM #: afi00005 780.9 The Garland encyclopedia of world music. -- New G233 York : Garland Pub., 1998- RID: 97-9671 ITEM #: afr00019 780.96 The Garland handbook of African music. -- G2332 [S.l.] : Garland, 2000 RID: 99-40652 ITEM #: afi00021 973.0496073 Hine, Darlene Clark H6626a The African-American odyssey / Darlene 2003 Clark Hine, William C. Hine, Stanley Harrold. -- Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, 2003 Accompanying CD has title: Living words : an audio CD of African-American oral tradition / by Kevin Everod Quashie, Stuart L. Twite. RID: 2002-17052 ITEM #: afi00029 496.05 IAI bulletin I11 RID: wln79-8650 ITEM #: afi00006 781.76 Jones, A. M J76s Studies in African music. -- London : Oxford University Press, 1959 RID: 59-1858 ITEM #: afi00027 306.2096761 Kizza, Immaculate N K629a Africa's indigenous institutions in nation building : Uganda. -- Lewiston, N.Y. : E. Mellen Press, 1999 RID: 99-22809 ITEM #: afr00018 639.979668 Kock, Michael D K768r Report on dehorning of black (Diceros bicornis) and white (Ceratotherium simum) rhinoceroses in Zimbabwe / Michael D. Kock, Mark Atkinson. -- Harare, Zimbabwe : Dept. of National Parks and Wild Life Management, 1993 RID: --- ITEM #: swa00012 409.6761 Ladefoged, Peter L154L Language in Uganda RID: 73-157234 ITEM #: afi00007 409.6773 Laitin, David D L189p Politics, language, and thought RID: 76-22958 ITEM #: afi00008 409.6 Leverhulme Conference on Universities and the Language L661L Problems of Tropical Africa, Ibadan, Nigeria, 1961-1962 Language in Africa RID: wln82-94747 ITEM #: afi00009 460.9 Mar-Molinero, Clare, 1948- M298p The politics of language in the Spanish- speaking world. -- [S.l.] : Routledge, 2000 RID: 99-58473 ITEM #: aym00001 Study The math of Africa. -- [S.l.] : Knowledge print Unlimited, 153 RID: --- ITEM #: afi00025 409.6 Mazrui, Ali Al Amin M4766p The power of Babel / Ali A. & Alamin M. Mazrui. -- Oxford, England : J. Currey, 1998 RID: 97-32844 ITEM #: afi00023 Q Murphy, John D., 1921- 496 A bibliography of African ... X RID: 71-98990 ITEM #: afi00010 M978b 572.9629 Nalder, Leonard Fielding, 1888- , ed. N165t A tribal survey of Mongalla province. -- London : RID: 38-334 ITEM #: afi00015 572.968 Schapera, Isaac, 1905- , ed. S299b The Bantu-speaking tribes of South Africa. 1950 -- New York : RID: 38-90 ITEM #: afi00017 495.65 Sekai no naka no Nihongo / henshu komon, Doi S463 Tadao, Morimatsu Yoshiaki. -- Tokyo : Heibonsha, 1965 RID: wln96-52460 ITEM # gre00237 960 Shillington, Kevin S556h History of Africa. -- [S.l.] : St. Martin's 1995 Press, 1995 RID: --- ITEM #: nil00002 301.14 Smith, Arthur Lee, 1942- S642t Transracial communication RID: 72-10169 ITEM #: afi00011 966.9 Talbot, Percy Amaury, 1877-1945 T141p The peoples of Southern Nigeria. -- London : F. Cass, 1969 Includes a "Sketch of their languages." RID: wln87-72585 ITEM #: afi00026 572.96 Varia africana. -- Cambridge, Mass. : V299 RID: 33-6339 ITEM #: afi00014 843.914 Warner-Vieyra, Myriam W285j Juletane. -- Paris : Presence africaine, 1982 RID: 83-106798 ITEM #: fre03827 496 Welmers, William Everett, 1916- W457a African language structures RID: 70-186108 ITEM #: afi00012 496 Westermann, Diedrich, 1875- W527p Practical phonetics ... 1957 RID: wln86-108174 ITEM #: afi00013 African Languages
updated 9-3-2003 "Asian" is a term the meaning of which has varied considerably over the years depending on both the world political situation and on the speaker (or writer). "East Asian" (also called "Far Eastern") has generally referred to China, Japan, Korea and smaller nearby nations. "Southeast Asia" generally includes the countries comprising the Indo-Chinese and Malay peninsulas plus (sometimes) Indonesia. "South Asia" is sometimes used to refer to the Indic subcontinent. "Near East" is now used interchangeably with "Middle East" to refer to those countries south and east of Europe, including northeastern Africa (Cf. the dictionary definitions). "Orient" has been used similarly to "Asia," and is thus no help in clarifying the situation. Obviously, if one then speaks of "Asian languages," their definition depends on what is meant by "Asian." If we take the most inclusive sense of the term, stretching from the Mediterranean to the Pacific, then the following families may be said to contain some Asian languages: Afro-Asiatic, Austric, Burushaski, Dravidian, Elamitic, Indo- Hittite, Paleo-Asiatic, Sino-Tibetan, Sumerian, Ural-Altaic, and Van. If we limit this to East and Southeast Asian languages, then this list is narrowed to: Austric, Paleo- Asiatic, Sino-Tibetan, and Ural-Altaic. Listed here are general works about Asian languages as well as those which contain information or text for too many languages to be listed separately under each. 409.5493 Kearney, Robert N K24c Communalism and language in the politics of Ceylon. -- Durham, N.C. : RID: 67-28068 ITEM #: asi00001 301.1610959 Lim, Patricia Pui Huen L732n News resources on Southeast Asian ... RID: 77-940688 ITEM #: asi00002 304.8 Out of Asia O94 RID: wln86-23598 ITEM #: asi00003 958 Sinor, Denis S617i Inner Asia : history, civilization, languages. -- Bloomington : Indiana University, 1969 RID: 67-66168 ITEM #: asi00005 495 South-East Asia S727 RID: 89-4839 ITEM #: asi00004 Asian Languages
updated 9-3-2003 It would be easy to assume that all the languages spoken in Europe belong to the Indo-Hittite family of languages, but this is not the case. Although a great many European languages are indeed Indo-Hittite, there are also (or have been in the past) languages spoken in Europe belonging to the Aquitanian/Basque, Caucasian, Etruscan, and Ural-Altaic families of languages. The Etruscan languages are now extinct, and the only known language belonging to the Aquitanian/Basque family is Basque. On the other hand, not all Indo-Hittite languages are confined to Europe, but instead many of them may today be found all around the globe. Listed here are general works on European languages, as well as those which contain information or text for too many languages to be listed separately under each. 409.4 Allen, C. G. (Charles Geoffry) A425m A manual of European languages for librarians. -- 1999 London : Bowker-Saur, 1999 RID: 99-13806 ITEM #: mul00068 306.4494 Language, ethnicity and the state / edited by Camille C. L2873 O'Reilly. -- Hampshire : Palgrave, 2001 RID: 2001-21751 ITEM #: eur00001 European Languages
updated 9-4-2003 The word "Indic" has been used with 2 meanings. One is the name of a sub- branch of the Indo-Iranian sub-branch of the Indo-European branch of the Indo-Hittite family of languages. For this group of languages, SEE Indic Languages (Branch). The other, broader meaning is inclusive of all languages spoken in the Indian subcontinent, which fall into the Indo-Hittite, Dravidian, Austric, and Sino- Tibetan families. This second meaning is the one used here, where works about all or many languages of the Indian subcontinent are listed, as well as those for which more specific information was not available. A word should also be said here to clarify that since "Indian" can refer to peoples of both the Old and New Worlds, on this site, "Indian" has been used for the Western hemisphere, and "Indic" for the Eastern. 015.54 Bibliography of selected Indian books B582 RID: --- ITEM #: inc00001 015.549 Books from Pakistan B724 RID: 72-930995 ITEM #: inc00002 409.54 Brass, Paul R B823L Language, religion and politics in North India RID: 73-82453 ITEM #: inc00003 633.88 Chauhan, Narain Singh, 1950- C4969m Medicinal and aromatic plants of Himachal Pradesh. -- [S.l.] : Indus Pub. Co., 1999 RID: 99-937302 ITEM #: inc00025 615.321 Compendium of Indian medicinal plants. -- [S.l.] : C73737 Central Drug Research Institute and Publications & Information RID: 91-908927 ITEM #: inc00026 409.54 Dasgupta, Jyotirindra D229L Language conflict and national development RID: 75-94992 ITEM #: inc00004 015.5491 Datta, Rajeshwari D234u Union catalogue of the Government of Pakistan publications held by libraries in London, Oxford and Cambridge RID: --- ITEM #: inc00005 491.1 Deshpande, Madhav D456s Sociolinguistic attitudes in India RID: 79-106822 ITEM #: inc00006 409.54 Emeneau, Murray Barnson, 1904- E53L Language and linguistic area RID: 79-66058 ITEM #: inc00007 306.080995 Endangered peoples of Oceania / edited by Judith M. E5655 Fitzpatrick. -- Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2001 RID: 00-20468 ITEM #: inc00027 581.634 Guha Bakshi, D. N. (Dwijendra Narayan), 1931- G942L A lexicon of medicinal plants in India. -- [S.l.] : Naya Prokash, 1999- RID: 99-952549 ITEM #: inc00028 059.11 Guide to Indian periodical literature X G946 RID: --- ITEM #: inc00008 052 Indian literature I39 RID: --- ITEM #: inc00009 015.54 The Indian national bibliography I39 RID: --- ITEM #: inc00010 409.54 Kodesia, Krishna, 1933- K76p The problems of linguistic states in India RID: 75-901063 ITEM #: inc00011 427.954 Lewis, Ivor L674s Sahibs, nabobs, and boxwallahs, a dictionary of the words of Anglo-Indian. -- Delhi : Oxford University Press, 1991. RID: 91-900834 ITEM #: inc00023 491.1 Masica, Colin P., 1931- M397d Defining a linguistic area RID: 74-16677 ITEM #: inc00012 410.954 Matilal, Bimal Krishna M433w The word and the world : India's contribution to the study of language. -- Delhi : RID: 91-174579 ITEM #: inc00013 809.13 Nagy, Gregory N152c Comparative studies in Greek and Indic meter. -- Cambridge : RID: 73-90339 ITEM #: inc00014 409.54 Nayar, Baldev Raj N331n National communication and language policy in India RID: 69-19340 ITEM #: inc00015 015.5491 Pakistan Bibliographical Working Group P152 The Pakistan national bibliography, 1947-1961 1947-1961 RID: --- ITEM #: inc00016 491 Pakistan Conference of Linguists P152p Pakistani linguistics RID: sa64-4835 ITEM #: inc00017 015.5491 Pakistan national bibliography P152 RID: --- ITEM #: inc00018 052 The Pakistan review P152 RID: --- ITEM #: inc00019 015.54 Sher Singh, 1934- S551i Indian books in print ... 1972 RID: --- ITEM #: inc00020 306.446 Schiffman, Harold F S333L Linguistic culture and language policy. -- [S.l.] : Routledge, 1998 RID: --- ITEM #: hin00076 015.5491 Siddiqui, Akhtar H S568gp A guide to Pakistan government publications, 1958-1970 RID: ITEM #: inc00021 410 Studies in diglossia. -- Denton, TX : University S9333 of North Texas, 1991 RID: --- ITEM #: jav00001 891.409 Who's who of Indian writers, 1983. -- New Delhi : X W628 RID: 83-905615 ITEM #: inc00024 422.491 Yule, Sir Henry, 1820-1889 Y95h Hobson-Jobson 1968 RID: sa68-6847 ITEM #: inc00022 Indic Languages (of the Indian Subcontinent)
This page was last updated on 9-15-2003.
URL for this page: