Maureen and Mike
Mansfield Library
UM Logo

Welcome! You have reached the first of 12 webpages devoted to Japanese which is just one part of the "Language Finger" homepage, which is an index by language to the holdings of the Mansfield Library of The University of Montana.

Japanese, part 1

This file contains citations beginning with the letters A-B. For other parts of the alphabet, choose C-E, F-G, H, I-J, K-L, M, N, O-R, S, T-U, or V-Z.

						updated 9-21-99

	Japanese (Ural-Altaic), long thought to be unrelated to any other language, is
now recognized by most linguists as belonging to the Koreo-Japanese branch of the Ural-
Altaic family of languages.  It is the national language of the country of Japan, and is of
increasing interest around the world as Japan's recent growth as an economic power is
recognized; also many aspects of Japanese culture attract people who seek to learn the
language, from art to religion to martial arts.  Traditional Japanese is written in the
Japanese writing system, which is a combination of Chinese characters and Japanese
syllabaries, or "kana" (there are 2, both developed from Chinese).  The Japanese names
for Chinese characters is "kanji," while "hiragana" are used for adding inflective endings
and particles, and "katakana" for transliterating foreign words.  The combination of kanji
and kana make written Japanese one of the most difficult scripts to master.  (The Japanese
call romanized Japanese "romaji".)
	Sometimes, Japanese is written entirely in kana, although, due to the many
homonyms in the language, this makes comprehension difficult.  Japanese can also be
written in the Latin alphabet, but this is rare, and, like writing entirely in kana, makes
understanding difficult.  Historically, before a Japanese writing system was invented,
early Japanese texts were written either in Chinese, or in Chinese characters chosen
for their Japanese pronunciation, regardless of meaning.  The Chinese characters are
ideographs; there are between 40,000 and 60,000; in order to read a modern Japanese
newspaper, one needs to know about 10,000.  To further complicate reading Japanese,
it may be written in columns, reading down one and then down the next; this is the most
traditional style.  Or it may be written across the page as are Western languages.  Either
horizontal or vertical writing may be read from either right to left or left to right -- but the
paragraphing will be an indication of which way to read a page.
	Luchuan is a dialect of Japanese spoken in the Ryukyuan Islands off Japan.
Note that Ainu, probably the indigenous language of Japan, is not related to Japanese.

  Q		Abe, Shigeo
589.23			The penicillin. -- Tokyo :
A138p		RID: a59-4665		ITEM #: jpn00275

495.683421	Abraham, Richard David
A159c			Cortina's conversational Japanese / by Richard
1956		D. Abraham and Sannosuke Yamamoto. -- New York :
		R. D. Cortina Co., 1956
		RID: 56-58607			ITEM #: jpn00417

051		Aera (Tokyo, Japan)
A252			Aera
		RID: sn89-29716	ITEM #: jpn00001

338.4791	Agenda 21 for the travel & tourism industry. -- Oxford,
A265			England : World Travel & Tourism Council, 1995
		RID: ---			ITEM #: por00111

305.8956	Aida, Yuji, 1916-
A2884n			Nihonjin no ishiki kozo. -- Tokyo :
		Kodansha, 1972
		RID: wln92-290038		ITEM #: jpn00418

510.952		Ajima, Naonobu
A312c			Complete works. -- Yamagata :
		RID: ---			ITEM #: jap00256

895.634		Akutagawa, Ryunosuke, 1892-1927
A315b.Ep		A fool's life. -- New York :
		RID: 75-112596		ITEM #: jpn00232

495.682421  	Alfonso, Anthony
A388j			Japanese language patterns
		RID: 74-498383		ITEM #: jpn00002

952.02		Amino, Yoshihiko, 1928-
A517c			Chusei saiko : retto no chiiki to shakai.
		-- Tokyo : Nihon Edita Sukuru Shuppanbu, 1986.
		RID: 86-217340		ITEM #: jpn00170

551.49		Anderson, Mary P
A548a.Jf		[Applied groundwater modeling, simulation
		of flow and advective transport. Japanese]
			Chikasui moderu / Mary P. Anderson,
		William W. Woessner cho. -- Tokyo : Kyoritsu
		Shuppan, 1994
		RID: wln96-62018	ITEM #: jpn00419

330.1220592	Ando, Yoshio, 1917-
A5529n			Nihon shihonshugi no ayumi. -- Tokyo :
		Kodansha, 1990
		RID: wln91-837251	ITEM #: jpn00420

015.52		Annotated catalogue of books published in Japan
A615
Ref.		RID: ---			ITEM #: jpn00003

495.683421  	Aoki, Haruo
A638j.E			Rules for conversational rituals
		RID: wln90-153824	ITEM #: jpn00004

895.645		Aragaki, Hideo, 1903-
A659m			Medaka no iru kawa. -- Tokyo :
Spl. Coll.	RID: wln84-124323		ITEM #: jpn00240

079.52		Aragaki, Hideo, 1903-
A659v			Vox populi, vox Dei
Spl. Coll.  	RID: ---		ITEM #: jpn00005

495.631		Arakawa, Sobe, 1898-
A659k			Kadokawa gairaigo jiten. -- Shohan. --
		Tokyo : Kadokawa Shoten, 1967.
		RID: wln94-381072	ITEM #: jpn00276

929.4		Araki, Ryozo
A659n			Nanori jiten /Araki Ryozo hen. -- 8-han.
1967		-- Tokyo : Tokyodo, 1967.
		RID: ---		ITEM #: jpn00277

523.01		Araki, Toshima, 1897-
A659a			Araki Toshima rombun shu. -- Kyoto :
		RID: 81-809460		ITEM #: jpn00258

521.1		Araki, Toshima, 1897-
A659t			Tentai rikigaku. -- Tokyo :
		RID: 81-809582		ITEM #: jpn00257

895.60900203	Araki, Yoshio, 1890-
C5639			Chusei Kamakura Muromachi bungaku jiten.
		-- Tokyo : Shunjusha, 1966
		RID: j67-2991		ITEM #: jpn00651

700.952		Art treasures from Japan. -- Tokyo : Kodansha
A784			International, 1965
			Includes romanized Japanese in glossary.
		RID: 65-23948		ITEM #: san00046

320.952		Asai, Motofumi, 1941-
A798s			Shin hoshu shugi. -- Tokyo : Kashiwa
		Shobo, 1993
		RID: 94-146263		ITEM #: jpn00421

321.309522  	Asakawa, Kan'ichi, 1873-1948, ed. and tr.
A798i.E			[Iriki bunsho. English & Japanese]
1955			The documents of Iriki. -- Tokyo :
Spl. Coll.  	RID: 59-24424	ITEM #: jpn00006

026.952		Asian Studies on the Pacific Coast annual
A832n			conference (1986 : Monterey, Calif.)
Ref.			Notable Japanese collections on the Pacific
		Coast
		RID: ---			ITEM #: jpn00007

495.67		Atarashii Kogugo eno ayumi / henshu komon, Doi
A862			Tadao, Morimatsu Yoshiaki. -- Tokyo :
			Heibonsha, 1965
		RID: wln96-52452		ITEM #: jpn00422

895.635		Atoda, Takashi, 1935-
A8818n.Ej		[Selections. English]
			Napoleon crazy and other stories. -- Tokyo :
		Kodansha, 1986
			Some Japanese in notes.
		RID: wln92-346572		ITEM #: jpn00652

895.630108  	Autumn wind : and other stories / translated
A941			by Lane Dunlop. -- Rutland, Vt. : Tuttle,
			1994.
			Has Japanese glossary.
		RID: 94-60314			ITEM #: jpn00278

302.350952	Bacarr, Jina
B116h			How to succeed in a Japanese company. --
		Secaucus, N.J. : Carol Pub. Group, 1994
			Includes Japanese glossary.
		RID: 93-45559			ITEM #: jpn00423

495.6309	Bailey, Don Clifford
B154r			The Rakuyoshu and its place in the history
		of dictionaries in Japan. -- 1960.
		RID: wln95-21551		ITEM #: jpn00279

495.6321	Basic Japanese-English dictionary = Kiso Nihongo
K61.E			gakushu jiten / the Japan Foundation. --
Ref.			Oxford : Oxford University Press, 1989.
		RID: 88-30642		ITEM #: jpn00150

495.682421  	Basic structures in Japanese
B311
		RID: 85-226581		ITEM #: jpn00008

294.3082	Batchelor, Martine
B328w			Walking on lotus flowers : Buddhist
		women living, loving, and meditating. -- London :
		Thorsons, 1996
		RID: gb96-42727	ITEM #: san00042

495.6321	Beginner's dictionary of Chinese-Japanese
R797b			characters. -- Tokyo : Meiseisha, 1961
1961		RID: ---		ITEM #: jpn00424

952		Benedict, Ruth, 1887-1948
B465c.t			The chrysanthemum and the sword. --
		Rutland, Vt. : C.E. Tuttle, 1974
			Includes Japanese in glossary.
		RID: wln97-310362		ITEM #: jpn00653

304.2		Berque, Augustin
B532m.Js		[Mediance. Japanese]
			Nihon no fukei, Seio no keikan. --
		Tokyo : Kodansha, 1990
		RID: ---		ITEM #: jpn00425

294.30952	A Bibliography on Japanese Buddhism / edited by
 X			Bando Shojun. -- Tokyo : CIIB Press, 1958
B582		RID: a59-8335		ITEM #: jpn00426

384.51		Bijinesu terebijon. -- Tokyo : Denpa Shinbunsha,
B5947			1990
		RID: 92-148321		ITEM #: jpn00427

495.65		Bloch, Bernard, 1907-1965
B651b			Bernard Bloch on Japanese. -- New Haven :
		Yale University Press, 1970
		RID: 72-99834		ITEM #: jpn00428

495.683421	Bloch, Bernard, 1907-1965
B651s			Spoken Japanese / Bernard Bloch and
		Eleanor Harz Jorden. -- New York : H. Holt, 1945-
			Japanese romanized according to a slightly-
		modified version of Kokutei Romazi, the national
		romanization of the Japanese.
		RID: wln94-9511	ITEM #: jpn00429

294.3443	Blofeld, John Eaton Calthorpe, 1913-
B652g			Gateway to wisdom. -- London : G.
		Allen & Unwin, 1980
		RID: 87-672102		ITEM #: chi00169

495.632		Brinkley, F. (Frank), 1841-1912
B858b			[Unabridged Japanese-English dictionary]
1960			Brinkley's Japanese-English ...
Ref.		RID: wln85-18280	ITEM #: jpn00009

495.683421	Brockett, Chris
B864c			A communicative framework for introductory
		Japanese language curricula in Washington state high
		schools. -- Olympia, WA : Assessment and Integrated
		Curriculum, Office of Superintendent of Public
		Instruction, 1994
		RID: ---			ITEM #: jpn00431

294.303		Bukkyo daijiten = Buddhica / kanshu Furuta Shokin
B932			... [et al.]. -- Tokyo : Shogakkan, 1988.
Ref.		RID: 88-149546		ITEM #: jpn00133

294.303		Bukkyo jiten / kanshu, Ui Hakuju. -- Juhan. --
B9322			Tokyo : Daito Shuppansha, 1965.
		RID: wln94-381206		ITEM #: jpn00280

895.6		Bungaku (Tokyo, Japan : 1933)
B942			Bungaku. -- Tokyo : Iwanami Shoten,
		1933-1989
		RID: sn86-9860			ITEM #: jpn00433

895.6		Bungaku (Tokyo, Japan : 1990)
B942			Bungaku. -- Tokyo : Iwanami Shoten, 1990-
		RID: sn92-28313		ITEM #: jpn00432

495.68		Bunsho hyogen to kaiwa / Chiba Kyozo ... et al.
B942			-- Tokyo : Sobunsha Shuppan, 1983.
		RID: ---		ITEM #: jpn00171

952.003		Bush, Lewis William, 1907-
B978j			Japanalia. -- Tokyo : Tokyo News Service,
1965		1965
		RID: ---			ITEM #: jpn00434


Return to Beginning of Japanese A-B citations
Go to other Japanese citations, C-E, F-G, H, I-J, K-L, M, N, O-R, S, T-U, or V-Z
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"




Mansfield Library Home Page | The University of Montana Home Page

Comments about this homepage welcome to Webmaster.

This page was last updated on 9-22-99.
URL for this page: