Maureen and Mike
Mansfield Library
UM Logo

Welcome! You have reached the page on Inuit-Aleut Languages, which is just one part of the "Language Finger" homepage, which is an index by language to the holdings of the Mansfield Library of The University of Montana.

Inuit-Aleut

updated 12-12-94 Inuit-Aleut, also called Eskimo-Aleut, is one of the families of American Indian languages. It is comprised of two branches, Aleut and Inuit. These languages are spoken from Alaska to Greenland, and on Canada's Baffin Island. This family is one of the "superstocks" originally proposed by the linguist Edward Sapir.

Citations

Listed here are works which deal with all or a number of these languages, or the language of which cannot be determined more precisely.


SI		Hodge, Frederick Webb, 1864-1956, ed.
2.3:			Handbook of American Indians north of Mexico. --
30		Washington :
v. 1-2
& Doc. Ref.	RID: 07-35198			ITEM #: nai00031

SI		Index to Schoolcraft's Indian tribes of the United States/
2.3:			compiled by Frances S. Nichols. -- Washington :
152		RID: wln80-11595		ITEM #: nai00032
Return to List of Inuit-Aleut Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Aleut Languages

updated 1-6-2003 The Aleut languages (Inuit-Aleut) comprise one branch of the Inuit-Aleut family of languages. The Aleut languages are spoken in the Aleutian Islands off Alaska, and also in the nearby Commander Islands, which belong to Russia. Aleut is divided into the Western Aleut and Eastern Aleut sub-branches. Western Aleut includes Atkan, Attuan, Unangan, and Unangany. Eastern Aleut includes Unalaskan, Pribilof Aleut, and Kodiak Aleut. A Russian missionary developed an alphabet for the Aleut languages about 1825, based on Cyrillic. The Latin alphabet was introduced in the 20th century. 497.1 Fortescue, Michael D F738c Comparative Eskimo dictionary : with Aleut cognates / Michael Fortescue, Steven Jacobson, Lawrence Kaplan. -- Fairbanks, AK : Alaska Native Language Center, University of Alaska Fairbanks, 1994 RID: 94-24177 ITEM #: ale00001 306.9011 Graburn, Nelson H. H G7289c Circumpolar peoples / Nelson H. H. Graburn, B. Stephen Strong. -- Pacific Palisades, Calif. : Goodyear Pub. Co., 1973 RID: 72-91155 ITEM #: ing00003 623.829 Zimmerly, David W., 1938- Z723q QAYAQ : kayaks of Alaska and Siberia. -- [S.l.] : University of Alaska Press, 2000 RID: 00-27096 ITEM #: ale00002
Return to List of Inuit-Aleut Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"


Inuit Languages

updated 5-23-2001 Inuit (Inuit-Aleut), also called Eskimo and Eskimoan, comprises one branch of the Inuit-Aleut family of languages. Although once the languages comprising Inuit were less distinct than they are today, the harsh environment and isolation in which their speakers live have accelerated the development of those dialects into separate languages. Various scholars have grouped the Inuit languages in different ways. Most scholars now recognize the following sub-branches: Naukan (also called Naukanski and Naukan Siberian Yupik), Alutiiq (also called Sugpiaq, Pacific Yupik, and Alutiiq Alaskan Yupik), Central Siberian Yupik (called Yuit by some), Central Yupik (also called Central Alaskan Yupik, Yuk, or - by some - Yuit) - which includes Inupiaq (also called Inupiat, Inupik, Inuk, and Inuktitut, and to confuse matters further, also Inuit)--, Sirenik (also called Sirenikski), Seward Peninsula Inuit, North Alaskan Inuit, Western Canadian Inuit, Eastern Canadian Inuit, and Greenlandic Inuit (also called Kalatdlisut). Within most of these sub-branches, there are many languages and dialects. Re writing: In 1721, the Latin alphabet was introduced in Greenland; in 1937, the Soviet government developed an alphabet based on Cyrillic for the Soviet Siberian people. In the 1960's, the Cree syllabary began to be used in Canada, and is now extensively used. SI Boas, Franz, 1858-1942 2.3: Handbook of American Indian languages. -- 40 Washington : pt. 1 RID: 11-8930 ITEM #: tli00003 SI Bureau of American Ethnology 2.3: Bulletin. -- no. 1. 1 RID: --- ITEM #: inu00005 497.1 Fortescue, Michael D F738c Comparative Eskimo dictionary : with Aleut cognates / Michael Fortescue, Steven Jacobson, Lawrence Kaplan. - Fairbanks, AK : Alaska Native Language Center, University of Alaska Fairbanks, 1994 RID: 94-24177 ITEM #: inu00006 736.94 Goldsworthy, Andy, 1956- G624t Touching north. - London : Fabian Carlsson, 1989 Includes Aivilik and Igloolik dialects in glossary. RID: wln91-594578 ITEM #: inu00008 704.042097195 Inuit women artists : voices from Cape Dorset / edited I61 by Odette Leroux, Marion E. Jackson, and Minnie Aodla Freeman. - Vancouver : Douglas & McIntyre, 1994 RID: 94-11711 ITEM #: inu00007 497.1 Inuktitut et langues amerindiennes ... I61 RID: 80-140906 ITEM #: inu00001 497.1 Johnson, Marion R J68e Ergativity in Inuktitut ... RID: wln83-54831 ITEM #: inu00002 497.1 Krauss, Michael E., 1934- K91a Alaska native languages RID: 80-143708 ITEM #: inu00003 813.54 Nelson, Richard K N429s Shadow of the hunter : stories of Eskimo life. - Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1980 RID: 80-11091 ITEM #: inu00009 897 New voices in Native American literary criticism / N532 edited by Arnold Krupat. - Washington : Smithsonian Institution Press, 1993 RID: 92-18673 ITEM #: jiv00001 897.1 Rasmussen, Knud, 1879-1933 R225s.EL [Snehyttens sange. English] Eskimo poems from Canada and Greenland. -- Pittsburgh : RID: 73-7606 ITEM #: inu00004 970.00497 Warhus, Mark W275a Another America : native American maps and the history of our language. - [S.l.] : St. Martin's Press, 1997 RID: 96-44903 ITEM #: inu00010
Return to Beginning of Inuit Languages citations
Return to List of Inuit-Aleut Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Inupiaq

updated 1-24-2002 Inupiaq (Inuit-Aleut), also called Inupiat, Inupik, Inuk, and Inuktitut, and also Inuit (like the name of the branch!), belongs to the General Central Yupik sub-branch of the Central Yupik sub-branch of the Inuit branch of the Inuit-Aleut family of languages. Some linguists consider Inupiaq to be a dialect of Yupik. Inupiaq is spoken in Alaska. 979.800497 Burch, Ernest S., 1938- B9471i The Inupiaq Eskimo nations of northwest Alaska. - [S.l.] : University of Alaska Press, 1998 RID: 98-14682 ITEM #: inq00003 497.1 Kaplan, Lawrence D K17p Phonological issues ... RID: 82-147476 ITEM #: inq00001 497.103 Maclean, Edna A M126i Inupiallu Tanngillu ... RID: wln82-54092 ITEM #: inq00002
Return to List of Inuit-Aleut Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Siberian Yupik

updated 3-15-2004 Siberian Yupik (Inuit-Aleut) is actually comprised of two of the sub-branches of Inuit, Naukan and Central Siberian Yupik. Inuit, in turn, is a branch of the Inuit-Aleut family of languages. 497.1 Jacobson, Steven A J17g A grammatical sketch of Siberian ... 1979 RID: wln83-133445 ITEM #: ysp00001 623.829 Zimmerly, David W., 1938- Z723q QAYAQ : kayaks of Alaska and Siberia. -- [S.l.] : University of Alaska Press, 2000 RID: 00-27096 ITEM #: ale00002
Return to List of Inuit-Aleut Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Yupik

updated 1-24-2002 Yupik (Inuit-Aleut), more properly called Central Yupik (also called Central Alaskan Yupik, Yuk, and -- by some -- Yuit), is spoken in central Alaska. There are a number of dialects (some would say languages) and sub-dialects which comprise Central Yupik. These include Egegik and General Central Yupik, with the latter divided into Inupiaq, Lake Iliamna, Nushagak River, Bristol Bay, Kuskokwim (including Lower Kuskokwim, Upper Kuskokwim, Nelson Island, and Yukon), Hooper Bay-Chevak, Nunivak, and Norton Sound. Closely related to Central Yupik are Alutiiq (also called Pacific Yupik and Sugpiaq) and Siberian Yupik. Today Central Yupik is frequently written with the Cree syllabary, but also sometimes with the Latin alphabet. 391.434089971 Agayuliyararput = Our way of making prayer / transcribed and translated A264.E by Marie Meade ; edited by Ann Fienup-Riordan. - Seattle : Anchorage Museum of History and Art in association with the University of Washington Press, 1996 In Yupik and English. RID: 95-25849 ITEM #: ypk00002 731.75089971 Fienup-Riordan, Ann F464L The living tradition of Yup'ik masks. - Seattle : University of Washington Press, 1996 RID: 95-23296 ITEM #: ypk00001 497.4 Nickol, Robert O N632n Native American discourse : an analysis of twenty O'othham narrative fragments. - 1994 RID: --- ITEM #: tnk00001
Return to List of Inuit-Aleut Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"




Mansfield Library Home Page | The University of Montana Home Page

Comments about this homepage welcome to Webmaster.

This page was last updated on 4-2-2004.
URL for this page: