Maureen and Mike
Mansfield Library
UM Logo

Welcome! You have reached the first of 4 webpages devoted to Chinese which is just one part of the "Language Finger" homepage, which is an index by language to the holdings of the Mansfield Library of The University of Montana.

Chinese, part I

This file contains citations beginning with the letters A-D. For other portions of the alphabet, choose E-K, L-R, or S-Z.

						updated 11-22-99

	Chinese (S-T) belongs to the Sinitic branch of the Sino-Tibetan family of languages.
Please note that the whole Sinitic branch is often called Chinese.  Although we tend to think of
Chinese as a single language, it is actually a group of closely-related languages which together
comprise the Sinitic branch.  The Chinese languages, taken together, are spoken by more
speakers than any other language in the world.  Besides numerous speakers in China, there
are also speakers in Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Vietnam, the United States, and
elsewhere.  Languages comprising this branch include Mandarin — considered the standard
of Chinese and spoken by the majority of speakers --, Cantonese (including Kwangsi), Wu
(including Shanghai, Fukien or Min — divided into Northern Fukien or Foochow and Southern
Fukien including Amoy and Taiwanese), Hakka (including Kiangsi), and Hsiang.  Chinese is
written using a complex system of ideographs, commonly called characters.  Difficult although
the characters are, they have enabled Chinese people to understand one another by reverting
to writing even although their spoken languages may differ.  Thus you may see Chinese people
resort to writing characters in their hand to better communicate with one another.
	For many years, American libraries have used a transliteration system called
Wade-Giles for describing works in Chinese; this transliteration system has fallen out of favor
among the Chinese community, and beginning in the Fall of C.E. 2000, the Library of Congress
plans to switch to the Pin-Yin transliteration system.  Since our library follows the lead
of the Library of Congress, most citations listed here are presently in the Wade-Giles
transliteration scheme.  This file will be updated to reflect the change to Pin-Yin following the
change by the Library of Congress.
	Included here are works either about more than one Sinitic language, or those which
do not differentiate.  There will eventually also be files for some of the individual Sinitic
languages.

495.183421  	About China
A156
		RID: wln87-45602		ITEM #: chi00001

495.186421  	Advanced Chinese
A2446
		RID: wln88-176891		ITEM #: chi00002

495.186421  	An Advanced reader ...
A244
		RID: 78-623111			ITEM #: chi00003

495.186421  	An Advanced reader ...
A2443
		RID: 78-623112			ITEM #: chi00004

495.186421  	An Advanced reader ...
A2444
		RID: 78-623109			ITEM #: chi00005

495.186421  	An Advanced reader ...
A2445
		RID: 78-623113			ITEM #: chi00006

338.4791	Agenda 21 for the travel & tourism industry. --
A265			Oxford, England : World Travel & Tourism
			Council, 1995
		RID: ---			ITEM #: por00111

888.5		Aristotle
q.CL		*	Chen chih k'o hsueh
1969		RID: ---			ITEM #: chi00106

495.6309	Bailey, Don Clifford
B154r			The Rakuyoshu and its place in the history of
		dictionaries in Japan
		RID: wln95-21551		ITEM #: jpn00279

294.3082	Batchelor, Martine
B328w			Walking on lotus flowers : Buddhist women
		living, loving and meditating. -- London : Thorsons, 1996
		RID: gb96-42727		ITEM #: san00042

495.1		Best Chinese idioms
C559.Ez
1988		RID: wln89-33373		ITEM #: chi00007

299.51		Birrell, Anne
B619c			Chinese mythology : an introduction. — Baltimore :
		Johns Hopkins University Press, 1993.
		RID: 93-14738			ITEM #: chi00168

294.3443	Blofeld, John Eaton Calthorpe, 1913-
B652g			Gateway to wisdom : Taoist and Buddhist contemplative and
		healing yogas adapted for Western students of the way. — London :
		Allen & Unwin, 1980.
			Includes texts in Chinese, romanized Japanese and romanized
		Sanskrit, with English translations.
		RID: 87-672102			ITEM #: chi00169

294.3925	Blofeld, John Eaton Calthorpe, 1913-
B651t			The Tantric mysticism of Tibet : a practical guide. --
		New York : Arkana, 1992.
		RID: wln93-357723		ITEM #: chi00170

704.948943	Bod kyi tha'n ga = Hsi-tsang t'ang k'a / Bod Ra'n skyo'n ljo'ns
B666			Rig d'nos do dam u yon lhan kha'n gis bsgri.t. -- Pei-ching
			: Wen wu ch'u pan she, 1993
		RID: ---			ITEM #: tib00062

294.344		Bodhidharma, 6th cent.
B666z			The Zen teaching of Bodhidharma / translated and with
		an introduction by Red Pine. -- New York : North Point Press, 1995
		RID: ---			ITEM #: chi00262

895.11308	Bright moon, perching bird. -- Middletown,
B851			Conn. :
		RID: 87-18351			ITEM #: chi00122

895.11		A Brotherhood in song. -- Hong Kong :
B874
		RID: 86-157877			ITEM #: chi00112

302.222		Bruce-Mitford, Miranda
B887i			The illustrated book of signs & symbols. --
		[S.l.] : DK Pub., 1996
		RID: 96-216700			ITEM #: heb00095

299.5142114	Cahill, Suzanne Elizabeth
C132t			Transcendence & divine passion : the Queen Mother of
		the West in medieval China. — Stanford, Calif. : Stanford
		University Press, 1993.
		RID: 92-26835			ITEM #: chi00171

895.130876609	Campany, Robert Ford, 1959-
C186s			Strange writing : anomaly accounts in early medieval
		China. — Albany : State University of New York Press, 1996.
		RID: 94-45736			ITEM #: chi00172

306.0951	Chang, Chen-chih
C45627m			Mu ch'ien Chung-kuo she hui ti ping t'ai. --
		Shang-hai : Min chih shu chu, 1929
		RID: c66-941			ITEM #: chi00263

495.1321	Chang, Ch'i-ch'un
C456c		*	Chien ming ying ...
1972
Ref.		RID: wln76-001975		ITEM #: chi00008

495.1321	Chang, Ch'i-ch'un
C456y		*	Ying han hsin ...
1966
Ref.		RID: wln81-42849		ITEM #: chi00009

495.12		Chang, Hsuan
C456c		*	Chung wen ch'ang yung ...
Ref.		RID: 76-835133			ITEM #: chi00010

495.15		Chang, Hung-nien
C456p			A practical Chinese grammar / Hung-nin Samuel
		Cheung in collaboration with Sze-yun Liu and Li-lin Shih.
		-- Shatin, N.T., Hong Kong : Chinese University Press, 1994
		RID: ---			ITEM #: chi00264

895.11508	Chang, Richard F., comp.
C456m			Modern Chinese poetry. -- New Haven :
		RID: wln80-88634		ITEM #: chi00125

951		Chang, Te-ch'ang
L69367Zc		Ch'ing chi i ko Ching kuan ti sheng huo. --
		Hsiang-kang : Hsiang-kang Chung wen ta hsueh, 1970
		RID: 78-839284			ITEM #: chi00265

895.1152	Chang, Ts'o
C45672n.Es		Niao chiao / Ao-ao (Chang, Chen-ao) chu. --
		T'ai-pei shih : Ch'uang i she, 1970
		RID: wln96-37946		ITEM #: chi00266

895.13009	Chao, I-heng
C461u			The uneasy narrator : Chinese fiction from the traditional
		to the modern / Henry Y.H. Zhao. — Oxford : Oxford University
		Press, 1995.
		RID: 94-47596			ITEM #: chi00173

495.1		Chao, Ming-Kao, 1892-
C461d			A dictionary of words ...
		RID: 32-30394			ITEM #: chi00011

495.1		Chao, Yuen Ren, 1892-
C4618a			Aspects of Chinese ...
		RID: 75-44900			ITEM #: chi00012

495.17		Chao, Yuen Ren, 1892-
C461c			Cantonese primer
		RID: 73-90482			ITEM #: chi00013

495.17		Chao, Yuen Ren, 1892-
C461g			A grammar of spoken ...
1968		RID: 68-6227			ITEM #: chi00014

495.186421  	Chao, Yuen Ren, 1892-
C461r			Readings in sayable ...
		RID: 74-10926			ITEM #: chi00015

951.249		Chen, Chi-lu, 1923-
C518m			Material culture of the Formosan aborigines. --
1988		Taipei, Republic of China : Southern Materials Center,
		1988.
		RID: wln89-364852		ITEM #: chi00174

895.1352	Ch'en, Hao-ch'uan
C51826t			Tuan yuan. -- Hsiang-kang : Hua han wen hua
		shih yeh kung ssu, 1986
		RID: 86-185531			ITEM #: chi00267

495.1321	Chen, Janey
C518p			A practical English-Chinese ...
Ref.		RID: 78-77122			ITEM #: chi00016

951.024		Ch'en, Pang-chan, d.1623
C51843s			Sung shih chi shih pen mo. -- Pei-ching :
		Chung-hua shu chu, 1977
		RID: 78-838976			ITEM #: chi00268

895.109		Ch'en, Yung
C51863w			Wen hsueh p'ing lun chi. -- Pei-ching : Jen min
		wen hsueh ch'u pan she, 1953-1956.
		RID: c66-1284			ITEM #: chi00269

895.11309	Cheng, Francois, 1929-
C518e.Er		[Ecriture poetique chinoise. English]
			Chinese poetic writing. -- Bloomington :
		RID: 81-48382			ITEM #: chi00123

181.04392	Cheng, Hsueh-li
C518e			Empty logic : Madhyamika Buddhism from
1991		Chinese sources. — 1st Indian ed. — Delhi : M.
		Banarsidass, 1991.
		RID: ---			ITEM #: chi00175

160		Chi, R. S. Y. (Richard See Yee), 1918-
C532b			Buddhist formal logic. — Delhi : Motilal
		Banarsidass, 1984-
		RID: 84-902691			ITEM #: chi00176

495.1321	Chi, Wen-shun
C532c			Chinese-English dictionary ...
Ref.		RID: 73-90663			ITEM #: chi00017

495.1864	Chi, Wen-shun
C532re			Readings in Chinese Communist ...
		RID: 67-11201			ITEM #: chi00018

495.1864	Chi, Wen-shun, comp.
C532r			Readings in the Chinese ...
		RID: 70-94988			ITEM #: chi00019

658		Chiang, Wei
C5325c			Chinese business strategies. -- [S.l.] :
		Asiapac, 1994
		RID: ---			ITEM #: chi00274

951.026		Chiao, Hung, 1541-1620
C5325y			Yu t'ang ts'ung yu. -- Pei-ching : Chung-
		hua shu chu, 1981
		RID: 82-119240			ITEM #: chi00270

417		Ch'ien, Ts'un-hsun, 1909-
C533w			Written on bamboo and silk
		RID: 61-11897			ITEM #: chi00020

951		Ch'ien fu lun t'ung chien / Chung Fa Han hsueh yen
W2463c			chiu so pien. -- T'ai-pei : Ch'eng wen ch'u pan
Index			she, 1968
		RID: wln91-549639		ITEM #: chi00271

931.04		Ch'in, Chung-mien
P1876hZt		Han Shu Hsi-Yu Chuan ti li chiao shih. --
		Beijing : Chung Hua Shu Chiu, 1981
		RID: ---			ITEM #: chi00272

555.1		China. Chung yang ti chih tiao ch'a so
C539g			Geological memoirs ... . Series A. — Peking :
Ser. A		RID: 24-4892			ITEM #: chi00160

560.951		China. Chung yang ti chih tiao ch'a so
C539p			Palaeontologia sinica. — Peking :
Ser. A		RID: gs26-163			ITEM #: chi00163

560.951		China. Chung yang ti chih tiao ch'a so
C539p			Palaeontologia sinica. — Peking :
Ser. B		RID: gs26-164			ITEM #: chi00164

951.0025	China directory in pinyin and Chinese. -- Tokyo :
C539			Radiopress, 1984-
1997		RID: sn84-10389		ITEM #: chi00273

951.0082	China for women : travel and culture. — New York :
C539			Feminist Press at the City University of New
			York, 1995.
			Includes chapter on "nushu," a women's script
		used in Hunan province for over 1000 years.
		RID: 94-44578			ITEM #: chi00177

895.103		Chinese-English dictionary of colloquial terms used in
C544			modern Chinese literature. -- [S.l.] : Far
			Eastern Publications, Yale University, 1979
		RID: ---			ITEM #: chi00275

495.1321	A Chinese-English handbook ...
H2332.E
		RID: wln88-125458		ITEM #: chi00023

895.11008	Chinese poetry. -- Berkeley :
C539
		RID: 74-76394			ITEM #: chi00113

951.032		Ch'ing Chu Nung Min Ch'i Yi Tzi Liao Chi Lu / Hsieh, Kuo-
 X			chen [editor]. -- Shanghai : Hsin
H87346c			Chih Shi Chu Pan She, 1956
		RID: ---			ITEM #: chi00276

641.592		Chop suey, a la carte / compiled by the Chinese cooking
CHO			companions. -- Rutland, Vt. : Japan Publications
			Trading Co., 1963
			Recipe names also in Chinese.
		RID: ---			ITEM #: chi00277

495.1864	Chou, Hsin-ssu, d. 521
C533c			Ch'ien tzu wen
		RID: 63-12902			ITEM #: chi00024

495.17		Chou, I-min
C552s.E			Mutant Mandarin = Shih mao Han yu / by Zhou
		Yimin & James J. Wang. -- San Francisco, CA : China
		Books, 1995
		RID: 95-69929			ITEM #: chi00278

951		Chou, K'ai-ch'ing
C5523c			Chien-lu shui pi. -- T'ai-pei : Chou Kai-ch'ing, 1967
		RID: c68-2426			ITEM #: chi00279

495.1321	Choy, Rita Mei-Wah
C552u			Understanding Chinese ... . -- San Francisco,
Ref.		Calif. : 
		RID: 89-202718			ITEM #: chi00025

895.111		Ch'u, Yuan, ca. 343-ca. 277 B.C.
C559L.Ey2		Lisao : the lament / composed by Qu Yuan ;
		paraphrased by Guo Moruo ; translated by Yang Hsienyi &
		Gladys Yang. — Singapore : Asiapac Books, 1994.
			English, Chinese, and Chinese paraphrase parallel
		on each page.
		RID: ---			ITEM #: chi00178

011.2951	Ch'"uan kuo hsin shu mu. -- Washington, D.C. : Reprinted by
C559			Center for Chinese Research Materials, Association
			of Research Libraries, 1972
			17 v. in 20.
		RID: 72-837896			ITEM #: chi00281

951		Ch'un ch'iu fan lu t'ung chien / Chung Fa Han hsueh yen
T9263c			chiu so pien. -- T'ai-pei : Ch'eng wen ch'u pan she,
Index			1968
		RID: wln91-549644		ITEM #: chi00283

895.109001	Ch'un Ch'iu Tso Chuan Chu. -- Beijing : Chung Hua Shu Chiu,
C55942			1981
		RID: ---			ITEM #: chi00282

  Q		Chung-hua jen min kung ho kuo ti chih t'u chi. — Beijing :
555.1
C559		RID: 81-835043			ITEM #: chi00159

895.15092	Chung-kuo hsien tai tso chia ta tz'u tien/ Chung-kuo hsien tai
C55965			wen hs"ueh kuan pien. -- Pei-ching : Hsin shih chieh
			ch'u pan she, 1992
		RID: 93-165827			ITEM #: chi00284

895.108052	Chung-kuo hsin shih ch'i ming tso hsuan tu = A reader in post-
C559.EL			cultural revolution Chinese literature : Chinese texts
1994			in traditional characters / compiled by Vivian Ling. --
			3rd ed. — Hong Kong : Chinese University Press, 1994.
		RID: wln96-275504		ITEM #: chi00179

505		Chung-kuo k'o hsueh. Series A. — Beijing, China :
S41697
		RID: sc84-7105			ITEM #: chi00147

680.951		Chung-kuo k'o hsueh yuan. Ching chi yen chiu so. Shou kung
C55969i			yeh tsu
			I chiu wu ssu nien ch'uan kuo ko t'i shou kung yeh
		tiao ch'a tzu liao. -- Pei-ching : Sheng huo, tu shu, hsin chih
		san lien shu tien, 1957
		RID: c59-5289			ITEM #: chi00286

796.5220951	Chung-kuo teng shan chih nan = A guide to mountaineering in
C559.E			China. — Ch'eng-tu : Ch'eng-tu ti t'u ch'u pan she, 1993.
		RID: ---			ITEM #: chi00180

  Q		Chung-kuo ti chih k'o hsueh yen chiu yuan. Shui wen ti chih
551.44			kung ch'eng ti chih yen chiu so
C559k			Karst in China. — Shanghai :
		RID: 77-362998			ITEM #: chi00157

551.05		Chung-kuo ti chih k'o hsueh yuan yuan pao. — Pei-ching :
C559
		RID: wln83-69444		ITEM #: chi00153

686.219589	Chung-kuo t'u shu shih tz'u liao chi / Liu Chia-pi pien ting. --
C55988			Hsiang-kang : Lung men shu tien, 1974
		RID: 74-898694			ITEM #: chi00280

315.1		Chung-kuo t'ung chi nien chien = Statistical yearbook of China. --
C559.E			Bei-Jing : China Statistical Pub. House, 
		RID: ---			ITEM #: chi00181

572.06		Chung yang yen chiu yuan. Min tsu hsueh yen chiu so, Nan-king,
C559c			Formosa
			Chung yang yen chiu yuan min tsu hsueh yen chiu so chi
		k'an. — Nanking :
		RID: c66-29			ITEM #: chi00165

959.51004951	Clammer, J       R
C586s			Straits Chinese society : studies in the sociology of the baba
		communities of Malaysia and Singapore. — Singapore : Singapore
		University Press, 1980.
		RID: 80-942431			ITEM #: chi00182

895.11008	The clouds should know me by now : Buddhist poet monks of China.
C6472			-- [S.l.] : Wisdom Publications, 1998
			Poems in English and Chinese.
		RID: 98-17768			ITEM #: chi00287

181.11		Confucius
C748an.Eb		[Lun yu. English]
1998			The original analects. -- New York : Columbia
		University Press, 1998
		RID: 97-25748			ITEM #: chi00288

895.109		Connery, Christopher Leigh
C75282e			The empire of the text. -- Lanham : Rowman &
		Littlefield Publishers, 1998
		RID: 98-22604			ITEM #: chi00289

495.1321	Corbeil, Jean Claude
C789f			The Facts on File English/Chinese ...
Ref.		RID: 88-16327			ITEM #: chi00026

495.12		Creel, Herrlee Glessner, 1905-
C913L			Literary Chinese by the inductive ... . --
		Chicago :
		RID: wln82-21663		ITEM #: chi00027

495.183421  	DeFrancis, John, 1911-
D316b			Beginning Chinese
1976		RID: 76-5099			ITEM #: chi00028

495.1		DeFrancis, John, 1911-
D316c			The Chinese language
		RID: 84-8546			ITEM #: chi00029

495.117		DeFrancis, John, 1911-
D316n			Nationalism and language ...
		RID: wln82-62777		ITEM #: chi00030

951.0014	De Mente, Boye
D376n			NTC's dictionary of China's cultural code
		words. -- Lincolnwood, Ill. : NTC publishing group,
		1996
		RID: 95-42218			ITEM #: chi00290

338.642025	Directory to Montana-made consumer products. --
D598			Helena, Mont. : Montana Dept. of Commerce,
1991			Small Business Development Center, 1991
			Includes a letter each in Japanese and Chinese.
		RID: wln91-360002		ITEM #: jpn00172

495.17		Dobson, W. A. C. H.
D635L			The language of the Book ...
		RID: 68-92657			ITEM #: chi00031

320.951		Doolin, Dennis J
D691c			A Chinese-English dictionary ... . --
Ref.		Stanford, Calif. :
		RID: 70-170210			ITEM #: chi00032

495.132		Dougherty, Ching-yi
D732c			Chinese character indexes . -- Berkeley :
Ref.		RID: 63-12210			ITEM #: chi00033

495.1152	Dow, Francis D. M.
D744i			An introduction to the pronunciation ...
		RID: 73-166770			ITEM #: chi00034

895.133		Dudbridge, Glen
T129Zd			Religious experience and lay society in T'ang China :
		a reading of Tai Fu's Kuang-i chi. — Cambridge, England :
		Cambridge University Press, 1995.
		RID: 94-46149			ITEM #: chi00183

895.114		Duke, Michael S
L926Zd			Lu You. -- Boston : Twayne Publishers, 1977
		RID: ---			ITEM #: chi00291



Return to Beginning of A-D Chinese citations
Go to other Chinese citations, E-K, L-R, or S-Z
Return to List of Sino-Tibetan Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"




Mansfield Library Home Page | The University of Montana Home Page

Comments about this homepage welcome to Webmaster.

This page was last updated on 11-24-99.
URL for this page: