Maureen and Mike
Mansfield Library
UM Logo

Welcome! You have reached the page on Altaic languages, which is just one part of the "Language Finger" homepage, which is an index by language to the holdings of the Mansfield Library of The University of Montana.

Altaic Languages

				updated 5-1-2002

	Altaic (Ural-Altaic) (also called Turco-Tartar) comprises one branch of the
Ural-Altaic family of languages.  Altaic is divided into the Turkic, Mongolian, and
Tungusic sub-branches.  The Turkic sub-branch consists of the following sub-branches:
Southwestern Turkic (including both Turkish and Turkmen), Northwestern Turkic,
Southeastern Turkic (including Uzbek), Northeastern Turkic, Chuvash, and Yakut.
The Mongolian sub-branch includes the Mongolian language, as well as Buryat and
Kalmyk.  The Tungusic sub-branch includes such languages as Even, Evenki, and Manchu.

894.3		Gada'i, 15th cent.
G123d			The Divan of Gada'i. --- Bloomington :
		RID: 76-630300		ITEM #: alt00002

490		Miller, Roy Andrew
M649j			Japanese and the other Altaic ...
		RID: 79-151129		ITEM #: alt00001

Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Languages on this page so far are Azeri, Buryat, Chuvash, Karakalpak, Kazakh, Kirgiz, Mongolian, Turkic Languages, Turkish, Turkmen, Uigur and Uzbek.

Azeri

updated 4-30-2002 Azeri (Ural-Altaic), formerly called Azerbaijani -- and not to be confused with Azari, an Iranian language belonging to the Indo-Hittite family of languages --, belongs to the Southwestern Turkic sub-branch of the Turkic sub-branch of the Altaic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Azeri is spoken in Azerbaijan and Iran. Traditionally written with the Arabic alphabet, in 1924 the Soviet government introduced the Latin alphabet, and in 1940 the Cyrillic. The letter "j" was not added to the Azeri Cyrillic alphabet until 1958. In the summer of 2001, Azerbaijan adopted a revised Latin alphabet, once again, to replace Cyrillic. 409.47 Fouse, Gary C F781L The languages of the former Soviet republics. -- [S.l.] : University Press of America, 2000 RID: 99-59842 ITEM #: lav00002
Go to List of Languages on This Page | Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Buryat

updated 8-17-2004 Buryat (Ural-Altaic), also spelled Buriat, belongs to the Oryat sub-branch of the Mongolic sub-branch of the Altaic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. 333.709517 Khamaganova, Erjen C K45i In search of the lost roots. -- 1998 Thesis (M.S.)---University of Montana, 1998. RID: --- ITEM #: rus00438
Go to List of Languages on This Page | Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Chuvash

updated 7-8-2004 Chuvash (Ural-Altaic) belongs to the Turkic sub-branch of the Altaic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. It is written with the Cyrillic alphabet. There are 2 dialects, Anatri and Viryal. The language is spoken in the Chuvash Autonomous Republic. 495.62 Ono, Susumu, 1919- O58n.Eh [Nihongo no kigen. English] The origin of the Japanese language. -- Tokyo : Kokusai Bunka Shinkokai, 1970 RID: 70-110946 ITEM #: ind00012
Go to List of Languages on This Page | Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Karakalpak

updated 6-9-2004 Karakalpak (Ural-Altaic) belongs to the Central Turkic sub-branch of the Kipchak sub-branch of the Northwestern Turkic sub-branch of the Turkic sub-branch of the Altaic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Karakalpak is spoken in Afghanistan -- if any speakers remain. Most of the Karakalpak people now speak Uzbek, Persian, or Pashto. 780.956 Levin, Theodore Craig L665h The hundred thousand fools of God. -- Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 1996 RID: 96-7607 ITEM #: rus00439
Go to List of Languages on This Page | Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Kazakh

updated 4-30-2002 Kazakh (Ural-Altaic) belongs to the Central Turkic sub-branch of the Northwestern Turkic sub-branch of the Turkic sub-branch of the Altaic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Kazakh is spoken by most residents of Kazakhstan, and is also widely spoken in other parts of the former Soviet Union, in China, Iran, Afghanistan, and Turkey. It is also spoken in Central Asia, in Siberia, in the Mongolian People's Republic, and in Germany. Written with the Cyrillic alphabet since just prior to World War II, Kazakh has literary status despite the nomadic life-style of many speakers. In the past, the names "Eastern Kirgiz" and "Western Kirgiz" have been erroneously applied to Kazakh. 409.47 Fouse, Gary C F781L The languages of the former Soviet republics. -- [S.l.] : University Press of America, 2000 RID: 99-59842 ITEM #: lav00002
Go to List of Languages on This Page | Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Kirgiz

updated 8-6-2003 Kirgiz (Ural-Altaic), also spelled Kirghiz, Kyrghyz, and Kyrgyz, belongs to the Northwestern Turkic sub-branch of the Turkic sub-branch of the Altaic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Kirgiz is spoken in Kyrgyzstan, Turkey, and Afghanistan. It is written with the Cyrillic alphabet. 409.47 Fouse, Gary C F781L The languages of the former Soviet republics. -- [S.l.] : University Press of America, 2000 RID: 99-59842 ITEM #: lav00002 915.49 Swift, Hugh S977t Trekking in Pakistan and India. -- San Francisco : Sierra Club Books, 1990. RID: 89-10167 ITEM #: bus00001
Go to List of Languages on This Page | Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Mongolian (Language)

updated 4-4-2002 Mongolian (Ural-Altaic) belongs to the Mongolian sub-branch of the Altaic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Standard Mongolian is often called Khalkha. Mongolian was the language of the great Mongol Empire established by Genghis Khan in the 13th century. In the following two centuries, a number of offshoots developed, becoming separate although closely-related languages. These include Buryat and Kalmyk. Mongolian is spoken in the Mongolian People's Republic (the area traditionally known as Outer Mongolia) and in China. The original Mongolian alphabet was adapted from that of the Uigur people in the 13th century; it was modified from the Nestorian Syriac script by a lama named Saja Pandita at the request of Kublai Khan. He is credited with connecting the letters by continuous vertical lines. Unlike most vertical scripts, Mongolian begins with the left column. Saja's successor, Bashpa Lama, invented an alphabet of square characters and tried to use it to translate Tibetan Buddhist sacred works into Mongolian, but it proved unmanageable. So he used Saja's alphabet (which was unfinished when Saja died), but found he had to write many words in Tibetan. Under Jenezek Khan, Saja's "Syro-Uigur" alphabet was completed. Mongolian has also been written using Chinese characters. In 1941, the Mongolian People's Republic replaced the Mongolian alphabet with Cyrillic; the former is still used in China. 494.2 Hangin, John G H239c A concise English-Mongolian dictionary Ref. RID: 67-65321 ITEM #: mon00001 333.709517 Khamaganova, Erjen C K45i In search of the lost roots. - 1998 Thesis (M.S.)-University of Montana, 1998. RID: --- ITEM #: rus00438
Go to List of Languages on This Page | Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Turkic Languages

updated 8-27-2002 Many Turkic languages (Ural-Altaic) comprise the Turkic sub-branch of the Altaic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Most of them are now classified by linguists into one of 4 sub-branches. Northeastern Turkic (also called Eastern Hunnic) includes Altai, Kirgiz, Tuvinian, and Yakut. Northwestern Turkic includes Karakalpak, Kazakh, Nogai, Balkar, Karachai, Kumyk, Bashkir, and Tatar. South- eastern Turkic includes Uigur and Uzbek. Southwestern Turkic includes Azeri, Gagauz, Turkish, and Turkmen. The latter 3 sub-branches are usually grouped together as "Western Hunnic," but linguists are not entirely agreed on the relationship or inclusion of some of the Turkic languages into any of these 4 sub-branches. Note also that a number of the Turkic languages are called by more than one name. 915.49 Swift, Hugh S977t Trekking in Pakistan and India. -- San Francisco : Sierra Club Books, 1990 RID: 89-10167 ITEM #: bus00001
Go to List of Languages on This Page | Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Turkish

updated 11-30-2000 Turkish (Ural-Altaic) belongs to the Southwestern Turkic sub-branch of the Turkic sub- branch of the Altaic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Turkish is the national language of the country of Turkey. It is also widely known elsewhere throughout the Near East. Prior to 1928, Turkish was written in the Arabic alphabet (introduced along with Islam in the 7th century); since then it has (usually) been written in the Latin alphabet, although some materials employ Cyrillic. 494.355 Aksu-Koc, Ayhan A315a The acquisition of aspect and modality. -- New York : RID: 87-27818 ITEM #: tur00001 809 Ankara. Milli Kutuphane. Bibliyografya Enstitusu X Dunya edebiyatindan tercumeler. -- Ankara : A611d RID: 77-232231 ITEM #: tur00002 059.943 Ankara. Milli Kutuphane. Bibliyografya Enstitusu X Turkiye makaleler bibliyografyasi A611t RID: ITEM #: tur00003 494.35 Basgoz, M. Ilhan, comp. B299t Turkish folklore reader RID: 73-631874 ITEM #: tur00004 415 Binding and filtering B612 RID: 82-125159 ITEM #: que00002 305.4209561 Coco, Carla C667s Secrets of the Harem. -- [S.l.] : Vendome Press, RID: 97-13595 ITEM #: tur00011 Q Davids, Arthur Lumley 494.2 Grammaire turke D25 RID: 10-33894 ITEM #: fre00415 494.3532 Hony, H. C. H775t A Turkish-English ... 1957 Ref. RID: 57-1814 ITEM #: tur00006 327.440947 Hovi, Kalervo H846a Alliance de revers. -- Turku : RID: 84-174187 ITEM #: tur00007 598.294 Jorgensen, Harriet I J82g Glossarium Europae avium. -- Kobenhavn : RID: s41-50 ITEM #: lat00608 780.958 Levin, Theodore Craig L665h The hundred thousand fools of God. -- Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 1996 RID: 96-7607 ITEM #: rus00439 597.003 Multilingual dictionary of fish and fish products. -- M9615 [S.l.] : Fishing News Books, 1995 RID: 95-206206 ITEM #: scx00014 495.62 Ono, Susumu, 1919- O58n.Eh [Nihongo no kigen. English] The origin of the Japanese language. -- Tokyo : Kokusai Bunka Shinkokai, 1970 RID: 70-110946 ITEM #: ind00012 781.62924 Shiloah, Amnon S556j Jewish musical traditions. -- Detroit : Wayne State University Press, 1992 RID: 91-39456 ITEM #: yid00011 306.20956 Tribes and state formation in the Middle East / T822 edited by Philip S. Khoury and Joseph Kostiner. -- Berkeley : University of California Press, 1990 RID: 90-35640 ITEM #: ara00048 305.89435043 Turkish culture in German society today / edited by T939 David Horrocks and Eva Kolinsky. -- Providence, RI : Berghahn Books, 1996 RID: 96-12385 ITEM #: tur00012 894.3 Turkiye bibliyografyasi. -- Ankara : X T939 RID: wln76-144911 ITEM #: tur00010 494.35 Underhill, Robert U55t Turkish grammar RID: 75-46535 ITEM #: tur00008 494.2 Wells, Charles, 1838- W4L The literature of the Turks RID: 01-9727 ITEM #: tur00009
Go to List of Languages on This Page
Go to Beginning of Turkish citations | Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Turkmen

updated 5-1-2002 Turkmen (Ural-Altaic), also called Turkoman, belongs to the Southwestern Turkic sub-branch of the Turkic sub-branch of the Altaic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Not to be confused with Turkish, Turkmen is a separate although closely-related language. Turkmen is spoken in the country of Turkey and in the surrounding areas. Chagatai (also spelled Chaghatay) is a distinctive dialect of Turkmen. 409.47 Fouse, Gary C F781L The languages of the former Soviet republics. -- [S.l.] : University Press of America, 2000 RID: 99-59842 ITEM #: lav00002 958.00882971 Muslims in Central Asia : expressions of identity and change / edited by M987 Jo-Ann Gross. -- Durham : Duke University Press, 1992. RID: 91-13772 ITEM #: uzb00001
Go to List of Languages on This Page | Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Uigur

updated 8-12-2003 Uigur (Ural-Altaic), also spelled Uighur and pronounced "Wee'-gur," belongs to the Southeastern Turkic sub-branch of the Turkic sub-branch of the Altaic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Uigur is spoken in western China and in Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan. The ancient Uigur people developed a script of their own, based on Sogdian script. Uigur script was written in vertical columns, read from left to right (unlike other languages written vertically). The Mongols conquered and dissolved the Uigur kingdom. In the 13th century, the Mongols adopted Uigur script for writing their own language. Uigur script was also used by the Manchu dynasty in China. Meanwhile, with the adoption of Islam, the Uigur people also adopted the Arabic alphabet. In the 1960's, a new Latin-based alphabet was introduced in the Sinkiang Uigur Autonomous Region in China, and is gradually taking hold. The Soviet Union introduced the Cyrillic alphabet for writing Uigur; Cyrillic is still used in Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan. 915.49 Swift, Hugh S977t Trekking in Pakistan and India. -- San Francisco : Sierra Club Books, 1990. RID: 89-10167 ITEM #: bus00001
Go to List of Languages on This Page | Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Uzbek

updated 3-18-2002 Uzbek (Ural-Altaic) belongs to the Southeastern Turkic sub-branch of the Turkic sub-branch of the Altaic branch of the Ural-Altaic family of languages. Uzbek is spoken in Uzbekistan, Afghanistan, Turkey, Pakistan, and China. 409.47 Fouse, Gary C F781L The languages of the former Soviet republics. - [S.l.] : University Press of America, 2000 RID: 99-59842 ITEM #: lav00002 780.958 Levin, Theodore Craig L665h The hundred thousand fools of God. - Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 1996 RID: 96-7607 ITEM #: rus00439 958.0082971 Muslims in Central Asia : expressions of identity and change / edited by M987 Jo-Ann Gross. -- Durham : Duke University Press, 1992. RID: 91-13772 ITEM #: uzb00001
Go to List of Languages on This Page | Go to Top of This Page
Return to List of Ural-Altaic Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"




Mansfield Library Home Page | The University of Montana Home Page

Comments about this homepage welcome to Webmaster.

This page was last updated on 8-24-2004.
URL for this page: