Maureen and Mike
Mansfield Library
UM Logo

Welcome! You have reached the second of 2 pages on the Algonkian Languages, which is just one part of the "Language Finger" homepage, which is an index by language to the holdings of the Mansfield Library of The University of Montana.

Languages on this page so far are Abnaki, Menomini, Micmac, Mohican, Ojibwa, Pamlico, Passamaquoddy, Quiripi, Shawnee, Wampanoag, and Wiyot.

Abnaki

updated 12-10-2003 Abnaki (Algonkian-Mosan), also called Penobscot, Wabanaki, and Abenaki, belongs to the Algonkian sub-branch of the Algonkian-Wakashan branch of the Algonkian-Mosan family of languages. 970.004973 Algonquian Conference (31st : 1999 : Lafayette, Ind.) A396 Papers of the thirty-first Algonquian Conference. -- 31st [S.l.] : University of Manitoba, 2000 1999 RID: --- ITEM #: alg00004 970.004973 Algonquian Conference (28th : 1996 : Toronto, Ont.) A396 Papers of the twenty-eighth Algonquian Conference. 28th -- [S.l.] : University of Manitoba, 1998 1996 RID: cn98-920181 ITEM #: fre03465 970.004973 Algonquian Conference (27th : 1995 : Chapel Hill, N.C.) A396 Papers of the twenty-seventh Algonquian Conference. -- 27th [S.l.] : University of Manitoba, 1997 1995 RID: cn97-920149 ITEM #: fre03464 970.3 Calloway, Colin G. (Colin Gordon), 1953- A153c The Western Abenakis of Vermont, 1600-1800. -- Norman : University of Oklahoma Press, 1990 RID: 89-40736 ITEM #: ank00002 970.4743 Haviland, William A H388o The original Vermonters / William A. Haviland, 1994 Marjory W. Power. -- Hanover, N.H. : University of Vermont, 1994 RID: 93-35978 ITEM #: ank00001
Go to the Top of This Page
Return to List of Algonkian-Mosan Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Menomini

updated 9-18-2002 Menomini (Algonkian-Mosan), also spelled Menominee, belongs to the Algonkian sub-branch of the Algonkian-Wakashan branch of the Algonkian-Mosan family of languages. Menomini is spoken in the Great Lakes region. 497.3 Bloomfield, Leonard, 1887-1949 B655m Menomini texts RID: 73-3548 ITEM #: mii00001 398.208997 Macfarlan, Allan A, comp. M1435a American Indian legends / selected and edited by Allan A. Macfarlan. -- New York : Heritage Press, 1968 RID: --- ITEM #: chr00007 978.004973 Moore, John H., 1939- M8227c The Cheyenne. -- [S.l.] : Blackwell, 1996 RID: 96-12798 ITEM #: bla00013
Go to the Top of This Page
Return to List of Algonkian-Mosan Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Micmac

updated 9-17-2002 Micmac (Algonkian-Mosan) belongs to the Algonkian sub-branch of the Algonkian-Wakashan branch of the Algonkian-Mosan family of languages. The language name has been spelled in various ways including Mi'kmaq. Micmac is spoken in Canada, mainly in Nova Scotia. 970.004973 Algonquian Conference (28th : 1996 : Toronto, Ont.) A396 Papers of the twenty-eighth Algonquian Conference. -- 28th [S.l.] : University of Manitoba, 1998 1996 RID: cn98-920181 ITEM #: fre03465 784.1974 Diamond, Beverley, 1948- D537v Visions of sound : musical instruments of First Nations communities. -- [S.l.] : University of Chicago Press, 1994 RID: 94-10337 ITEM #: mic00004 VT Finding our talk : Episode 9 : Mi'kmaw, breaking new ground = 11139 Parler pour survivre. -- Montreal, Quebec : Mushkeg Media Inc., 2001 1 videocassette (24 min, 50 sec.) In English and Micmac with English subtitles. The program looks at 2 projects on Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia. The first is a pilot to have Micmac adopted as an official second language in high school curriculum and the second is using Micmac as the language of instruction for a science course at the University College of Cape Breton. Margaret Johnson is featured as a Micmac language keeper. RID: --- ITEM #: mic00005 398.208997 Macfarlan, Allan A., comp. M1435a American Indian legends / selected and edited by Allan A. Macfarlan. -- New York : Heritage Press, 1968 RID: --- ITEM #: chr00007 497.3 Rand, Silas Tertius, 1810-1889 R187d Dictionary of the language of the Micmac Indians, who Phillips reside in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Cape Breton, and Newfoundland RID: 76-184256 ITEM #: mic00001 970.6 Rand, Silas Tertius, 1810-1889 M625r Legends of the Micmacs. -- New York : Phillips Longmans, Green, 1894 RID: 70-184257 ITEM #: mic00002 306.4408997 Theorizing the Americanist tradition. -- [S.l.] : T3966 University of Toronto Press, 1999 RID: cn98-932490 ITEM #: mic00003
Return to the Beginning of Micmac citations | Go to the Top of This Page
Return to List of Algonkian-Mosan Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Mohican

updated 9-17-2002 Mohican (Algonkian-Mosan), also called Mahican, belongs to the Algonkian sub-branch of the Algonkian-Wakashan branch of the Algonkian-Mosan family of languages. Mohican is spoken in New England. 497.3 Schmick, Joh. Jac. (Johann Jacob), 1714-1778 S348m [Miscellanea linguae nationis Indicae Mahikan dictae. Polyglot] Schmick's Mahican dictionary / edited by Carl Masthay ; with a Mahican historical phonology. -- Philadelphia : American Philosophical Society, 1991. English-Mahican-German alphabetic wordlist. RID: 86-90530 ITEM #: mhk00001
Go to the Top of This Page
Return to List of Algonkian-Mosan Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Ojibwa

updated 4-2-2001 Ojibwa (Algonkian-Mosan), also called Ojibway, Ojibwe, and Chippewa - the latter not to be confused with Chipewyan, a Nadene language --, belongs to the Algonkian sub- branch of the Algonkian-Wakashan branch of the Algonkian-Mosan family of languages. Ojibwa is spoken in the Great Lakes region, on both sides of the U.S.-Canadian border. One dialect is Ottawa, also called Odawa and Anishnabemoin. Ojibwa is usually written with the Latin alphabet, but sometimes also with the Cree syllabary, which when so used is sometimes called "Northern Algonquian Syllabic Orthography." 970.004973 Algonquian Conference (27th : 1995 : Chapel Hill, N.C.) A396 Papers of the twenty-seventh Algonquian 27th Conference. - [S.l.] : University of Manitoba, 1996 1995 RID: cn97-920149 ITEM #: fre03464 970.004973 Algonquian Conference (28th : 1996 : Toronto, Ont.) A396 Papers of the twenty-eighth Algonquian 28th Conference. - [S.l.] : University of Manitoba, 1998 1996 RID: cn98-920181 ITEM #: fre03465 497.2 Baraga, Friedrich, bp., 1797-1868 B224d A dictionary of the Otchipwe language 1878 Phillips RID: v. 1, 13-10443; v. 2, 13-10446 ITEM#:oji00001 497.2 Bloomfield, Leonard, 1887-1949 B655e Eastern Ojibwa RID: 57-5140 ITEM #: oji00002 SI Densmore, Frances, 1867-1957 2.3: Chippewa music. -- Washington : 45,53 2 v. RID: 10-36111 ITEM #: oji00005 497.3 Howse, Joseph H866g A grammar of the Cree language, with which is combined an analysis of the Chippeway dialect Phillips RID: 13-10455 ITEM #: oji00003 497.2 Jones, William, 1871-1909, comp. J79o Ojibwa texts RID: 20-19385 ITEM #: oji00004 977.488 McClurken, James M M4788g Gah-baeh-Jhagwah-buk = The way it happened. -- [S.l.] : Michigan State University Museum, 1991 Includes glossary of the Odawa dialect. RID: --- ITEM #: oji00007 897 New voices in Native American literary N532 criticism / edited by Arnold Krupat. -- Washington : Smithsonian Institution Press, 1993. RID: 92-18673 ITEM #: jiv00001 497.3 An Ojibwe text anthology / edited by John D. Nichols. O39 -- London, Ont., Canada : Centre for Research and Teaching of Canadian Native Languages, University of Western Ontario, 1988 Includes a few pages written in the Cree syllabary. RID: 91-213150 ITEM #: oji00008 970.3 Tanner, Helen Hornbeck O39Xt The Ojibwas : a critical bibliography. -- Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 1976. RID: 76-12376 (Dynix BIB: 82154) ITEM #: oji00006 497 Tomkins, William T658u Universal Indian sign language of the plains 1937 Indians of North America, together with a simplified method of study, a list of words in most general use, a codification of pictographic symbols of the Sioux and Ojibway; a dictionary of synonyms, a history of sign language, chapters on smoke signaling, use of idioms, etc., and other important co-related matter. -- 7th ed. -- San Diego, Calif. : W. Tomkins, 1937. French and German equivalents are shown with each illustration. RID: wln86-109036 ITEM #: isg00001 M Tomkins, William 970.6419 Universal Indian sign language of the plains T658u Indians of North America, together with a 1956 simplified method of study, a list of words in most general use, a codification of pictographic symbols of the Sioux and Ojibway, a dictionary of synonyms, a history of sign language, chapters on smoke signaling, use of idioms, etc., and other important co-related matter. -- 12th ed. -- San Diego, Calif. : W. Tomkins, 1956. French and German equivalents are shown with each illustration. RID: wln86-115864 ITEM #: isg00002
Return to Beginning of Ojibwa citations | Go to the Top of This Page
Return to List of Algonkian-Mosan Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Pamlico

updated 4-30-2003 Pamlico (Algonkian-Mosan), also called Pamunkey, Pampticough, and Powhatan, belongs to the Algonkian sub-branch of the Algonkian-Wakashan branch of the Algonkian-Mosan family of languages. Pamlico was spoken in Virginia; it is no longer extant. SI Bureau of American Ethnology 2.3: Bulletin. -- no. 17. -- Washington: G.P.O., 17 RID: ITEM #: pml00001
Go to the Top of This Page
Return to List of Algonkian-Mosan Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Passamaquoddy

updated 9-17-2002 Passamaquoddy (Algonkian-Mosan), also called Maliseet, belongs to the Algonkian sub-branch of the Algonkian-Wakashan branch of the Algonkian-Mosan family of languages. Sometimes it is also called Massachuset(t)(s), but that name more often refers to Wampanoag. Passamaquoddy is spoken in Maine. 970.004973 Algonquian Conference (27th : 1995 : Chapel Hill, N.C.) A396 Papers of the twenty-seventh Algonquian Conference. 27th -- [S.l.] : University of Manitoba, 1997 1995 RID: cn97-920149 ITEM #: fre03464 970.004973 Algonquian Conference (28th : 1996 : Toronto, Ont.) A396 Papers of the twenty-eighth Algonquian Conference. 28th -- [S.l.] : University of Manitoba, 1998 1996 RID: cn98-920181 ITEM #: fre03465 784.1974 Diamond, Beverley, 1948- D537v Visions of sound : musical instruments of First Nations communities. -- [S.l.] : University of Chicago Press, 1994 RID: 94-10337 ITEM #: mic00004 497.3 Prince, John Dyneley, 1868-1945 P955p Passamaquoddy texts RID: 73-3545 ITEM #: psm00001
Go to the Top of This Page
Return to List of Algonkian-Mosan Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Quiripi

updated 5-1-2003 Quiripi (Algonkian-Mosan), also called Quinnipiac, belongs to the Algonkian- Mosan family of languages. Like Pamlico, Quiripi is extinct. 497.3 Schmick, Joh. Jac (Johann Jacob), 1714-1778 S348m [Miscellanea linguae nationis Indicae Mahikan dictae. Polyglot] Schmick's Mahican dictionary / edited by Carl Masthay ; with a Mahican historical phonology. -- Philadelphia : American Philosophical Society, 1991. English-Mahican-German alphabetic wordlist. RID: 86-90530 ITEM #: mhk00001
Go to the Top of This Page
Return to List of Algonkian-Mosan Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Shawnee

updated 6-10-2004 Shawnee (Algonkian-Mosan) belongs to the Algonkian sub-branch of the Algonkian-Wakashan branch of the Algonkian-Mosan family of languages. It is spoken in Oklahoma. 970.004973 Algonquian Conference (27th : 1995 : Chapel A396 Hill, N.C.) 27th Papers of the twenty-seventh Algonquian 1995 Conference. -- [S.l.] : University of Manitoba, 1996 RID: cn97-920149 ITEM #: fre03464 978.00497 Confluence of Cultures Symposium (2003 : C74897p Missoula, Mont.) & A Confluence of Cultures. -- Missoula, DVD Mont. : University of Montana Printing & 00422 Graphic Services, 2003 RID: 2003-114131 ITEM #: shw00002 973.0049755 Densmore, Christopher R3125Zd Red Jacket : Iroquois diplomat and orator. -- Syracuse : Syracuse University Press, 1999 RID: 98-29828 ITEM #: iro00003 398.208997 Macfarlan, Allan A., comp. M1435a American Indian legends / selected and edited by Allan A. Macfarlan. -- New York : Heritage Press, 1968 RID: --- ITEM #: chr00007 974.004973 Noe, Randolph, 1939- S537Xn The Shawnee Indians. -- Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2001 RID: 00-57378 ITEM #: shw00001 810.80928708997 Reinventing the enemy's language / edited R374 by Joy Harjo and Gloria Bird. -- New York : W.W. Norton & Co., 1997 RID: 96-36547 ITEM #: tet00005
Return to Beginning of Shawnee citations | Go to the Top of This Page
Return to List of Algonkian-Mosan Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Wampanoag

updated 6-7-2002 Wampanoag (Algonkian-Mosan), also called Natick and Massachusett(s), belongs to the Algonkian sub-branch of the Algonkian-Wakashan branch of the Algonkian-Mosan family of languages. Wampanoag is spoken in New England. 238.51 Eliot, John, 1604-1690 E42i The Indian Primer RID: 05-27367 ITEM #: wam00001 Q Goddard, Ives, 1941- 497.3 Native writings in Massachusett G578n RID: 87-72874 ITEM #: wam00002 SI Trumbull, J. Hammond (James Hammond), 1821-1897 2.3: Natick dictionary. -- Washington : 25 RID: 04-30117 ITEM #: wam00003 974.402 Wood, William, fl. 1629-1635 W88in New England's prospect. -- Amherst : 1977 University of Massachusetts Press, 1977 Includes glossary of the "Massachuset" language. RID: 76-45051 ITEM #: wam00004
Go to the Top of This Page
Return to List of Algonkian-Mosan Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"

Wiyot

updated 6-7-2002 Wiyot (Algonkian-Mosan) belongs to the Yurok-Wiyot sub-branch of the Algonkian sub-branch of the Algonkian-Wakashan branch of the Algonkian-Mosan family of languages. Until recently Wiyot was spoken in northern California; it is now believed to be extinct. 497.3 Teeter, Karl V., 1929- T258w Wiyot handbook I : glossary and concordance / Karl V. Teeter & John D. Nichols. -- Winnipeg : Algon- quian and Iroquian Linguistics, 1993. RID: cn94-920036 ITEM #: wiy00001 497.3 Teeter, Karl V., 1929- T258wi Wiyot handbook II : interlinear translation and English index / Karl V. Teeter & John D. Nichols. -- Winnipeg : Algonquian and Iroquoian Linguistics, 1993. RID: cn94-920037 ITEM #: wiy00002
Go to the Top of This Page
Return to List of Algonkian-Mosan Languages | Return to List of Natural Language Families
Return to List of Types of Languages | Return to Beginning of "Language Finger"




Mansfield Library Home Page | The University of Montana Home Page

Comments about this homepage welcome to Webmaster.

This page was last updated on 6-24-2004.
URL for this page: