Bibliography of Genetic Variation in Natural Populations

The University of Montana Libraries—Missoula

Mansfield Library Subject Guide

BIBLIOGRAPHY OF GENETIC VARIATION IN NATURAL POPULATIONS

This bibliography of over 65,000 references has been accumulated over the last 25 years. The primary focus is the study of genetic variation in natural populations of animals, plants, and microbes. The secondary focus has been conservation, with an emphasis on the application of genetic principles to conservation. Nevertheless, this is a somewhat eclectic collection of titles that reflects my sometimes wandering interests and teaching responsibilities over the years (evolution, human genetics, etc.).

There is a taxonomic bias in this bibliography towards fish, especially salmon, trout, and their kin. There has been no effort to exclude papers dealing with the genetics and conservation of other taxa, but there has been an effort to include more papers on the general biology and natural history of salmonid fishes.

These references have been collected from a variety of sources over the years. The early entries were made by hand by myself and by a horde of helpers. This bibliography has grown dramatically over the last five years by weekly entries from Current Contents on Diskette (Institute for Scientific Information) and by obtaining commercially available lists of papers published by certain journals.

This bibliography has not been checked carefully for typographical errors and other mistakes. It has been used primarily by myself, graduate students, and students in my courses. Therefore, it would be wise to check the original source of any citation before referencing them in a manuscript.

Many people have contributed to this bibliography in a variety of ways. My enthusiasm for the study of genetic variation in natural populations was kindled by courses in population genetics by Bob Costantino and Joe Felsenstein. I am grateful to students at the University of Montana for their continued enthusiasm. Jim and Lisa Seeb have been a constant source of guidance on computer software to use with this bibliography over the last 15 years.

Fred W. Allendorf
Division of Biological Sciences
University of Montana
Missoula, MT 59812
USA

(406) 243-5503
(406) 243-4184 (FAX)